Library Research Guides
Use these LibGuides for your research and class needs. They collect library resources and services into one location. They feature the best databases, best journals, statistics, links to library services such as interlibrary loan and more!
Use the Journal Finder to to find out if U.Va has a journal online full text.
When you want to locate journal articles on a topic, use the Research Guides listed at the top of this column. They will list the best databases for your topic.
IMPORTANT. U.Va. contracts with various publishers and aggregators to provide you with acces to full text journal articles. To meet our contractual obligations, we must verify (authenticate) that you are a U.Va. affiliate. If you use the databases listed in the Research Guides listed above or if you use the Journal Finder listed below, you will get authenticated through NetBadge which requires you to login with your U.Va Login (the letters and numbers combination that preceeds @virginia.edu in your email address) and your Eservices password (if you have forgotten your eservices password, click here to reset your Eservices password.
Collection of Research Handbooks
The Library Data Commons@Curry has a collection of more than 300 handbooks. Be sure to check here as new handbooks are added periodically. Handbooks are a great resource for locating best practices, research theories, names of authors, background material, overviews of topics, and good keyword terminology to use when you search databases for journal articles and other materials to inform and support your research.
If you are a students in the Curry Off-Grounds Education program, you can look at the table of contents link on the Handbook Collection Research Guide and if you see a chapter, you would like to read, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan request and ask for a PDF copy of the chapter.
If you are on-Grounds and come to the Library Data Commons@Curry you can read the handbooks in the LDC@C, scan (free scanning if you use the digital scanner) or photocopy them for 8 cents per page using the public printer and your Cavalier debit card. The handbooks can't be checked out.
Handbook of Giftedness in Children
Located in room 302, Ruffner Hall: LC 3993.9 .H36 2008
Table of Contents
Handbook of Leadership and Administration for Special Education
Located in room 302, Ruffner Hall: LC 3969.45 .H35 2012
Table of Contents
Handbook of Research on the Education of School Leaders
Located in room 302, Ruffner Hall:: LB 2831.82 .H36 2009
Table of contents
Handbook of Research in the Social Foundations of Education
Located in room 302, Ruffner Hall: LC 191.4 .H36 2010
Table of contents
- Self Plagiarism *
- copying someone else's words without using quotation marks and crediting the source from where it came**
- paraphrasing or summarizing someone else's words without citing the source**
- quoting someone inaccurately**
- restating someone's original or specialized ideas without citing the source**
- accidentally or intentionally misrepresenting someone else's words or ideas**
- citing the wrong source**
- pretending someone else's work is your own**
Note: Text isn't the only thing that can be plagiarized. You also must credit the sources of images, graphics, charts, drawings, video, music, etc.
*Self Plagiarism. Retrieved from http://ori.hhs.gov/plagiarism-13
**What is Plagiarism. (April 10, 2012). Retrieved from http://libguides.byuh.edu/content.php?pid=18361&sid=326519
Examples for Avoiding Plagiarism
Questions? Monday - Friday 8am-5pm
Ask Your Curry Librarians
Need help finding information for a research project or have questions about borrowing library books? Contact us. We are happy to help with any questions about research or library services.
CALL: Kay Buchanan 434-982-2664
CALL: Carole Lohman 434-924-7040
EMAIL: Email the Curry Librarians
SKYPE: Contact the Curry Librarians to schedule a date and time.
Questions? Evenings and Weekends
Ask a U.Va. Librarian
ITS Technology Help "Desk": Available 24/7
Interlibrary Loan Service
We have partnered with two other libraries in the state to provide face-to-face service if you are in the area. Drop in and say hello!