All Education Databases
- Child Care and Early Education Research ConnectionsResearch Connections provides researchers, policymakers, policy influencers, and practitioners with one-stop access to a continually updated, comprehensive, and searchable collection of Original Research and related resources including Syntheses, Datasets
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database 1993 - present with some older recordsThis database contains information and reviews on children's books, videos and audio books ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults.
- Dissertations & Theses Full Text 1861-presentFull text (PDF for download) of most dissertations accepted from 1997 on, some earlier works and some master's theses. Also lists dissertations and theses accepted from 1861 on in the US and at some Canadian, British, and other European universities. Abst
- Ebsco Electronic Journals Service Dates vary: see databaseLarge database listing articles from many publishers, usually with links to full text.
- EdITLib Digital Library for Information Technology and Education Dates vary: see databaseGet articles from journals and proceedings published by the Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education on all aspects of educational technology and e-learning.
- Education Full Text 1983-presentSearch for articles from over 500 English-language periodicals and yearbooks about all aspects of education. Includes abstracts of articles published after 1984. This version adds the full text of articles from recent years of over 300 journals. Indexing
- Education Index Retro 1929-1983Search for articles about all aspects of education from over 500 international English-language periodicals and yearbooks published before 1984. See Education Full Text for coverage 1983-present.
- Education Research CompleteLarge database covering journal articles, conference papers and some books on all aspects of education including multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
- ERIC 1966-present (ProQuest Version)This database provides citations and abstracts for education-related journal and magazine articles. It also provides full text access to "unpublished" items such as conference papers, technical reports, some doctoral dissertations, monographs, government
- ERIC 1966-present (EBSCO version)This database provides citations and abstracts for education-related journal and magazine articles. It also provides full text access to "unpublished" items such as conference papers, technical reports, some doctoral dissertations, monographs, government
- ERIC Digests 1966-2003A search in this database will retrieve short fulltext articles providing an overview of the topic.
- Horn Book Guide March 2010-presentHorn Book Guide publishes short, critical reviews of virtually every hardcover trade book published in the United States for young people.
- kcdlonline. Kraus Curriculum Development LibraryDatabase of curricula, frameworks, and standards brings together educational objectives, content, instructional strategies, and evaluative techniques for all subjects covered in PreK-12 and Adult Basic Education. Includes PDF reproductions of complete cur
- JCR Journal Citation ReportsTool for journal evaluation, using citation data taken from over 8,000 journals in the areas of science and technology. Used to find impact factors. EgenFactor is a competitor of JCR.
- Library Information Science & Technology Abstracts 1966 - presentSubject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, and el
- Library Literature & Information Science Full Text 1984-presentIndexes over 230 journals covering libraries, information science, copyright, publishing, and the history of the book. Includes book reviews. Full text of selected journals begins with 1994.
- Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts 1973-presentSearch for journal articles on all aspects of the nature and use of language. Includes book reviews. Updated monthly.
- Mental Measurements YearbookContains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests -- educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. The database provides the name of the test, author, publisher, cost, etc.
- MUSESearchable full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, mostly from North American university presses. Older volumes are often available from JSTOR.
- Paper's First 1993-presentCitations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia.
- Periodicals Index Online: PIO 1665-presentSearch for articles and book reviews in over 4000 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990s. Includes links to full text of articles in Periodicals Archive Online and in humanities and social science titles at
- Physical Education Index 1970-presentPublications of all kinds on topics such as kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, dance, fitness tests, sports equipment, sports law, medicine and business, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology.
- PsycARTICLESFull text of articles from 45 psychology journals. Use PsycINFO to search for specific articles.
- PsycINFO 1887-PresentCovers journal articles in more than 30 languages and books in English about psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education.
- ScienceDirectFull text of articles from journals published by Elsevier Science.
- Sociological Abstracts 1963-presentSociology and related fields. All languages. 2600 scholarly journals. Includes book, book chapter, and conference paper abstracts and book reviews. Updated quarterly
- SPORT Discus with Full Text 1975-presentInternational database covering sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, coaching, recreation, and more. Includes book reviews.
- Teacher Reference Center (TRC)TRC indexes over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum
- Web of Knowledge / Web of Science 1981-presentWeb of Knowledge includes Science Citation Index (1970-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-), which can be searched together or separately. Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information.
- What Works Clearinghouse (US Dept of Ed, IES)The What Works Clearinghouse (WWC) gathers studies of the effectiveness of educational interventions (programs, products, practices, and policies). It review the studies that have the strongest design, and report on the strengths and weaknesses of those studies.
Comments (0)
Ask A Librarian! |
Kay Buchanan & Carole Lohman Chat requires JavaScript. Contact Info 434.924.7040 Education Services, CLIC 3rd floor, Ruffner Hall Links: Profile & Guides |
Your Librarians
Kay A. Buchanan 
Head, Librarian in Residence
Room 302B, Ruffner Hall
kaybuchanan@virginia.edu
434.982.2664

Head, Librarian in Residence
Room 302B, Ruffner Hall
kaybuchanan@virginia.edu
434.982.2664
Carole C. Lohman
Reference Specialist
Room 304C, Ruffner Hall
ccl5u@virginia.edu
434.924.7040

Loading...
