About this guide
This Course Research Guide is designed to assist you in completing your research assignment for EDIS 5420. In addition to the list of materials and tools below that can assist your with your research, the tabbed pages at the top will provide you with additional information.
After your library instruction session, please complete the session evaluation.
Thank you.
Resources and tools helpful in researching topics
Resources and Tools
Print materials helpful in researching topics:
Handbook of Children and the Media
Education Handbook Area: HQ 784 .T4 H36 2001
Handbook of Computer Games
Education Handbook Area: GV 1469.i5 .H36 2005
Handbook of Family Literacy
Education Reference Area: LC 151 .H33 2004
Handbook of Intercultural Training
Alderman Stacks: GN 496 .H36 2004
Handbook of Literacy and Technology (volume 1)
International Handbook of Literacy and Technology (volume 2)
Education Handbook Area: LB 1050 .H278
Handbook of Research in Second Language Teaching and Learning
Education Handbook Area: P 118.2 .H359
Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education [2 editions]
Education Handbook Area: LC 1099.3 .H35
Handbook of Research On Teaching Literacy Through the Communicative and Visual Arts
Education Handbook Area: P 91.3 .H36
Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts (2 editions)
Education Reference Area: LB 1576 .H234
Handbook of Second Language Acquisition
Ritchie and Bhatia
Education Handbook Area: P 118.2 .H36 1996
Handbook of Second Language Acquisition Doughty and Long
Education Handbook Area: P 118.2 .H363 2003
Handbook of Socialization: Theory and Research
http://site.ebrary.com/lib/uvalib/Doc?id=10176579
Praeger Handbook of Urban Education (2 volumes)
Education Handbook Area: LC 5131 .P7
The Sage Handbook of Child Development, Multiculturalism, and Media
Biology/Psychology Stacks: HQ 767.9 .A83 2008
Encyclopedia of African-American Education
Alderman Stacks: LC 2717 .E53
Encyclopedia of Bilingualism and Bilingual Education
Alderman Stacks: LC 3707 .E53 1998
Databases/Indexes useful in searching for articles
Education Full Text 1983-present (H.W. Wilson)
Education Research Complete (EBSCO)
ERIC (CSA version)
ERIC (EBSCO version)
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (CSA)
PsycINFO (EBSCO)
Sociological Abstracts (CSA)
Web of Knowledge / Web of Science (ISI)
Web sites of possible use
U.Va. Library Search Tools
VIRGO, U.Va.'s online catalog
Use this to fine books, media, or other materials on your topic that are part of the U.Va. Library's collection.
Journal Finder
Use this tool to see if U.Va. provides electronic access to a journal or if it is available in print.
Google Scholar
Use this tool to find a copy of an article if you have a citation for the article.
This link will take you to the login page for RefWorks, a subscription web-based bibliographic management software, that is free to U.Va. students, faculty, and staff.
Research Process
Research Process
Research and Documentation Online by Diana Hacker - An online version of Diana Hacker's wonderful booklet, Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age. The documentation examples are easy to follow and four different style format sample papers are included. Be sure to check out the sample MLA paper.
http://www.dianahacker.com/resdoc/
Definition of primary and secondary sources
http://www.princeton.edu/~refdesk/primary2.html
http://ipr.ues.gseis.ucla.edu/info/definition.html
Definition of peer reviewed/referred journals
http://www.rci.rutgers.edu/~estec/tutorials/scholarly.htm
Boolean operators - definition
http://lib.colostate.edu/howto/others/boolean.html
Search strategies-
http://libraries.mit.edu/video.databasetipskeywords/databasetipskeywords.html
Publication Cycle – Effective searches rely on understanding how information is disseminated over time. The stages of information access are referred to as the publication cycle. Definition retrieved September 20, 2006 from
http://library.queensu.ca/inforef/instruct/tools.htm (This link is no longer functioning.)
http://www.uri.edu/library/staff_pages/kinnie/lib120/periodical.html
Ask Your Librarians |
University of Virginia Library
Education Services
Curry Library Innovation Commons
Ruffner Hall, 3rd floor
434-924-7040
Your Librarians
Kay A. Buchanan
Head, Librarian in Residence
Room 302B, Ruffner Hall
kaybuchanan@virginia.edu
434.982.2664
Carole C. Lohman
Reference Specialist
Room 304C, Ruffner Hall
ccl5u@virginia.edu
434.924.7040
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait