- Brill's New Pauly
A Classics encyclopedia which covers Greco-Roman antiquity and more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe.
- Columbia Gazetteer of the World
This encyclopedia of geographical places and features profiles every country in the world, with information on demography, geography, industry, agriculture, cultural and historical points of interest, transportation, and pronunciations. Search by place na
Searchable full-text of hundreds of reference handbooks in engineering, chemistry, biology, medicine, technology and the environment.
- Education Encyclopedias
Selected encyclopedias for educators.
- Encyclopaedia Judaica
Comprehensive encyclopedia with over 21,000 entries on all aspects of Jewish life, culture, history, and religion.
- Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics
Search the full text or browse topics. including cosmology, archeoastronomy, instrumentation, space missions, solar system, stars, and galaxies.
- Encyclopedia of Education
Biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations; and a collection of documents including education related legislation, international treaties and testing methods. Coverage is international.
- Encyclopaedia of Islam
Comprehensive encyclopedia of Islamic religion and of the culture and history of the Islamic regions. Click on "Login" to enter. Requires special fonts that can be downloaded from the site.
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Lengthy overview articles on many aspects of life sciences. From Wiley.
- EOLSS: Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems
16 interlinked encyclopedias to show "transdisciplinary aspects of the relationship between nature and human society." Covers topics in social sciences and humanities as well the life, physical, and applied sciences.
- Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics
The articles consider both the professional ethics of science and technology and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society.
- Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, including Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, and the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. Articles on each country detail its population, economy and government
- Encyclopedia Virginia
Encyclopedia Virginia is a publicly accessible online publication of the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities. Encyclopedia Virginia is the first online reference work about the Commonwealth, aggregating in a single resource information on Virginia history, business, politics, and geography, plus the state’s proud heritage in the arts, religion, culture, and folklife.
- Health Source - Consumer Edition
Magazines, pamphlets and reference books covering a wide range of health topics. Includes a drug guide and a medical dictionary.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Scholarly journals and some reference books covering nursing and allied health professions.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography
MLA Bibliography and The Dictionary of Literary Biography and other biographical and critical works about authors, plus journal articles and book chapters on literary works and topics. Primarily literature in English, but also much on world literatature.
- New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Survey of the history of Western thought and culture. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of an important idea.
- Oxford Art Online
Comprehensive encyclopedia of the visual arts of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific with links to tens of thousands of images.
- Oxford Art Online
Comprehensive music encyclopedia, with coverage of music history, theory and practice, musical terminology, and biographies. Includes works lists and musical examples.
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Search by keyword or browse alphabetically. Includes references to journal articles.
- Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
For a wide variety of chemical substances provides relevant patent information and data on physical and chemical properties, production, applications, economic data, toxicology and occupational health.
- World Education Encyclopedia
Detailed essays on the histories, legal foundations, and primary and secondary educational systems of 233 countries.