Searching Virgo
Search Catalog Only = terrorism privacy
Use the Journal Finder tab at the top of the library home page, or the bottom of the Virgo search screen, to determine our online access and to search individual journal titles.
- Virgo does not use Boolean connectors, such as and, or between terms.
- Put a phrase within quotation marks
- Automatically does stemming of search terms (view, viewer, viewers, viewing)
- You can further refine search results by using the limiters on the left of the search results screen. For example, clicking on "Special Collections" under "Library" will narrow your results to materials held in Special Collections.
- Be sure you click on "Start Over" to perform a new search
Finding Journal & Newspaper Articles
A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ . Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www2.lib.virginia.edu/tools/offgrounds.html
Academic Search Complete A general database of articles from a variety of scholarly journals, popular magazines, and some newspapers. Includes some speeches and interviews. Years of coverage varies according to title, but some publications are covered back to the late 19th century.
Search: "cyber war*"
To search for speeches: Clinton, Hillary= AU author AND human rights Document Type = speech
To search for interviews: Karzai, Hamid= PE People AND Pakistan Document Type = interview
PAIS, 1915-present Useful for finding journal articles, book citations, government publications, and reports issued by public and private organizations in the areas of political science and public policy.
Search: Iraq sectarian
LexisNexis Academic offers access to a variety of news sources, including newspapers, magazines, television and radio broadcast transcripts, etc. Years of coverage varies by title, usually with nothing prior to the early 1980's.
Search: "Iranian navy" "Strait of Hormuz"
Search within results = missiles
Factiva Articles from over 6,000 international newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries; use "Search" to find older articles.
Free Text Search: Syria and uprising
Date: last 3 months
Source: Publications-Middle East
Language: All Languages
Free Text Search: Putin and election
Date: last 3 months
Source: Publications-CIS Countries
Language: All Languages
World News Connection Covers 1995 to present. Information from thousands of foreign media sources: speeches, radio, television, newspapers, periodicals, and books. Includes unclassified military, political, environmental, sociological, scientific and technical data. All translated into English.
Simple Search Headline and Lead Paragraph: Pakistan and Iran and stability
Publication Date: 20100101:20120223
Simple Search Headline and Lead Paragraph: North-Korea and famine
Publication Date: 2012
Additional Sources
A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ . Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www2.lib.virginia.edu/tools/offgrounds.html
Digital National Security Archive contains declassified documents used by the U.S. government in conducting foreign policy. The materials are obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. Several collections in this database are related to topics in this class: US Intelligence and Weapons of Mass Destruction; Terrorism and US Policy; US Intelligence Community After 9/11.etc.
Search Documents = military
Collections = U.S. Intelligence and China: Collection, Analysis, and Covert Action
Date = 2008-2012
Homeland Security Digital Library Database provided by the Homeland Security Agency. Find articles, government documents, press briefings, statements by government officials, research papers, and books on all aspects of homeland security, most with links to online full text.
Search: Israel Iran nuclear = In Title or Summary
Search: "North Korea" food nuclear = In Title or Summary
ProQuest Congressional provides mostly full-text publications from the U.S. Congress, including testimony from Congressional hearings, legislative histories of laws, reports to Congress, etc.
Search = wiretapping AND terrorism
Date = previous 10 years
Search = China AND "military force assessment" [From "Index Terms"]
Date = Previous Two Years
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online provides working papers from research institutes, occasional papers from NGO's, foiundation-funded research reports, proceedings from conferences, books, journal articles, and policy briefs.
Advanced Search: Exact Phrase = "nuclear proliferation" "Middle East"
Publication Date Between = 2011-03 and 2012-03
Advanced Search: With All Words = Russia election Putin
Publication Date Between = 2011-03 and 2012-03
Agency Sites
Department of State See Media Center for daily press briefings, press releases, remarks and testimony by senior officials, etc.
Central Intelligence Agency See News & Information for press releases and statements, speeches and testimony, CIA and the War on Terrorism, etc. Also see Library for agency publications, Kent Center for Intelligence Analysis, etc.
International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) Seeks to promote the peaceful use of nuclear energy and to inhibit its use for military purposes. The site can be searched for relevant documents.
Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Protects the U.S. against terrorist and foreign intelligence threats, enforces criminal laws of the U.S., and provides leadership and criminal justice services to international, federal, state and local agencies. The site can be searched; in addition, see "News" and "Stats & Services."
Office of the Director of National Intelligence Director of National Intelligence serves as the head of the Intelligence Community, overseeing and directing the implementation of the National Intelligence Program and acting as the principal advisor to the President, the National Security Council, and the Homeland Security Council for intelligence matters related to national security. Its goal is to effectively integrate foreign, military and domestic intelligence in defense of the homeland and of U.S. interests abroad.
Citation Guides
Many of our journal databases, such as Academic Search Complete and PAIS, will indicate how to cite a particular article according to several different styles. After clicking on an article from your results list and displaying its full record, look for a "Cite" button or icon in the margin, then select the style you are interested in.
The Chicago Manual of Style Quick Guide offers convenient examples of basic citation practices. The full Chicago Manual of Style is available for more complicated citation questions.
Subject Librarian |
Gary Treadway, Librarian for Politics and History Links: Profile & Guides |
Off-Grounds Access
Most databases are available only when you're connected to the UVa network. For off Grounds use you'll need a connection through the proxy server or UVaAnywhere. More information.
Loading...
