This is the "HIUS-2002 American History Since 1865" page of the "HIUS-2002 American History Since 1865: Food History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIUS-2002 American History Since 1865: Food History  

Last Updated: Mar 15, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/foodhist Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
HIUS-2002 American History Since 1865 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Searching Virgo


                                                          Virgo Search Screen

                                                        Catalog Only:  refrigeration food history

                                                    

  • Virgo does not use Boolean connectors, such as and, or between terms.
  • Put a phrase within quotation marks
  • Automatically does stemming of search terms (view, viewer, viewers, viewing)
  • You can further refine search results by using the limiters on the left of the search results screen. For example, clicking on "Special Collections" under "Library" will narrow your results to materials held in Special Collections.
  • Be sure you click on "Start Over" to perform a new search
 

Finding Scholarly Articles

 A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ .  Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/off-grounds-access/

 

America History and Life Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.

                                        Search:   moonshine  [note subject limiter = Appalachian region]

                                       
Academic Search Complete   Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers on many topics.  The interface is almost identical to America History & Life, above.

                                        Search:   "convenience foods" AND homemaker

JSTOR  Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
                                        Advanced Search:  "fast food" AND agribusiness      Item Type = article

 

Online Historical Newspapers

A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ .  Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/off-grounds-access/

The Library has a number of newspapers on microfilm.  You can search for them here.

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers  Searchable full text and page images of several hundred U.S. newspapers from the 19th century. You can limit your search to particular states or cities.

                                     Search:  candy AND manufacture        Date = 1870-1900

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922  Searchable full text collection of U.S. newspapers.  Can limit by place.

                    Search:  Hershey and chocolate     Date = 1900-1920    Place of Publication = Pennsylvania

ProQuest Historical Newspapers  Searchable backfiles of the New York Times , Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune , Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, and Chicago Defender.

                                    Search NY Times   Advanced Search:  temperance AND suffrage
                                                              
Date range = 1910-1920

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers From the Library of Congress. American newspapers from the period 1836-1922, searchable by state and date.  Many smaller newspapers are included, although not all states are represented thus far.
                                    Search:   Nebraska  from 1910 to 1922 = corn farming

 

Online Historical Periodicals & Magazines

A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ .  Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/off-grounds-access/

American Periodicals Series  Full text of over 1,000 magazines and journals published in the U.S. between 1740 and 1900.

                             Advanced Search:  "John Harvey Kellogg" AND (diet OR food)    Date range = 1890-1910
                                                        
Document type = article


Periodicals Archive Online
  Search the full text of nearly 400 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990s.  Periodicals Index Online Provides citations to articles and book reviews in over 4000 international humanities and social sciences journals.

                                               Article Search:   "minimum drinking age"

 

Additional Resources

U.S. History in Context  An excellent starting point to get an overview of a topic.  Consists of historical encyclopedia articles, journal articles, and some primary source materials.

                                                     Search:  Heinz Company
 
Historical Statistics of the United States
  Quantitative historical data covering American population, work and welfare, economic structure, governance, and international relations from colonial times to the present.

                                                     Search:  beef production

American History in Video  Over 5000 films, commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentaries showing historical events and their presentation over time.

                                   Advanced Search:   Transcript and notes = beer and Prohibition

Subject Librarian

Gary Treadway, Librarian for Politics and History
Contact Info
Alderman Library 434-924-4982
Send Email
 

Off-Grounds Access

Most databases are available only when you're connected to the UVa network. For off Grounds use you'll need a connection through the proxy server or UVaAnywhere. More information.


UVa Library     |     UVa Library MOBILE    |    Off Grounds Access     |     ITC Help Desk     |     Ask a Librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip