Admin Sign In 

Genealogy Basics – Government Resources 

Last update: Sep 24th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/gov_genealogy  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home            Print Page
  

Tips

More Information

 
 

Genealogy Basics

There are many helpful beginning points for your genealogy research in the Government Information Resources and Special Collections. Special Collections maintains a list of independent researchers who are familiar with their collections and with family research.

At the beginning of the Microfilm Guides Aisle in the Government Information Reading Room are a collection of volumes which should be helpful in your search for ancestors.

General Introductions to Genealogy

A Guide to Genealogical Resources at the University of Virginia - excellent web update to the printed Guide to Genealogical Sources in the Univerisity of Virginia Library below. The FIRST place a new genealogist should consult when using UVA's extensive resources.

Guide to Genealogical Research in the National Archives - GS 4.6/2:G 28/982 - Gov. Info Reading Room - Since many of the materials you'll need for your research are U.S. government records stored at the National Archives this volume will be very helpful. It provides a very good overview of census records, passenger lists, military records, naturalization papers, land claims, pension records, and other government records useful in tracing ancestors.

Virginia Genealogy: Sources & Resources, by Carol McGinnis - Z 1345 .M365 1993 - Gov. Info. Reading Room - A nice overview of records available for genealogical research, both in Virginia and more generally. This is probably the best book to start with if you're a beginner.

A Guide to Genealogical Sources in the University of Virginia Library - UPV 8/G28/977 - Gov. Info. Reading Room - While dated this slim volume provides guidance for beginning research at the UVA Libraries.

Web Resources

National Archives Genealogy Room

National Genealogical Society

NARA's list of Other Federal Agencies with Genealogical information

Ellis Island Foundation - Searchable Ship's Passenger Lists

Church of Latter Day Saints - FamilySearch.org

Afrigeneas: Slave Data Collection

Afro-American Sources in Virginia: A Guide to Manuscripts

Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations Website

Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations: Primary Resources for Southern Genealogists

Sankofa's Afrikan Slave Genealogy Website

Slaveholder Names - seems to have good information. Not verified.

Traveller Southern Families

U.S. GenWeb project

U.S. GenWeb Archives

Where to Find Military Information

Where to Write for Vital Records

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageGovernment Information
Contact Info:
Alderman Library, 3rd Floor
University of Virginia
434 924-3516
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait