VIRGO Catalog Advanced Search: Subject = France history revolution, 1789-1799
[Apply Subject limiter to results]
Keyword = newspaper Netherlands [In results click on limiter Format: Journal/Magazine]
- The new version of Virgo does not use Boolean connectors, such as and, or between terms.
- Put a phrase within quotation marks
- Automatically does stemming of search terms (view, viewer, viewers, viewing)
- You can further refine your search results by using the limiters on the left of the search results screen
- Be sure you click on "Start Over" to perform a new search
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
America: History & Life is the major index for finding scholarly articles, book citations, book reviews, etc. published about American history since 1964. Functions like Historical Abstracts, below.
Historical Abstracts Find articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Does not include articles about the US or Canada. For these see America: History & Life.
Search: "Nazi propaganda" AND Jews
JSTOR provides the full-text volumes of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue until 3 to 5 years before the present. Current volumes are not included. Advanced Search gives you more control over your search results.
Academic Search Complete Large general database of articles from scholarly and popular journals and a few newspapers on many topics. Also includes speeches and interviews.
Search: "sit-in" AND "civil rights" Published date: 1955-1965
Historical Newspapers and Magazines
Accessible Archives Text and page images from The Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), 7 African-American newspapers from 1827-1860, and 3 Civil War newspapers: New York Herald, Richmond Enquirer, and Charleston Mercury.
Search = disunion
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 Searchable full text collection of U.S. newspapers. Click on "Places of Publication" to focus your search on Virginia newspapers and to see the titles and dates of coverage. Click on PDF button for clearer reading image.
Search = "Stamp Act" Custom date range = 1765-1766
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers Searchable full text and page images of several hundred U.S. newspapers from the 19th century. You can limit your search to newspapers of a particular state.
Keyword = Maine ship Limit by date = 1898-1899
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Back issues of the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times and Washington Post.
Advanced Search: Search Chicago Defender - "church bombing" AND Alabama
Date range = 1963-1963
Chronicling America allows you to search and view thousands of smaller local and regional American newspapers published between 1836-1922.
Search: state = Virginia + From 1898 to 1898 + Maine Cuba
Newspapers on Microfilm Search by state, or by state and dates, to find which newspapers the Library holds on microfilm.
American Periodicals Series Full text of over 1,000 magazines and journals published in America between 1740 and 1900.
Advanced Search: sectionalism AND union Date range = 1855-1860
Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans, 1639-1800 provides searchable text of books published in America between 1639 and 1800. The collection can also be browsed by genre, subject, author, etc. Note: For ease of reading click on "Download Pages",then on "Download the Entire Document as Bitonal PDF". Seventy-five pages at a time are downloaded.
Advanced Search: liberty =citation text AND colonies =citation text
Date = 1760-1783
Early American Imprints, Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 continues coverage to 1819.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), 1701-1800 Searchable full text and page images for books, almanacs, broadsides, magazines, pamphlets, songs, and sermons printed between 1701-1800 in any language in the British Isles and North America, and in the English language throughout the rest of the world.
Find: France revolution in Keyword
American History in Video Over 5000 films, commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage and documentaries showing historical events and their presentation over time.
Advanced Search: Historical Event = bombing of Sixteenth Street Baptist Church [from "Select Terms"]
Advanced Search: Transcript & Notes = civil rights movement [filter search results by Topic]
Valley of the Shadow Details life in Augusta County, Virginia and Franklin County, Pennsylvania during the Civil War and Reconstruction. Contains letters, diaries, newspapers, speeches, census records, church records, etc.
American Civil War: Letters & Diaries Letters, diaries and memoirs from the American Civil War. The Browse function allows you to see entries by place written or about a location, and the Advanced Search allows you to search by geographical location of where a document was written.
Simple search = slave power
North American Women's Letters and Diaries Searchable full text database of American and Canadian women's letters and diaries written from the Colonial period through 1950. Geographical location browsing and searching are available.
Advanced Search: garden* Year written=1860-1870 Where written (regional)=Appalachian Mountains
Diary Research: A Guide to Selected Library & Web Resources A guide to the Library's digital, print and film diary resources.
The Library has a number of important microforms collections that may be useful to this class: They include Pamphlets in American History; Papers of the NAACP; Student Non-Violent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) Papers; Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century, Papers and Diaries; American Women's Diaries: Southern Women; and Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations.
Gary Treadway, Librarian for Politics and History
Alderman Library 434-924-4982
Most databases are available only when you're connected to the UVa network. For off Grounds use you'll need a connection through the EZ Proxy or UVaAnywhere. More information.