Finding Scholarly Articles
A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo.
America History and Life Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
Search = "republican motherhood"
Search = constitution AND preservation AND archives
JSTOR Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present. Using Advanced Search will give you more control over your search and results.
Historical Newspapers, Magazines & Books
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 Searchable full text collection of U.S. newspapers. Can limit by place of publication.
Search = Peale and museum Date range = 1786-1814
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers Searchable full text and page images of several hundred U.S. newspapers from the 19th century. You can limit your search to particular states or cities.
Advanced Search: keyword = charter oak AND keyword = tree
American Periodicals Series Full text of over 1,000 magazines and journals published in the U.S. between 1740 and 1900.
Advanced Search: Search = "Daniel Boone" Date Range = 1776-1840
Early American Imprints: Series I: Evans, 1639-1800. Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 Searchable full text with page images of books published in 17th, 18th and early 19th-century America. The collection can also be browsed by genre, subject, author, printer, place of publication, and language.
Search Series II: Shaw: Advanced Search: "War of 1812" Date = 1815-1819
Simple Search: Revolution pension
Additional Online Resources
American Memory Project Primary source documents and archives from the Library of Congress for American history and culture: printed texts, collections of photographs, and some scanned manuscripts on topics such as African-American pamphlets, Civil War photographs, women's suffrage, etc.
Search = Catherine Beecher
North American Women's Letters and Diaries Searchable full text database of American and Canadian women's letters and diaries written from the Colonial period through 1950.
Advanced Search: Search = mother country
Oxford English Dictionary: OED Online Has definitions for most of the words in the English language but also information on their origins and quotations showing their range of meanings from the time they entered the language to the present.
Search = patriot
The Library has a number of microform collections that may be relevant to this class. See a list of some of our major American history collections and collections of personal papers on microfilm. The collection Pamphlets in American History (Micfich 557) in particular has materials about the War of 1812, claims by participants in the American Revolution, and personal narratives by participants in the American Revolution.
Virginia newspapers on microfilm Search by state, or by state and dates, to find what newspapers we have on microfilm.
Gary Treadway, Librarian for Politics and History
Alderman Library 434-924-4982
Most databases are available only when you're connected to the UVa network. For off Grounds use you'll need a connection through EZ Proxy or UVaAnywhere. More information.