Find Books
- Virgo - UVa Libraries Catalog
Virgo lists books, journals, videos, audio, manuscripts, and Internet resources owned or licensed by the University Library (Alderman, Brown, Clemons, etc.), Health Sciences Library, Law Library, and Darden School Library.
- WorldCat.org
Online listing with locations of books, videos, manuscripts, and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide. This version also includes articles and has an easy to use interface, but lacks some holdings and some bibliographic information.
- WorldCat: FirstSearch
Online listing with locations of books, videos, manuscripts, and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide. This version has all WorldCat holdings and provides the full bibliographic citation for each item.
- Google Book Search
Search the books Google has scanned from libraries and from publishers or search US and some other library catalogs. Full-text search of books originally printed in non-Roman alphabets is still imperfect. Choose "About this book" for abstract, table of contents, and books and articles related to the book.
- MLA International Bibliography - 1926-present Lists books plus articles and essays from journals and books on literature, linguistics, and folklore. Before 1956 covered only scholarship published in North America. Also searchable in Literature Resource Center
Find Journal Articles
- Humanities International Complete
Indexes over 2000 journals with full text for over 700 and for books and other publications. Topics covered include archaeology, art, dance, drama, ethnic and women's studies, history, literature, music, philosophy, poetry, religion
- MLA International Bibliography - 1926-present Lists books plus articles and essays from journals and books on literature, linguistics, and folklore. Before 1956 covered only scholarship published in North America. Also searchable in Literature Resource Center
- Web of Knowledge / Web of Science
Includes Science Citation Index (1970-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-) Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information. Citations include number of times the article has been cited.
Holocaust Encyclopedias
See also the general encyclopedias and biographical collections on the Encyclopedias tab at the top of the page.
- Alderman Ref PN56 .H55 H66 2003
Holocaust literature : an encyclopedia of writers and their work Kremer, S. Lillian, 1939- New York : Routledge, 2003. - http://site.ebrary.com/lib/uvalib/Doc?id=10192308
The Holocaust encyclopedia / Walter Laqueur, editor ; Judith Tydor Baumel, associate editor. New Haven : Yale University Press, 2001. - Education - PN56 .H55 E53 2002
Encyclopedia of Holocaust literature / edited by David Patterson, Alan L. Berger, and Sarita Cargas. Westport, Conn. : Oryx Press, 2002. - Alderman Ref DS135.e8E45 2001
The Encyclopedia of Jewish life before and during the Holocaust / editor in chief, Shmuel Spector ; consulting editor, Geoffrey Wigoder ; forward by Elie Wiesel. New York : New York University Press, 2001. - Alderman Ref - D804.3.E53 1990
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust / Israel Gutman, editor in chief. New York : Macmillan, c1990.
National Literatures - additional resources
The Library has research guides for subjects taught at UVa, including national literatures. They are listed below along with a few bibliographies that can supplement the MLA Biblliography.
English
- http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/english
Subject guide for English.
French
- http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/french
Subject guide for French. - Alderman Ref Z2173.3 .B5
Bibliographie der französischen Literaturwissenschaft.
Annual bibliography of scholarship on French literature.
German
- http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/german
Subject guide for German.
Hebrew / Jewish Studies generally
- RAMBI - The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies - 1966-present
A selective bibliography of scholarly articles in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages in all fields of Jewish studies and the study of Israel.
- Encyclopaedia Judaica
Comprehensive encyclopedia with over 21,000 entries on all aspects of Jewish life, culture, history, and religion
Italian
- http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/italian
Subject guide for Italian.
Slavic Literatures
- http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/slavic
Subject guide for Slavic literatures.
Spanish
- http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/Spanish
Subject guide for Spanish.
Librarian for German
James Campbell
Digital Access Librarian
& Librarian for German
513 Alderman Library
434-924-4985 | E-mail me
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait