Korean Studies
Tools & Tips
- Ask a Korean Studies Librarian! “Ask a Korean Studies Librarian (or Ask Korea)”, a free-of-charge virtual professional reference service open to the public on matters related to Korean Studies.Submit questions to: askkorea@googlegroups.com
- Seoul National University Kyujanggak Institute for Korean Studies The collection at Seoul National University Kyujanggak Institute for Korean Studies includes seven different types of texts, numbering 7,125 documents in total.
Reference / Primary Sources
- EncyKorea: Korean Cultural Heritage Encyclopedia - 한국민족문화대백과사전Revised and updated version of the Korean Cultural Heritage Encyclopedia.
- KRpia - 한국의지식콘텐츠 This link opens in a new window
A collection of ebooks; many are reference works covering major aspects of Korean civilization.
- Korean Classics Integrated Database This link opens in a new window
More than 1,330 titles of Korean classics provided by the Korean Classics Research Institute.
- Korean History Database 한국사데이터베이스 This link opens in a new windowThe Korean history full text database covering the pre-modern to modern history of Korea. Categories include rare and modern monographs, periodicals, documents/manuals, who's who, chronicles and multimedia collection.
- Statistics Korea This link opens in a new windowStatistics Korea is a government agency responsible for the dissemination of various statistical data.
- Open Data PortalOpen Data Portal is an integrated site that provides open data, which are generated or acquired by public agencies, in one place. The portal provides various data types such as files, open APIs, data visualizations to allow you use open data easily. And, anyone can find open data that he/she wants via an easy and convenient search engine.
Find Journal Articles
- DBpia This link opens in a new windowFulltext articles from 1500 academic journals in 11 subject areas (business/economics, arts & recreation, education, engineering, humanities, language & literature, law & public administration, medicine, natural sciences, social sciences, theology).
- RISS InternationalEstablished by KERIS (Korea Education & Research Information Service) under the South Korean Ministry of Education. Services include national union catalog, full text access to theses, dissertations and journal articles.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowLarge general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowBAS lists journal articles and book chapters on all subjects related to Asia. Most articles are in western languages. Includes book reviews.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowFind articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada. For these see America: History & Life.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals from a range of disciplines. Coverage usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new windowSearch the full text of nearly 400 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990s.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowSearchable full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, mostly from North American university presses. Older volumes are often available from JSTOR.
Find News Articles
- KINDS: Korea Integrated News Database System This link opens in a new windowFull-text archive of major, local, internet, and industry newspapers, magazines, and TV reports since 1990. Some publications go back to the period of Japanese rule.
- Naver -네이버 This link opens in a new windowScanned images of Kyŏnghyang sinmun 京鄉新聞, Tonga ilbo 東亞日報, and Maeil kyŏngje sinmun 每日經濟新聞 from 1920 to 1999.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowSearchable in Asian scripts (by changing "Language" to specific languages). Includes company and business information, articles from newspapers (Korea Herald, Korea Times, etc.) and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News Pages" on top to browse headline news from major publications. Logout at the end of a session to avoid problems connecting the next time.
- NexisUni This link opens in a new windowNews and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowAtlanta World Daily, The American Israelite, Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, The Guardian & The Observer, The Jewish Advocate, The Jewish Exponent, Le Monde, Los Angeles Times, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier, The Times of India, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
- World News Connection This link opens in a new windowInformation from thousands of foreign media sources: speeches, radio, television, newspapers, periodicals, and books. Includes unclassified military, political, environmental, sociological, scientific and technical data. All translated into English.
Find Books
- WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new windowOnline catalog of books and other materials in thousands of libraries in North America and some other countries.
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowFull text (PDF) of most US dissertations from 1997 on, many earlier works and some from outside the US plus some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on from US universities and some works from Europe and Asia from 1637 on. Abstracts included after July, 1980.
See also Finding Dissertations - RISS International This link opens in a new windowAccess to free content only.
Established by KERIS (Korea Education & Research Information Service) under the South Korean Ministry of Education. Services include national union catalog, theses, dissertations and journal articles.