Of interest . . .
A recent acquisition in the Law Library's Special Collections Department.
"Booke for a Justice of the Peace," (1574) - Anthony Fitzherbert
Call Number: Law U.K. 46 .B7236 1574 1 RAREBOOK Law 3rd Floor Special Collections
This title was printed by Elizabethan year-book printer, Richard Tottell.
Other useful guides
Links to other useful library guides created by subject specialists in the University of Virginia library system.
- British Parliamentary Papers - Introduction A guide intended for those beginning research in British Parliamentary Papers that focuses on Alderman Library's 19th and 20th century holdings and lists indexes and finding aids for Sessional (or Parliamentary) papers, Journals, and Debates.
- Congressional Publications at Alderman and Law Libraries - Congressional Publications at U.Va. Libraries A guide to what is held in the University library system and where it is available.
Databases for Historical English and American Legal Materials
The University of Virginia library system subscribes to the following databases and they are available to the University community through the library's online catalog, VIRGO.
- Making of Modern Law Searchable full text of casebooks, manuals, pamphlets, letters, speeches of the nineteenth and early twentieth century.
- Early English Books Online: EEBO - 1475-1700 Every significant work published in English from 1475 to 1700. Numerous law subject headings.
- Hein Online: English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1865) This collection encompasses the decisions of the English Courts prior to the commencement of the Law Reports in 1865. It represents reprints of 275 separate series of reports, arranged by the English Courts: House of Lords, Chancery, Rolls Court, etc.
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 Law and crime subject headings within this database.
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 Law and crime subject headings within this database.
- Hein Online: Legal Classics Library This collection includes more than 1,200 works and focuses on constitutional law, political science, and other legal topics.
- Hein Online: Law Journal Library Law journal library includes over 1,100 law and law-related journals from the date of the first issue.
- Hein Online: U.S. Supreme Court Library This collection includes complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports from 1754 to 2003, as well as Preliminary Prints from 2002 to 2006 and Slip Opinions from 2002 to date. It also includes books and periodicals such as the Supreme Court Review.
- Hein Online: U.S. Statutes at Large Includes the United States Statutes at Large Vols. 1-120 (1789-2006), the Revised Statutes of the United States 1st Edition Vol. 1 (1873-1874) and the Revised Statutes of the United States 2nd Edition Vol. 1 (1873-1874)
- The Anglo-American Legal Tradition
Documents from Medieval and Early Modern England from the National Archives in London digitized and displayed through The O'Quinn Law Library of the University of Houston Law Center by license of the National Archives. - LexisNexis® Congressional - Congressional Publications Congressional Publications; Legislative Histories, Bills & Laws; Members & Committees; Regulations; Daily Congressional Record & Rules from the 1st Congress in 1789 to present.
Other Databases
- America History and Life covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present and has almost 400,000 citations from 2,000 key English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
- British History Online A digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust.
- Google Scholar Find articles from most online scholarly journals plus some books and Web sites. Note that Google Scholar does not search all of the journals to which UVa has access.
- Archives USA a current directory of 5,596 repositories and 154,678 collections of primary source material across the United States.
- ArchiveGrid Open the door to history. Locate archives (manuscripts, letters, wills, family, corporate, and civic records, etc.) held in over a thousand libraries around the world.
- N I N E S NINES is an organization of 19th century scholars. Through its Collex interface, it provides cross-collection searching of aggregated, peer-reviewed online scholarship in British and American nineteenth-century studies.
Subject Guide |
M. Alison WhiteContact Info:
Special Collections, UVA Law Library
434-924-4327
Send Email
Subjects:
Law and history, archival research.
Special Collections, UVA Law Library
434-924-4327
Send Email
Subjects:
Law and history, archival research.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait