This is the "Home" page of the "Library 101" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library 101  

A guide for students new to the University library system or for any student looking for a research refresher.
Last Updated: Aug 31, 2015 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/library101 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Services

Online Access
The Library’s website is the gateway to everything you'll need: online resources via databases, Internet sources, and VIRGO (our catalog of books, videos, music and more).

Checkout
Got your student I.D. number? That's all you need to check out books, videos, and more. There is a limit of 500 on the books, though.

Renew
Renew most of your items online, by phone, or just stop by any Library desk.

Return
Return any item to any U.Va. Library.

Recall
If a book you need is checked out, click on the Request Unavailable Item link. We'll ask the current holder to bring it back within 7 days and we'll notify you when you can pick it up.

Reserves
Libraries that have books on reserve include Clemons, Fine Arts, and the Brown Science & Engineering Library. You can look up reserve books online.

Interlibrary Loan
If none of the U.Va. libraries have a book, journal article, or other item that you need, the Library can try to get it through Interlibrary Loan Services. Register via the "First Time Users" button at the bottom of the ILS Request Sign In box. 

Scan
Each library has scanners that will create PDFs that can be saved to your flashdrive or emailed. Scanning is FREE.

Copy and Print
Copying and printing costs 8 cents per page (60 cents per page in color) and can be paid for using your student ID card or a Cav Advantage card. Deposits to your account can be made online or at various locations around Grounds, including Alderman, Clemons, and the Brown Science & Engineering Library.

Print from Your Laptop
Print from your laptop across Grounds and at all the libraries. Start here

Off-Grounds Access
Library databases are available seamlessly when you're on Grounds. For off-Grounds use you'll be prompted to authenticate via NetBadge.

Reserve a Study Room
You can reserve study rooms on the fly for one or more people in Clemons and Brown. See the big list of Library study spaces (with links to reserve when applicable) or jump ahead and reserve the room you want.

Labs
The Scholar's Lab helps with research and scholarly analysis needs in the humanities and social sciences. The Digital Media Lab provides support for digital imaging, audiovisual production and post-production, mobile technologies, as well as visualization and delivery of media content. The StatLab provides advice and training in data analysis and statistical methods.

Accounts
In order to log on to computers in the Library and elsewhere you'll need to use your Eservices account.  Set up your account now.

Cloud Storage
Did you know that the University provides you with 50 GB of free server space to save your documents?  It's called UVa Box

What to Use When

UVA Databases: Use for peer-reviewed articles, journal articles, solid academic research and reliable sources.  One good example is Academic Search Complete.

Wikipedia: Use for introductory or background information on a topic and for following citations from references.

Google: Use for quick look-ups and supplemental research.

Google Scholar: Use for finding links to articles in the Library databases and finding citations.

 

Ask a Librarian

We answer questions about anything!

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

What is That?

Bibliography: a collection of citations showing where you got the information for your paper.

Call numbers: a code system used by university libraries that helps you locate the exact item you need. It's like a street address for the book you want. We use the Library of Congress system.

Citation: a reference to a book, article, web page, or other published item. Allows others to follow your research.

Database: a huge searchable collection of citations and articles (often with the complete text available).

Recall: a way to get books from others who already have them checked out. Ask a librarian how it's done.

Stacks: the area where library items are stored. Shelves, basically.

VIRGO: Searchable catalog of U.Va's Library resources. Search by keyword, author, title, or even browse by library, subject, format, etc.


UVa Library     |     UVa Library MOBILE    |    Off Grounds Access     |     ITC Help Desk     |     Ask a Librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip