Best Databases for Materials Science & Engineering
All Materials Science & Engineering Databases
- ACS Publications1962-present
Good first database for undergraduate research. Full text of articles from journals published by the American Chemical Society. - Compendex1964-present
Compendex, now part of Engineering Village, is a large interdisciplinary engineering database listing journal articles, technical reports and conferences, and adds over 220,000 new abstracts each year. Includes book reviews. - CSA Materials Research Database1966-present
Best databases for graduate research. Compilation of materials science databases, with specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application. - Digital Dissertations1861-present
Full text (PDF for download) of most dissertations accepted from 1997 on, some earlier works and some master's theses. Also lists dissertations and theses accepted from 1861 on in the US and at some international universities. - Engineered Materials Abstracts - Ceramics1986-present
- ENGnetBASEHandbooks and other reference books from CRC Press dealing with all areas of engineering. Individual titles are listed in the Virgo Library Catalog.
- Knovel LibraryLarge collection of handbooks on chemistry and engineering. Topics include textiles, adhesives, metals, plastics, and other materials; biotechnology; food science; pharmaceuticals; industrial safety; aerospace; and most areas of engineering.
- METADEX1966-present
Comprehensive source for information on metals and alloys: their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development. - National Technical Information Service (NTIS)1983-present
Access provided through Engineering Village. NTIS contains bibliographic citations and summaries of U.S. Government-sponsored research, development, and engineering reports. - ScienceDirectFull text of articles from journals published by Elsevier Science.
- Web of Science/Web of Knowledge1970-present
Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-present) which can be searched together or separately.
Subject Librarian |
![]() Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
