This is the "Books and Journals" page of the "Media Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Media Studies   Tags: film, media, media_studies, television  

A guide for research in media and film studies
Last Updated: Sep 12, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/mediastudies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Books and Journals Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Books for Media Studies

Call numbers in the Library of Congress (LC) classification system most closely related to media studies include:

  • HE8689-8700: Radio and television broadcasting (industry)
  • P87-96: Communication and Mass Media
  • PN1990-1992: Broadcasting, Non-broadcast video media
  • PN1993-1999: Motion pictures
  • PN4699-5650: Journalism

Most books collected for media and film studies are housed in Clemons Library. However, we are collecting a growing number of ebooks accessible directly through VIRGO, and books on related topics in sociology, popular or world culture, politics, or other disciplines may be located in other UVa libraries. In VIRGO, search by keyword or subject, then restrict by library or format.

      

    Best Databases for Journal Articles

    Because it is so interdisciplinary, articles relating to media studies are found in journals from many disciplines. Here are some of the best places to look:

    • Communication and Mass Media Complete
      Incorporates the content of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. Searches over 700 titles, including full text for Communication Law & Policy, Critical Studies in Media Communication, and Information Society. A subset of Academic Search Complete.
    • GoogleScholar
      Find articles from most online scholarly journals plus some books and Web sites. Use Advanced Search if you get too many results; use Preferences to turn on links to Find@UVa and RefWorks.
    • IIPA: International Index to the Performing Arts
      A performing arts journal resource with nearly 300,000 indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1864 to current, covering film, theatre and dance
    • JSTOR Journal Storage Project
      Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
    • MLA Bibliography
      An index to more than 1.5 million bibliographic citations in language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts.
    • Sociological Abstracts
      Sociology and related fields, including communication and mass media. All languages. 2600 scholarly journals. Includes book, book chapter, and conference paper abstracts and book reviews. Updated quarterly.

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Leigh Rockey
    Contact Info
    lar4k@virginia.edu
    (434) 982-3091
    Send Email
     

    UVa Library     |     UVa Library MOBILE    |    Off Grounds Access     |     ITC Help Desk     |     Ask a Librarian

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip