While much of the research done by the military is classified and unavailable to the public, there are still many potentially useful reports and published papers that anyone can access. In addition, you may find yourself working under a military contract or in need of a military standard or regulation. This sort of information is usually available. The links below offer a variety of ways to search for military-related information. Ask a librarian for assistance, if you are not finding what you need.
- ABCs of Military Resources
In U.S. Navy jargon, gouge is the essential piece of information; the heart of the matter - this is our “gouge” on tips and some resources for searching for military information. From a presentation at the 2009 SLA Conference by Lily McGovern and Greta E. Marlatt.
- ASSIST (Database for Military Specifications and Standards)
The ASSIST-Online is a comprehensive web site providing access to current information associated with military and federal specifications and standards in the management of the Defense Standardization Program (DSP). Requires users to register before accessing the database.
The official web portal for the U.S. Department of Defense, including links to many service-related documents and news items. Regulations information is under the "Publications" tab.
- DTIC (Defense Technical Information Center) Home Page
The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
- Military and Government Collection
An index to magazines and academic journals providing news about defense issues for all branches of the armed services, army, air forrce, navy, marines. Also includes country reports and relevant government and international documents. (U.Va. only)
- Military Periodicals Index
Articles on military and naval art and science, operational warfare, joint planning, national and international politics, and related military history. Covers a wide range of journals but lists only articles relevant to the Joint Forces Staff College.
- National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
NTIS contains bibliographic citations and summaries of U.S. Government-sponsored research, development, and engineering reports, including some done by the military. (This link U.Va. only - free access also available directly from NTIS.)
- SCAMPI - Staff College Automated Military Periodicals Index
A guide to periodical articles on military and naval art and science, operational warfare, joint planning, national and international politics, and other areas produced by the Joint Forces Staff College library.
A web search engine concentrating on military related web pages.
- STINET (Scientific and Technical Information Network)
Citations of unclassified, unlimited documents that have been entered into DTIC, the Defense Technical Information Center's Technical Reports Collection.
- U.S. Army Field Manuals, Training Circulars, Technical Manuals and Pamphlets
Contains the full text of selected U.S. Army Field Manuals (FMs), Training Circulars (TCs), and Technical Manuals (TMs), War Department Pamphlets (WD PAMs) and Department of the Army Pamphlets (DA PAMs), both historical and current.