LibGuides: Commerce: Home

Start here! Best bets for Commerce

Welcome to the Commerce Research Guide. If you have any questions, reach out to the librarians listed on this page.

We have found that these are the best databases from the majority of students in Commerce:

Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
This online market research tool monitors industry trends and provides strategic analysis and a market size and market share database for products across key countries.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBIS World provides insight into America's 700+ industries through accurate and current business information focused on economic, demographic and government data.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Topics such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Find articles plus financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, market, industry, and country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
ProcurementIQ This link opens in a new window
Use ProcurementIQ to get pricing data, supplier intelligence, and contract strategies for 1000+ categories across the globe. Get information on Opportunity Assessment, Buyer Power Score, Price Environment, Supply Chain & Vendors, and more.

Quick Access to Popular Resources

Periodicals

Harvard Business Review (Business Source Complete)
Harvard Business Review Digital Articles (Business Source Complete)
Bloomberg Businessweek (Business Source Complete)
Fortune (Business Source Complete)
The Economist (Gale in Context: U.S. History)
New York Times (Free online access for UVA faculty, staff, and students - Note: must be on grounds or have VPN enabled when initially creating free account)
New York Times (Gale in Context: U.S. History)
Financial Times (Factiva) - search articles published January 1981 through 30 days ago; enable off-Grounds access (VPN) before connecting.
Wall Street Journal (Factiva) - Also includes New York Times, Washington Post, Barron's, Forbes, Dow Jones Newswires, and other leading US newspapers).

Databases

Gallup Analytics - Gallup Analytics is an online platform that provides subscribers with access to nearly a century of U.S. data and a decade of global tracking data known as the Gallup World Poll.
Gallup Microdata - Gallup survey data for the US and worldwide. Must request through the library.
Business Search Complete - Find articles plus financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, market, industry, and country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
Factiva - Articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals, plus company and business information.
IBISWorld - 700+ industries through accurate and current business information focused on economic, demographic and government data. Also see Procurement IQ (formerly IBISWorld Procurement) below.
Procurement IQ - Procurement Research Reports: (formerly IBISWorld Procurement). The ProcurementIQ reports provide research on nearly 1,000 goods and services. They are presented in a standard format that includes an overview, characteristics of the product or service, supply markets and suppliers, and RFP and negotiation strategies.
Euromonitor Passport - Data and analysis on consumer markets, industry sectors, consumer lifestyles, companies and brands in over 200 countries – current, historical, and forecast.
JSTOR - Historical collections of important academic journals that include economics, finance, marketing, operations research, statistics and management.
LexisNexis Academic - News business information, legal information, statistics, and more.
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) - Offers video training on business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals.
Mergent Online Information on over 35,000 current and former publicly traded companies, both from the US and from around the world. Company histories and over 200,000 annual reports in pdf, 30 years of stock prices, etc.
O'Reilly for Higher Education (formerly Safari Books Online) - Thousands of best-selling, top-rated IT, computing, technology and business books by leading authors.
To access: Below dropdown menu, click on Institution Not Listed? and then enter UVA email address.
Statista - Consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
Video and Media Resources - The library has over 50,000 videos on DVD, VHS, and LaserDisc and more than 25,000 streaming videos online. The collection is about 65% feature films and 35% documentaries.

Software

UVA Software Gateway
UVA Learning Tech
UVA Zoom Home
Zotero (Citation Manager)

At the Library

Library Locations & Hours | Reserve a Study Space | Before you visit, check the Status Dashboard

For research help, contact your Library Specialist | Web chat is open seven days a week! Ask a Librarian

Library Catalog (Virgo 4) | Off-Grounds Access | Journal Finder | Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Databases A-Z | Course Reserves | Purchase Requests | COVID-19 Library FAQs

Off-Grounds Access to Library Electronic Resources

You can access Library electronic resources from on- or off-grounds. The links you will find on the Library webpages, including this guide, contain the EZProxy, which will offer you seamless access to the resources from off-grounds without needing to use the VPN. You can read more about off-grounds Access including the EZProxy and the VPN.

You can also make use of the Libkey Nomad browser extension, which gives UVA affiliates direct access to journal articles from the publisher's web page without needing to use the VPN, or EZProxy links, whether you are on- or off-grounds. You can read more about Libkey Nomad here.