Public Sociology
VIRGO
Don’t forget to check VIRGO for books & journal articles. We have some good ones!
Sociology LibGuide
Starting place for sociology research. Links to both U.Va. subscription databases (Soc Abstracts) and web resources (General Social Survey).
Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers on many topics. Also includes reference books (World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary), biographies, speeches and other primary source documents.
Sociology and related fields. All languages. 2600 scholarly journals. Includes book, book chapter, and conference paper abstracts and book reviews. Use Advanced Search. Updated quarterly.
Social Explorer
Census and American Community Survey (ACS) data. Custom maps and reports. Doesn’t yet include 2010 Census counts.
-
Select “Reports.” Then choose ACS (or whatever data looks interesting). Then choose “County.” You can then select both Albemarle AND Charlottesville (use CTL to select two options).
-
2010 Census counts to the county level
-
By address
-
Maps are at country level
-
American Community Survey
County Business Patterns - http://www.census.gov/econ/cbp/index.html
-
Numbers of people employed, number of establishments by type, etc.
-
Compare with other cities and places
-
By zip and NAICS code – employment and wages
-
Time Use Surveys (!) - http://www.bls.gov/tus/
-
Resources for…. - http://www.bls.gov/audience/home.htm
-
At a Glance - http://www.bls.gov/eag/
Other Resources
-
FedStats – www.fedstats.gov – links to many agencies statistical resources
-
ChildStats - www.childstats.gov – wealth of data on “children” up to 17 years old
-
GuideStar - http://www2.guidestar.org/ - financial reports on nonprofits. Free registration allows you to view more of the data.
-
Monticello Avenue - http://avenue.org/ - community network site. Eligible groups can have websites hosted.
-
CvilleCalendar.com - http://www.cvillecalendar.com/
-
Scholars' Lab C'ville resources - http://www.lib.virginia.edu/scholarslab/resources/gis/cityguide_cville.html
-
City Neighborhood plans - http://www.charlottesville.org/Index.aspx?page=1546
Proxy - http://www2.lib.virginia.edu/tools/offgrounds.html
Connect to U.Va.’s databases from your apartment or home.
Click on “Login” to access login and account creation information.
· Format bibliographies and citations automatically in over 400 styles including ASA, MLA, etc. Use in conjunction with WORD to write papers, dissertations, etc.
· Access your RefWorks account from any computer, anywhere
Contact Information |
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Contact Info Alderman Library Reference Room, 4th floor University of Virginia 434-982-2677 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Loading...
