What is RefWorks?
RefWorks is a software application that enables you to...
- Download citations from databases and put them into a personal RefWorks research database
- Format bibliographies and citations automatically in over 400 styles including APA, MLA, etc.
- Use in conjunction with WORD to write papers, dissertations, etc.
- Access your RefWorks account from any computer, anywhere
- Create a database and share it with colleagues around the world
- Questions?
Contact These LibrariansIn Alderman Library
Chris Ruotolo 434-982-2652
In Brown Science & Engineering Library
Beth Blanton-Kent 434-924-6837
In Ruffner Hall's CLIC
Carole Lohman 434-924-7039
& Kay Buchanan 434-982-2664
In the Fine Arts Library
Lorenza Amico 434-924-6607
In the Music Library
Rya Martin 434-243-8713
Using RefWorks
- Open a RefWorks Account
View the one minute tutorial
- Downloading citations from databases
step-by-step set of instructions created by librarians at U. of Arizona.
- Have you forgotten your RefWorks password?
Go to the RefWorks Login page and click on the link, "Forgot Your Log-In" and RefWorks will send you your password to your e-mail account. This service is available on weekends, too!
Write lib-data@virginia.edu and you will be given a new password Monday-Friday
- Want to change your account information?
Log in to RefWorks and FROM the menu bar, select TOOLS and then, select UPDATE USER INFORMATION. You can change your password as well as other information you provided.
- What happens to your RefWork account after you graduate?
Your RefWorks account will continue after you graduate, however, if it is not used within 3 years, the account will be deleted. If you have attached the full text for articles to the RefWorks record for a given citation, they will remain, however you will no longer see the Find@UVa button in RefWorks as access to this has to be restricted to current students, faculty, and staff due to contractual obligations. If you come to the UVa Library, you can access the full text or print version of the article if it is available. If you are affiliated with another university or organization, you will be able to use their Find@ button to access the full text they provide. Click here for additional information for alumni.
- Does Your Research Group Want to Share a RefWorks Folder?
Use RefShare.
- How does one login from off-Grounds?
There are 2 ways.
1. Set up a Proxy account and then go to the RefWorks page http://www.refworks.cm
This will allow you to access the articles full text using Find@UVa.
2. Use the Group Code RWUVirginia to login to the RefWorks page http://www.refworks.com
This method only allows you to access your citations. You cannot access the articles full text using Find@UVA.
You can access full text if you have attached it to the record using the attachment function.
- A comparison of RefWorks, EndNote, and Zotero software:
Which software is best for you?
NEWS
Staff at RefWorks created this fantastic website to help you learn RefWorks and get help with any technical problems.
Learn to Use RefWorks
One-on-One Consultations with UVA librarian
Contact a librarian from the list in the far left column to arrange a session!
Loading...
