Searching Virgo
Select "Catalog Only" and search: "war on terror"
Catalog Advanced Search: Subject = United States Foreign Relations Russia Year Published =2001-2012
Use Journal Finder on the library home page, or at the bottom of the Virgo search screen, to determine our online access for a particular journal title and to search a particular journal's contents.
- Virgo does not use Boolean connectors, such as and, or between terms.
- Put a phrase within quotation marks
- Automatically does stemming of search terms (view, viewer, viewers, viewing)
- You can further refine search results by using the limiters on the left of the search results screen. For example, clicking on "Special Collections" under "Library" will narrow your results to materials held in Special Collections.
- Be sure you click on "Start Over" to perform a new search
Foreign Policy Primary Source Documents
A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ .
ProQuest Congressional provides mostly full-text publications from the U.S. Congress, including testimony from Congressional hearings, legislative histories of laws, reports to Congress, etc.
Search: Department of Homeland Security Date is between = Jan 1, 2002 and Dec 25, 2002
Advanced Search: extraordinary rendition AND Europe Date is Between = 2001 - 2007
Limit To = Hearings
Digital National Security Archive contains declassified documents used by the U.S. government in conducting foreign policy. The materials are obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. Several collections in this database are related to topics in this class: US Intelligence and Weapons of Mass Destruction; Terrorism and US Policy; US Intelligence Community After 9/11.etc.
Search Documents: Keyword = al-Qaeda Names/organization = CIA
Collections = National Security Agency: Organization...1945-2009; Presidential Directives, Part II;
US Intelligence Community After 9/11
Homeland Security Digital Library is a research collection of open-source resources related to homeland security policy, strategy and organizational management. Find articles, government documents, press briefings, statements by government officials, research papers, and books on all aspects of homeland security, most with links to online full text.
Search = wiretapping
Finding Journal & Newspaper Articles
A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ .
Academic Search Complete A general database of articles from a variety of scholarly journals, popular magazines, and some newspapers. Includes some speeches and interviews. Years of coverage varies according to title, but some publications are covered back to the late 19th century.
Search: "Bush administration" AND "civil liberties" Published Date = 2001-2012
To search for speeches: Bush, George W. = AU author AND "war on terror" Document Type = speech
To search for interviews: Powell, Colin = PE People AND "weapons of mass destruction" Document Type = interview
America History & Life Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
Search: "Department of Homeland Security" AND terrorism
JSTOR Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
Advanced Search: oil AND "Iraq war" Type = article
Date range = From 2001 to 2009 Discipline = Middle East Studies; Political Science
PAIS, 1915-present Useful for finding journal articles, book citations, government publications, and reports issued by public and private organizations in the areas of political science and public policy.
Search: "free trade agreements" and "Bush administration"
LexisNexis Academic offers access to a variety of news sources, including newspapers, magazines, television and radio broadcast transcripts, etc. Years of coverage varies by title, usually with nothing prior to the early 1980's.
Advance Search: de-baathification and Bremer
Specify Date = Date is between 2003 and 2004
Select Source by Type = major world publications
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Searchable full text backfiles of the New York Times (1851-2006), Wall Street Journal (1889-1991), Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), Washington Post (1877-1992), and Chicago Defender (1910-1975).
Search NY Times: Advanced Search = "weapons of mass destruction" AND Iraq Date = 2001-2003
Additional Resources
A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ .
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online provides working papers from research institutes, occasional papers from NGO's, foundation-funded research reports, proceedings from conferences, books, journal articles, and policy briefs.
Search: "foreign aid" "post-9/11"
Department of State See Media Center for daily press briefings, press releases, remarks and testimony by senior officials, etc."For materials from the Bush Administration see Archive at the bottom of the screen.
Central Intelligence Agency See News & Information for press releases and statements, speeches and testimony, CIA and the War on Terrorism, etc. Also see Library for agency publications, Kent Center for Intelligence Analysis, etc
Department of Homeland Security See Topics, News, and About DHS.
Book Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences This page is maintained by library staff to help you find book reviews in the social sciences and humanities. Another good source is Academic Search Complete:
Search: Ti Title = Descent into Chaos: the United States and the Failure of Nation Building
Document Type = Book Review
Subject Librarian |
Gary Treadway, Librarian for Politics and History Links: Profile & Guides |
Off-Grounds Access
Most databases are available only when you're connected to the UVa network. For off Grounds use you will need a connection through the proxy server or UVaAnywhere. More information.
Loading...
