LibGuides: Education Statistics, Data Sets, and Data Experts: Statistics and Data Sets

Statistics & Data Sets Pertaining to Education

American Education (120 Years of American Education: A Statistical Portrait)
This publication contains statistical trends of elementary, secondary, and higher education institutions. Text and charts describe historical shifts in educational attainment, enrollment, staff, degrees and finance. Years covered: 1870-1990.
Annual Survey of School System Finances
Created by the U. S. Census Bureau. Education finance data include revenues, expenditures, debt, and assets (cash and security holdings) of elementary and secondary public school systems. Statistics cover all states, including the District of Columbia, and are available on an annual basis. File formats for downloadable data may vary by year.
Beginning College Survey of Student Engagement
BCSSE collects data about entering college students' high school academic and co-curricular experiences, as well as their expectations for participating in educationally purposeful activities during the first college year. BCSSE administration usually takes place prior to the start of fall classes and is designed to be paired with a NSSE administration at the end of the first college year, providing an in-depth understanding of first-year student engagement on your campus.
Campus Safety and Security: Data Analysis Cutting Tool
he Campus Safety and Security Data Analysis Cutting Tool is brought to you by the Office of Postsecondary Education of the U.S. Department of Education. This analysis cutting tool was designed to provide rapid customized reports for public inquiries relating to campus crime and fire data. The data are drawn from the OPE Campus Safety and Security Statistics website database to which crime statistics and fire statistics (as of the 2010 data collection) are submitted annually, via a web-based data collection, by all postsecondary institutions that receive Title IV funding (i.e., those that participate in federal student aid programs). This data collection is required by the Jeanne Clery Disclosure of Campus Security Policy and Campus Crime Statistics Act and the Higher Education Opportunity Act.
Canadian Research Data
Research Data Centres offer a secure access to detailed microdata from Statistics Canada's surveys, and to Canadian censuses' data, as well as to an increasing number of administrative data sets. The search engine below was designed to help you find out more easily which dataset among all the surveys available in the RDCs best suits your research needs. You can search by theme (based on past publications) or subject (based on Statistics Canada's classification), by type of survey (including pilot projects) or by its name.
CAVA (human Communication: an Audio-Visual Archive) Repository
The CAVA (human Communication: an Audio-Visual Archive) Repository is a digital video repository to support the work of the international human communication research community. To access CAVA you need to apply for a user licence by contacting the Project Officer.
Child Stats: The official Web site of the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics
Reports and sites with Federal and State data on children and families.
College Score Card
Here, you can get the data behind the College Scorecard, as well as other data on federal financial aid and earnings information. These data provide insights into the performance of schools eligible to receive federal financial aid, and offer a look at the outcomes of students at those schools.
Common Core of Data
U.S. Department of Education's National Center for Education Statistics program that collects data about all public schools, school districts and state education agencies in the United States.
Condition of Education
Collection of indicators conducted by the National Center for Education Statistics. The Condition of Education summarizes important developments and trends in education using the latest available data. The report presents 42 indicators on the status and condition of education, in addition to Spotlights that look more closely at 4 issues of current interest. The indicators represent a consensus of professional judgment on the most significant national measures of the condition and progress of education for which accurate data are available.
Crime and Safety
The Crime and Safety Surveys web site features data and reports produced by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) on the topic of school crime and safety.
CUPA Professionals in Higher Education Survey
CUPA (College and University Professionals Association) produces this survey/ There is a free executive report and an option to purchase either the print or as an on-demand data file. At this time UVa has not acquired any of these past 2002-2003. see this VIRGO entry. http://search.lib.virginia.edu/catalog/u2360541
Data.gov
Data.gov The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.All data is freely accessible.
Data Planet Statistical Data Sets
Provides easy access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data. The repository contains more than 18.9 billion data points from over 70 source organizations, including the U.S. Census Bureau, Statistics Canada, and Zillow Real Estate Metrics. Search for data by keyword or browse 16 subject categories. Users can create charts, graphs, and maps and download data in a variety of file formats (e.g., Excel, SAS, XML, Shapefile) for use with statistical or GIS software.
Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health
Provides state and national data. The mission of the Data Resource Center (DRC) is to take the voices of parents, gathered through the National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) and the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (NS-CSHCN), and share the results through this free online resource.
Digest of Education Statistics
The primary purpose of the Digest of Education Statistics is to provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. The Digest includes a selection of data from many sources, both government and private, and draws especially on the results of surveys and activities carried out by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES).
more...less...
The primary purpose of the Digest of Education Statistics is to provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. The Digest includes a selection of data from many sources, both government and private, and draws especially on the results of surveys and activities carried out by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES). To qualify for inclusion in the Digest, material must be nationwide in scope and of current interest and value. The publication contains information on a variety of subjects in the field of education statistics, including the number of schools and colleges, teachers, enrollments, and graduates, in addition to educational attainment, finances, federal funds for education, libraries, and international education. Supplemental information on population trends, attitudes on education, education characteristics of the labor force, government finances, and economic trends provides background for evaluating education data.
Diplomas Count (Produced by EdWeek, last issue 2016)
Started in 2006, Diplomas Count sought to bring more clarity to the issue by using a common measure to calculate graduation rates for every school district in the country and reported results for the nation as a whole, all 50 states and the District of Columbia, and the nation's largest districts. Ceased publication in 2016 as all states are now required to use a common yardstick to measure and report graduation rates, the Adjusted Cohort Graduation Rate.
Early Childhood Longitudinal Study (ECLS)
Consists of 3 longitudinal studies. The ECLS program provides national data on children's status at birth and at various points thereafter; children's transitions to nonparental care, early education programs, and school; and children's experiences and growth through the eighth grade. The ECLS program also provides data to analyze the relationships among a wide range of family, school, community, and individual variables with children's development, early learning, and performance in school.
ED Data Express
ED Data Express is a Web site designed to improve the public's ability to access and explore high-value state-level education data collected by the U.S. Department of Education.
EdStats
A statistical database provided by the World Bank containing national and global data relating to education.
Education at a Glance (OECD)
Education at a Glance: OECD Indicators is the authoritative source for accurate and relevant information on the state of education around the world. It provides data on the structure, finances, and performance of education systems in more than 40 countries, including Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) members and G20 partners.
Education Census
This site, by the Census Bureau, has education data relating to Educational Attainment, Field of Training, School Costs, School Enrollment, and other education related areas.
Education Maps & Stats
Need a chart, graph, map, stats, etc. to support your research. This site provides indexing of articles in EdWeek that have maps, charts, stats, etc. Covers EdWeek 1981-present.
Education Counts Database (produced by EdWeek)
The Education Counts database contains more than 250 state-level K-12 education indicators, many spanning multiple years. Included are data collected for Education Week's annual reports, Quality Counts and Technology Counts. You can use the custom table builder to create a table, graph, or map of any indicators you wish.
Faculty Survey of Student Engagement
FSSE is a web-based survey. It is administered nationally to faculty, instructors, and graduate students who teach at baccalaureate degree-granting colleges and universities that are concurrently administering NSSE or have participated in NSSE in the previous year.
Federal student Loan Program
Higher Education General Information Survey (HEGIS)
Data on enrollment, program completions, finances, and institutional characteristics for public and private postsecondary institutions from the mid 1960s through the mid 1980s. The Higher Education General Information Survey (HEGIS) Series, the predecessor to the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) Series, was designed to provide comprehensive information on various aspects of postsecondary education in the United States and its territories (American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, and the Marshall Islands) and Department of Defense schools outside the United States. Data are available for both public and private two-year and four-year institutions. There are eight components: Earned Degrees/Completions, Employees, Finance, Residence and Migration, Salaries, Fall Enrollment, Institutional Characteristics, and Libraries.
ICPSR
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. Users may view documentation, download raw data, and search a bibliography of data-related literature.
Indicators of School Crime and Safety

International Historical Statistics, 1750-2010 This link opens in a new window
Unique collection of statistics covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. IHS is a collection of data sets taken from hundreds of disparate primary sources, including both official national and international abstracts. Content is divided into three geographical areas: (1) Africa, Asia, Oceania, (2) Americas, and (3) Europe. Tables can be downloaded in Excel format.

International Program Activities
IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System
The primary source for data on colleges, universities, and technical and vocational postsecondary institutions in the United States
Kid's Count
Includes information about education by state and across states. Also includes the yearly published data book measuring child well-being.
NASSGAP (National Association of State and Student Grant and Aid Programs)
The National Association of State Student Grant and Aid Programs (NASSGAP) is dedicated to the promotion, strengthening, encouragement and enhancement of high standards in the administration and operation of student grant and aid programs so that these programs shall be available to students in all states to expand and further postsecondary educational opportunities. NASSGAP's membership is drawn from single agencies in each state or territory which are responsible for state-funded student aid programs.
National Assessment of Adult Literacy (NAAL)
National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP)
National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP)
The association offers professional development training programs, regional and national conferences, and a broad range of regular periodicals, including the award-winning PRINCIPAL magazine, with reports on the latest research along with practical advice from administrators. NAESP also offers comprehensive legal assistance, salary and contract review, and services for students, including the American Student Council Association.
National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP)
The NASSP serves all leaders in middle school and high school education. This web site contains education news and information for parents, principals and aspiring principals, and also serves as the web site for NASSP supported student activities including the National Honor Society, National Junior Honor Society, American Technology Honor Society, National Association of Student Councils, National Association of Student Activities Advisors, the National Alliance of High Schools and National Alliance of Middle Level Schools
National Association of State Boards of Education (NASBE)
The National Association of State Boards of Education (NASBE) is a nonprofit, private association with 501(c)(3) tax-exempt status that represents state and territorial boards of education. Our principal objectives include strengthening state leadership in educational policy making; promoting excellence in the education of all students; advocating equality of access to educational opportunity; and assuring continued citizen support for public education.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
National Center for Education Statistics Blog
National Center for Higher Education Management Systems (NCHEMS) Information Center
A collection of statistics relating to education and policymaking, and includes a "Generate Your Own Data" feature based on user-selected criteria.
more...less...
A collection of statistics relating to education and policymaking, and includes a "Generate Your Own Data" feature based on user-selected criteria.
National Household Education Survey Program (NHES)
National Institute of Early Education Research
A database of indicators of pre-school education policy across the fifty states.
National Survey of Student Engagement
Survey items onThe College Student Report represent empirically confirmed "good practices" in undergraduate education.
OECD iLibrary
Full text (in PDF format) of all books, reports, periodicals, and statistical databases published by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
Office of Civil Rights
Provides data on public school enrollment and services in the United States according to ethnicity, disability, and gender.
Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE)
Provides statistics on campus security at the nation's universities.
Projection of Education Statistics
Quality Counts (produced by EdWeek)
Quality Counts is Education Week's annual report on state-level efforts to improve public education.
School District Demographics System
Welcome to MapED, a new dynamic data mapping tool that provides geographic context to NCES, Census, and other education demographic datasets. Create your own customized maps using the Interactive Data Map or explore our pre-existing Story Maps.
School Matters
A site for researching information about schools. This site provides a data analysis of schools and school districts.
Schools and Staffing Survey (SASS)
The Schools and Staffing Survey (SASS) was conducted by NCES seven times between 1987 through 2011. SASS was an integrated study public and private school districts, schools, principals, and teachers designed to provide descriptive data on the context of elementary and secondary education.
Scientists and Engineers Statistical Data System (SESTAT)
A database of educational, employment, and demographic statistics on scientists and engineers in the United States.
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV)
Data by institution, degrees, enrollment, transfers, financial aid, and more!
State Highlights (produced by EdWeek)
A section of Quality Counts.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
TIMMS and PIRLS
TIMSS, compiles information on math and science education around the world.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Contains an Education Statistics section on various comparative educational indicators in nations worldwide, with data in Excel, HTML, and an interactive web interface format for customizable tables.
United States Education Dashboard
Developed to monitor the country's progress towards reaching the U.S. Department of Education's goal of having the highest proportion of college graduates in the world
Virginia Longitudinal Data Systems (VLDS)
e Virginia Longitudinal Data System (VLDS) provides state policy makers, authorized researchers and citizens with access to educational and workforce training data from multiple sources while protecting the privacy of Virginia students.
World Data on Education
From UNESCO and the International Bureau of Education. Profiles of national education systems, using the information included in the National Reports on the Development of Education, supplemented with data from other sources. It also contains detailed information on education systems of 161 countries worldwide, with a particular emphasis on curricula and curriculum development processes.
Weldon Cooper Center (at UVa) Enrollment stats
Several of the facets in the left column such as UNITS and PUBLICATIONS are very useful. In addition, this link, has school enrollment data for Virginia.

Statistical Databases

Proquest's Statistical Insight
Statistical information of all kinds, current and historical, US and international.

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

Restricted Data Sets

IES Restricted Data Sets

Requesting the Purchase of a Data Set

Request the purchase of a data set
Contact the Data Librarian to discuss that the UVA Library's possible purchase of a data set.
data@virginia.edu

Education Statistics, Data Sets, and Data Experts

Data Experts Can Help You!

Statistics & Data Sets Pertaining to Education

Statistical Databases

Restricted Data Sets

Requesting the Purchase of a Data Set

Contact Us

About the Library

Using the Library

Other Sites