Keyword = Virginia "Convention of 1851"
- The new version of Virgo does not use Boolean connectors, such as and, or between terms.
- Put a phrase within quotation marks
- Automatically does stemming of search terms (view, viewer, viewers, viewing)
- You can further refine your search results by using the limiters on the left of the search results screen
- Be sure you click on "Start Over" to perform a new search
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
Virgo's "Article Advanced Search" is a starting point for searching for online journal articles:
Title = Virginia "free blacks"
or search for a specific article with information you have:
Author = Vejnar
Title = education "colonial virginia"
JSTOR provides the full-text volumes of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue until 3 to 5 years before the present. Current volumes are not included. Advanced Search gives you more control over your search results.
America: History & Life is the major index for finding scholarly articles, book citations, book reviews, etc. published about American history since 1964.
Keyword = Virginia and frontier Historical Period from = 1800 to 1830
Virginia Historical Index, edited by Earl G. Swem. 2 volumes. Alderman Reference F221 .S93 Originally published in the 1930's and referred to as "Swem". A comprehensive index to the content of a number of important publications dealing with Virginia history: Calendar of Virginia State Papers, Henings Statutes at Large, Virginia Historical Register, Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, etc. Entries are arranged alphabetically, and are referenced in the same way: volume number, abbreviation of publication title, page number. For example an entry such as 15V35 is translated as Volume 15 of the publication titled Virginia Magazine of History & Biography ("V"), page 35. Several of the publications indexed by Swem are in Alderman Reference in the same area where Swem is shelved. You can use "Journal Finder" to check our online holdings for journals indexed in Swem.
Primary Source Books, Newspapers and Magazines
Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans, 1639-1800 provides searchable text of books published in America between 1639 and 1800. The collection can also be browsed by genre, subject, author, etc. Note: For ease of reading click on "Download Pages",then on "Download the Entire Document as Bitonal PDF". Seventy-five pages at a time are downloaded.
Search = Virginia and slavery
Early English Books Online (EEBO), 1475-1700 is a searchable collection of every significant work published in English from 1475 to 1700. Includes books, pamphlets, sermons, proclamations, almanacs and other sources on all subjects. A good source for 17th century materials published in England about the colonizing of Virginia.
Keyword = tobacco Subject = Virginia
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), 1701-1800 Searchable full text and page images for books, almanacs, broadsides, magazines, pamphlets, songs, and sermons printed between 1701-1800 in any language in the British Isles and North America, and in the English language throughout the rest of the world. Inlcudes 18th century publications about the history, geography, arts, religion, law, medicine, economy, etc. of Virginia.
Keyword = Virginia militia
Virginia Gazette In addition to these online issues for 1736-1780, we have microfilm for this title (call number Micfilm N-US Va-9 and N-US Va-90a). The newspaper is indexed online as well as in Virginia Gazette Index, 1736-1780 (Lester Cappon & Stella Duff): Alderman Reference and Alderman Microforms AI 21 .V5
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 Searchable full text collection of U.S. newspapers. Click on "Places of Publication" to focus your search on Virginia newspapers and to see the titles and dates of coverage. Click on PDF button for clearer reading image.
Search = railroads Dates & Eras = 1800-1830 Places of Publication = Virginia
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers Searchable full text and page images of several hundred U.S. newspapers from the 19th century. You can limit your search to newspapers of a particular state.
Virginia newspapers on microfilm Search by state, or by state and dates, to find what newspapers we have on microfilm.
American Periodicals Series Full text of over 1,000 magazines and journals published in America between 1740 and 1900.
Advanced Search: Virginia AND constitution Specific Date Range = 1829 to 1830
Virginia Colonial Records Project Survey Reports Between 1955 and the mid-1980's researchers in England examined public and private manuscript collections for documents about Virginia between its founding and the end of the Revolution. Many documents that were discovered were microfilmed, with the film being held by four Virginia institutions, including UVA. The 964 reel collection is in Alderman Microforms and the call number is Micfilm 7477. There is an online index.
Records of the Virginia Company of London The original volumes in this online collection were owned by Thomas Jefferson. We have the print editions in the Alderman stacks and Government Information Resources, but the volumes are very fragile. Includes minutes, instructions, memoranda, decisions about the colony, regulations for the settlers, advertisements, private correspondence between members of the Company and planters in Virginia, court cases, etc. Covers 1606 to the mid-1620's. Each of the four volumes has an index.
Ferrar Papers, 1590-1790 14 reels. Micfilm 5963 Film collection includes printed guides and there is an online guide. The Ferrar family was heavily involved with the Virginia Company and this collection began as an archive recording their business ventures. Certain documents in the Papers were included in the Virginia Colonial Records Project (above), but in the 1970's about 500 additional documents pertaining to Virginia were discovered and are in this collection of microfilm. Includes documents about relations between the colonists and the Indians, various business enterprises of the colonists, lists of women sent to the colony to become wives, lists of males sent, etc.
Jamestown Colony: A Political, Social, and Cultural History Edited by Frank Grizzard and D. Boyd Smith. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2007. Alderman Reference F234 .J3 G75 2007 Encyclopedia focusing on Jamestown and 17th century Virginia. Articles are arranged alphabetically and the volume is indexed.
Virtual Jamestown "is a digital research-teaching-learning project to explore the legacies of the Jamestown settlement and the 'Virginia experiment'." This is still a work in progress. Be sure to look at the Resources portion, which includes primary sources such as court records, labor contracts, letters, public records, and essays by historians currently working on Jamestown.
Documenting the American South Primary sources that document the cultural history of the American South from the Southern point of view. Includes diaries, autobiographies, travel accounts, titles about slavery, and regional literature. Emphasis is on the 19th century. Using the Subject and Geographic indexes can be helpful for locating materials about Virginia.
Valley of the Shadow Details life in Augusta County, Virginia and Franklin County, Pennsylvania during the Civil War and Reconstruction. Contains letters, diaries, newspapers, speeches, census records, church records, etc.
American Civil War: Letters & Diaries Letters, diaries and memoirs from the American Civil War. The Browse function allows you to see entries by place written or about a location, and the Advanced Search allows you to search by geographical location of where a document was written.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries Searchable full text database of American and Canadian women's letters and diaries written from the Colonial period through 1950. Geographical location browsing and searching are available.
Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915: Plantation Records, Part 1 Consists of two components: records of
ante-bellum southern plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, and plantation records from Emancipation to the Great Migration. The primary source documents cover business and day-to-day labor operations, as well as the roles of women, racial attitudes, slave-master relations, and social and cultural life on the plantations. Virginia plantations are included.
Gary Treadway, Librarian for Politics and History
Alderman Library 434-924-4982
Most databases are available only when you're connected to the UVa network. For off Grounds use you'll need a connection through the EZ Proxy or UVaAnywhere. More information.