This is the "HIUS-2002 American History Since 1865" page of the "HIUS-2002 American History Since 1865: The Warren Court" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIUS-2002 American History Since 1865: The Warren Court  

Last Updated: Mar 8, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/warren Print Guide RSS Updates
HIUS-2002 American History Since 1865 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Searching Virgo


                                                          Virgo Search Screen

                                                     Catalog Only = Charlottesville desegregation

                                                    

  • Virgo does not use Boolean connectors, such as and, or between terms.
  • Put a phrase within quotation marks
  • Automatically does stemming of search terms (view, viewer, viewers, viewing)
  • You can further refine search results by using the limiters on the left of the search results screen. For example, clicking on "Special Collections" under "Library" will narrow your results to materials held in Special Collections.
  • Be sure you click on "Start Over" to perform a new search
 

Finding Scholarly Articles

 A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ .  Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/off-grounds-access/

 

America History and Life Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.

                                                       Search:  church* AND "civil rights movement"

                                       
JSTOR  Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present. 
                                        Advanced Search:  "Dawes Act" AND famil*      Item Type = article
                                                                   
Disciplines:  American Indian Studies; History

                                                 

Academic Search Complete is a general database of articles from scholarly journals and some magazines and newspapers. Includes some speeches and interviews.  Years of coverage vary according to title, but some publications are covered back to the late 19th century.

 

Historical Newspapers & Magazines

A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ .  Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/off-grounds-access/

The Library has a number of newspapers, including the Daily Progress and Charlottesville-Albemarle Tribune, on microfilm.  You can search for them here.


Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (1900-1990) print volumes are on the tall wall shelves to the left when you enter Alderman Reference.  Each volume covers a particular time period and is arranged alphabetically by subject.  Use to find articles in popular magazines such as Newsweek, Life, U.S. News & World Report, etc. since many of these are not covered by online databases for the time period you are working in.

Use the dark blue Journal Finder link on the Virgo search screen to determine our online access and search individual journal titles such as Time, New Republic, Nation, and National Review, etc.


ProQuest Historical Newspapers  Searchable backfiles of the New York Times , Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune , Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, and Chicago Defender.

                         Washington Post Advanced Search:  "massive resistance" AND Byrd
                                                                              
Date Range =
1954-1959

                         Chicago Defender Advanced Search:  "interracial marriage" OR "mixed marriage"
                                                                               
Date Range = 1967-1967


Local History File Files of local newspaper clippings, pamphlets, articles, etc. from the period 1940-1990.  The files are in Alderman Reference, arranged alphabetically by subject in folders. The material has to be used in the library and cannot be checked out.  Some relevant subjects include Blacks-Education and Desegregation. Also see the UVA History File, which is arranged in a similar manner.


Academic Search Complete is a general database of articles from scholarly journals and some magazines and newspapers. Includes some speeches and interviews.  Years of coverage vary according to title, but some publications are covered back to the late 19th century.

                                  
Search:  "African American*" AND "television program*"
                                               
Published Date =
1960-1970
                                  

Periodicals Archive Online   Search the full text of nearly 400 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990s.  Periodicals Index Online Provides citations to articles and book reviews in over 4000 international humanities and social sciences journals.
                                                    Article Search:   keywords = "Flood v. Kuhn"

 

Additional Resources

U.S. History in Context  An excellent starting point to get an overview of a topic.  Consists of historical encyclopedia articles, journal articles, and some primary source materials.

                                                    Search:  Loving v. Virginia

iPOLL contains nearly a half-million questions from surveys conducted since 1935 by academic, commercial, and media survey organizations, including CNN, Gallup, AP, the Wall Street Journal, and many others.

                                     Search:  schools and segregation    Date = 1954-1956


William Elwood Civil Rights Lawyers Project
86 interviews with prominent civil rights lawyers and others involved in the civil rights struggle.  Topics range from discussions of legal strategy to personal accounts of injustices suffered under Jim Crow laws.


American History in Video  Over 5000 films, commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentaries showing historical events and their presentation over time.

                                    Advanced Search:   Transcript and notes = interracial and marriage

Subject Librarian

Gary Treadway, Librarian for Politics and History
Contact Info
Alderman Library 434-924-4982
Send Email
 

Off-Grounds Access

Most databases are available only when you're connected to the UVa network. For off Grounds use you'll need a connection through the proxy server or UVaAnywhere. More information.


UVa Library     |     UVa Library MOBILE    |    Off Grounds Access     |     ITC Help Desk     |     Ask a Librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip