Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENEC 3600: Propriety and Scandal

Cynthia Wall · 2015

Finding library materials related to the 18th c. novel

VIRGO, the U.Va. Library’s primary search tool, contains catalog records for physical resources like books, manuscripts, microforms, and maps, as well as links to online articles from our rich array of subscription journals.  You can search catalog materials and articles together, or view those results separately, using the "facets" provided to limit your results by author, format, publication period, and more.  

Sample searches:    

  • Search for samuel richardson, then select Special Collections from the Library facet at the left, to see what rare materials we own relating to this author.
  • Search for tom jones, then select video from the Format facet to find film adaptations of the novel.
  • Search for dance 18th century, then select England from the Geographic Location facet

Finding scholarly journal articles

The MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB) is the most comprehensive resource for finding scholarly articles (as well as books and dissertations) about literature in all languages.  It indexes the broadest range of literary sources (including over 4,000 journals), but it is not a full-text resource, meaning that you can only search the description of an article, rather than the text of the article.  To get the full text of an article, click on “Find article @ UVa Libraries”, or look up the journal title in VIRGO. (See also the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature [ABELL], which features similar content, limited to English literature only but also including book reviews.)

JSTOR contains back issues (usually five years old or older) of significant scholarly journals in many subjects, including language and literature. JSTOR is not as comprehensive as the MLAIB, but it offers the advantages of full-text searching and instant access to PDFs.

Finding full-text works from the 18th c.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) contains searchable page images of virtually every text published during the 18th c. (mostly British, although some American works are included).  Not just limited to literary works, ECCO contains texts about all subjects -- art, architecture, travel, religion, music, etc. -- making it a great resource for finding primary materials related to your presentation topic. Rough keyword searching is available.

Literature Online (LION) contains a surprisingly complete collection of full-text poetry, prose, and drama up through the early 20th century. You can search within a particular author or title, or limit by date, gender, ethnicity, or literary movement.  For example, you can search for the word "ghost" in all of 18th-century fiction, or search for all texts by British women authors that mention castles.  All of the authors on your syllabus have searchable texts available in LION.

Finding newspapers and periodicals from the 18th c.

The library has vast collections of newspapers and periodicals, historical and current, in print, on microfilm, and online.  Listed below are just two of the online resources for finding historical newspapers and periodicals; consult the newspapers guide for more information. 


The Times Digital Archive contains full text of the London Times from 1785-1985, including articles, advertisements, illustrations, and photographs.

The Burney Collection Newspapers are a large collection of full-text British newspapers from the 17th and 18th century.

Finding resources on related topics (art, architecture, music, etc.)

ARTstor contains a wide variety of images related to art, architecture, fashion, and design.  You might search for images of Gothic castles, or of early 18th c. English clothing.

Music Online and Naxos Music Library will allow you to search for music from the 18th century, and listen to it online.

IIPA: International Index to the Performing Arts indexes articles from scholarly and trade periodicals about the performing arts.  If you're looking for articles about drama, dance or film, this is a good resource.

Finally, the subject specialists in the U.Va. Libraries maintain subject guides for each discipline taught here, including History, Religious Studies, Drama and Dance, Architecture, Music, and Media Studies.  Use them!