Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Africa Commons: History and Culture This link opens in a new window
New
An online resource to help digitize, disseminate, and discover African cultural materials.
African Books Collective Ebooks This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): ABC
Click Guest Access in order to read titles.
ABC is an African-owned, worldwide marketing and distribution outlet for books from Africa and includes a wide-range of subjects.
ArtPrice This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): Artprice.com
The databases cover 700,000+ artists and public sales from 6,300 worldwide auction houses since 1962.
Babel Scores This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): BableScores
BabelScores is a digital library of musical scores entirely devoted to contemporary music and has over 210.000 music pages.
Bloomsbury Cultural History This link opens in a new window
New
The Cultural Histories Series is a fully cross-searchable digital resource, featuring a wide range of subjects throughout history. Each subject is looked at in Antiquity, the Medieval Age, the Renaissance, the Enlightenment, the Age of Empire and the Modern Age. Thematic coverage is consistent across all periods so that users can either gain a broad overview of a period or follow a theme through the ages.
Access to the 2022-2023 collections.
Bloomsbury Music & Sound This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): Music and Sound
This growing digital hub provides access to exclusive reference content, cutting edge scholarship, and a variety of learning resources across a range of subject areas in music and sound studies. The hub currently offers two collections: Bloomsbury Popular Music and Sound Studies.
Trial
The Database of Latin Dictionaries consists of 25 dictionaries. Every year at least one dictionary is added and various improvements are made to the existing ones.
History Commons: British Society, 1939-1951 This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): British Society, 1939-1951
Sourced from the National Archives (UK) and the History of Advertising Trust, British Society, 1939-1951 includes previously undigitized files from 11 government departments, with associated adverts and propaganda.
History Commons: Cold War Eastern Europe This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): History Commons
Sourced entirely from the National Archives (UK), Cold War Eastern Europe provides access to over 16,000 files from the political departments of the U.K. Foreign Office responsible for reporting on the Soviet Union and the former communist states of Eastern Europe.
New
Alternate Name(s): History Commons
Spanning four key twentieth-century conflicts, with a spotlight on the Second World War, Secret Files from World Wars to Cold War provides access to British government secret intelligence and foreign policy files from 1873 to 1953.
History Commons: Weimar and Nazi Germany This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): History Commons
Part of History Commons, this module covers Germany from 1918 to 1939. It includes nearly 600,000 pages of declassified, exclusive, previously undigitized files sent to the UK Foreign Office from embassies, covert contacts, and other sources.
New
Alternate Name(s): GALE Primary Sources: Archives Unbound
Part of GALE Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the collection documents forty years of self-regulation and censorship in the motion picture industry, contains detailed case files for nearly twenty thousand film projects that were submitted to the Production Code staff for consideration.
New
Produced by the Shanghai Library, this database covers approximately 280,000 articles published in 302 Chinese-language periodicals between 1833 and 1911 in China. The collection includes almost all periodicals published during critical periods later known as the Opium Wars, Westernization Movement, Reform Movement of 1898 and Revolution of 1911. It contains the Women's Periodicals that advocated women's liberation and mental enlightenment, the Four Major Late Qing Dynasty Novel Journals as emerged during the great flourishing period of novels of the late Qing Dynasty, the Vernacular Chinese Periodicals founded to explore the people's mind and spread new knowledge, and the Science and Technology Periodicals which introduced new technologies and spread scientific knowledge.
Life at Sea This link opens in a new window
New
Bringing together unique primary sources drawn from world-class maritime archives and heritage collections Life at Sea takes a sociocultural approach, focusing on the individual experiences and personal narratives of seafarers. Through a broad range of sources, from journals and memoirs to ships’ logs and court records, the lives of ordinary seamen, merchants, whalers and pirates can be explored.
Lloyd's List This link opens in a new window
New
This free resource is probably the oldest English newspaper still published today. LLyod's List details ship movements, marine casualties, and maritime news.
North American City Reports This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): Policy Commons: North American City Reports
This database preserves the full text of surveys, budgets, statistical records, case studies, planning documents, training manuals, policy guidelines, reports, and news from the five hundred largest cities in North America. It also includes select materials from hundreds of related agencies and non-governmental organizations. With more than 150,000 documents, it provides a new and typically unmined source for observing policy in action.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
New
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides to a variety of subjects. UVa subscribes to all subjects.
Projectr This link opens in a new window
New
Projectr film platform functions as both a traditional streaming platform and one of many forward-thinking outlets for “virtual cinema.”
R.Politik This link opens in a new window
New
The R.Politik Bulletin provides exclusive insight into Russian politics with analysis of both recent developments and long-term trends. Much of the writing draws heavily on sources in Moscow. Each edition is about 5,000 words and divided into three sections: Events (the latest political decisions), Actors (who is up and who is down), and Processes (emerging political and economic patterns).
Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism This link opens in a new window
New
Contains over 2,000 articles from experts in the field, supported by over 130 images. The content is fully cross-referenced, allowing for greater discoverability between fields, and covers eight key subject areas: Literature, Architecture, Visual Arts, Music, Dance, Theatre, Film, and Intellectual Currents. Researchers can browse by subject, movement, or place in order to discover connections between key topics and fields.
SAGE Skills: Student Success This link opens in a new window
New
SAGE Skills: Student Success is an interactive digital resource that empowers students to learn the practical academic and personal skills needed to thrive during their time in higher education and beyond.
Science of Synthesis This link opens in a new window
New
The database includes the largest collection of evaluated organic synthetic methods.
• Access to more than 20,000 reliable synthetic methods
• Evaluated by world-renowned experts
• Author-written reviews of organic transformations
• Easy to navigate by product class or reaction type
South Asia Archive This link opens in a new window
New
This database consists of books, journals, and documents from India, Pakistan, Burma, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh. Documents are in a mix of English and vernacular languages, with fifteen percent of the archive’s content comprising material written primarily in Bengali, and also including some content in Sanskrit. The archive is incredibly diverse in its reach, with materials of interest to those studying across all main areas of the humanities and social sciences.
New
Showcasing the British Film Institute’s Victorian Film Collection and the Mitchell and Kenyon Collection, Victorians on Film provides a glimpse into the lives of the late Victorians and Edwardians captured by some of Britain’s earliest film pioneers and innovators.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...