Skip to Main Content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

The Library provides access to these e-resources for current UVA students, faculty, and staff, but it is subject to licenses and terms of their contracts. Among other prohibitions, systematic/excessive downloading can result in suspension of access for the entire campus. We appreciate your diligence. 

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
1980s Culture and Society This link opens in a new window
New
1980s Culture and Society is an eclectic and multi-faceted resource compiled from archival collections housed across the United States, United Kingdom, Australia, and Canada. Capturing diverse perspectives, grassroots materials produced by left-wing organizations and under-represented groups are presented alongside government records and mainstream media to showcase the key social, cultural, and political concerns of the decade.
A&AePortal This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Art & Architecture ePortal
The A&AePortal is an authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. Many out-of-print titles, key backlist, and recent releases from the world’s finest academic and museum publishers are available as eBooks on this site. The site also allows for discovering content by image.
Amnesty International Archives This link opens in a new window
New
Explore the growth of the human rights movement during the second half of the twentieth century through the International Secretariat records of Amnesty International. The material within this collection is vital for studying the history of key political events, global social change and the development of a global movement for human rights covering themes including state violence, political prisoners, minority rights and more.
Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary This link opens in a new window
New
The Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary is a six-volume state-of-the-art dictionary of the Bible offering the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and topics.
Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature This link opens in a new window
New
Part of Brepolis Latin Complete, the Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature (ACLL) is a full-text database of the corpus of Latin literature produced in Celtic-speaking Europe, together with the Latin works of the Continental ‘perigrini’, from the period 400-1200 A.D.
Aristoteles Latinus Database This link opens in a new window
New
Part of Brepolis Latin Complete, the Aristoteles Latinus Database (ALD) contains those texts that have been critically edited in the printed Aristoteles Latinus series. The database also contains Latin translations of Aristotle’s works published outside the Aristoles Latinus series, with the translations of Greek commentaries on Aristotle and with other texts associated with the Corpus Aristotelicum.
ArtPrice This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Artprice.com
The databases cover 700,000+ artists and public sales from 6,300 worldwide auction houses since 1962.
Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale This link opens in a new window
New
The Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale (BCM) is a comprehensive, current bibliography of monographs dedicated to the Middle Ages.

The BCM is fully integrated with the International Medieval Bibliography and the International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance.
Together, they make up the cluster Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies.
Bloomsbury Music & Sound This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Music and Sound
This growing digital hub provides access to exclusive reference content, cutting edge scholarship, and a variety of learning resources across a range of subject areas in music and sound studies. The hub currently offers two collections: Bloomsbury Popular Music and Sound Studies.
Brepolis Latin Complete This link opens in a new window
New
The cluster Brepolis Latin Complete gathers together the Library of Latin Texts, the Monumenta Germaniae Historica, the Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature, the Aristoteles Latinus Database, and the Database of Latin Dictionaries. The Cross Database Searchtool allows the user to search these databases simultaneously.
Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism Online This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Encyclopedia of Hinduism Online
Brill’s Encyclopedia of Hinduism presents the latest research on all the main aspects of the Hindu traditions. Its 438 essays are original work written by the world’s foremost scholars on Hinduism.
New
Supplied by the British Film Institute and Imperial War Museums, British Newsreels, 1911-1930: Culture and Society on Film showcases a large collection of newsreels produced by the Topical Film Company and provides a glimpse into the early twentieth century - from everyday interests, such as sport and fashion, to coverage of key events, such as the First World War, the Suffragette Movement, and the establishment of the Irish Free State.
Chosun Ilbo Archive- Trial Access until May 7 This link opens in a new window
Trial
Chosun ilbo is the Korean language daily newspaper in South Korea. This archive covers the first publication in 1920 to the present day of Chosun ilbo.
Consensus This link opens in a new window
New
Consensus is an academic search engine, powered by AI, but grounded in scientific research. They use language models (LLMs) and purpose-built search technology (Vector search) to surface the most relevant papers.
Must create a free account using your UVa email address.
New
Alternate Name(s) History of Disabilities
History of Disabilities: Disabilities in Society, Seventeenth to Twentieth Century provides historical evidence demonstrating how society has interacted with and regarded individuals considered to have disabilities.
Dong-A Ilbo Archive- Trial Access until May 7 This link opens in a new window
Trial
Full-image reproductions of Tonga Ilbo = Donga daily (1920-current) in pdf format. This database is searchable by keywords, journalist/writer names, and issue date and so on. Issues after 1990 are full text searchable.
New
Alternate Name(s) GALE Primary Sources: Archives Unbound
Part of GALE Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the collection documents forty years of self-regulation and censorship in the motion picture industry, contains detailed case files for nearly twenty thousand film projects that were submitted to the Production Code staff for consideration.
Trial
Full text database of Korean scholarly journal articles, university publications, and research papers published by over 1,200 research institutions in Korea.
New
Produced by the Shanghai Library, this database covers approximately 280,000 articles published in 302 Chinese-language periodicals between 1833 and 1911 in China. The collection includes almost all periodicals published during critical periods later known as the Opium Wars, Westernization Movement, Reform Movement of 1898 and Revolution of 1911. It contains the Women's Periodicals that advocated women's liberation and mental enlightenment, the Four Major Late Qing Dynasty Novel Journals as emerged during the great flourishing period of novels of the late Qing Dynasty, the Vernacular Chinese Periodicals founded to explore the people's mind and spread new knowledge, and the Science and Technology Periodicals which introduced new technologies and spread scientific knowledge.
Le Monde- Trial Access This link opens in a new window
Trial
Le Monde is a daily afternoon newspaper that brings the latest coverage from France, Europe, and all around the world, unique perspectives and in-depth analysis.
Lloyd's List This link opens in a new window
New
This free resource is probably the oldest English newspaper still published today. LLyod's List details ship movements, marine casualties, and maritime news.
Monumenta Germaniae Historica This link opens in a new window
New
Part of Brepolis Latin Complete, with more than 300 medieval historical texts, covering the widest possible range of historical documents, divided into five major Series (Scriptores, Leges, Diplomata, Epistolae and Antiquitates) and into 33 Subseries, the Monumenta not only continues its editorial programme but it has established for all Western scholarship a standard for critical editions.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
New
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides to a variety of subjects. UVa subscribes to all subjects.
Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957 This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Picture Post, Gale Primary Sources
The Picture Post Historical Archive comprises the complete run of the Picture Post from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957—all digitized from originals.
New
Power to the People: Counterculture, Social Movements, and the Alternative Press showcases a range of ideas, initiatives, and social movements devoted to people-powered politics and organizing from the nineteenth through twenty-first centuries. The archive paints a broad picture of the counterculture and many disparate organizations that represent this moment in modern Western history. Although the archive concentrates mainly on the United States and the United Kingdom, it also covers events and topics from around the globe.
Projectr This link opens in a new window
New
Projectr presents a curated collection of acclaimed indie films, archival restorations, and award-winning documentaries from around the world.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
New
Scopus is an abstract and citation database that indexes content from more than 25,000 active titles and 7,000 publishers—all rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board.
New
Alternate Name(s) Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires seeks to enlarge the scope and enhance the significance of the study of empire by creating a 75,000-page database and archive of documents that views the history of modern empires through women’s eyes.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...