Global Development Studies

Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.

Ancestry Library Edition is an academic version of ancestry.com. There are images of original documents and includes narratives, oral histories, indexes and abstracts to other resources. Over 30,000 Ancestry.com record collections and 11 billion records available to search. Record collections span the 1500s–2000s.

Coverage: 1971 - present
Lists journal articles and book chapters on all subjects related to Asia. Most articles are in western languages. Includes book reviews.

Formerly known as the Bibliography of Native North Americans.
Lists articles, books and other publications about the native peoples of North America published from the sixteenth century to the present. Lists all titles from the Ethnographic Bibliography of North America. Includes book reviews.

Full text (PDF) of most US dissertations from 1997 on, many earlier works and some from outside the US plus some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on from US universities and some works from Europe and Asia from 1637 on. Abstracts included after July, 1980.

See also Finding Dissertations

Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange explores the history of a number of key commodities that changed the world. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged, and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption, and social practices. The resource includes a wide range of manuscript, printed, and visual primary-source materials as well as other key features to support research and teaching. Use the fully searchable interactive chronology to discover fascinating facts and world events, explore commodity prices across time and space using our unique data visualisation and view visual images in bespoke galleries and exhibitions.

Find articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada. For these see America: History & Life.

Search for books and articles in periodicals about Islam and the Muslim world. Also includes reviews.

Online catalog of books and other materials in thousands of libraries in North America and some other countries.

American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger, American Israelite, Atlanta Daily World, Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Guardian and The Observer, Jewish Advocate, Jewish Exponent, Le Monde, Los Angeles Times, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times with Index, New York Tribune / Herald Tribune, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier, Times of India, Washington Post

A subset of the larger ProQuest Historical Newspapers, this is a collection of several prominent black newspapers including the Atlanta Daily World, Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, and Pittsburgh Courier.

Coverage: 1690-1991
Searchable full text collection of US newspapers. For additional titles see 19th Century U.S. Newspapers.

Indigenous Newspapers in North America aims to present a diverse and robust collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016.

Artstor is now on JSTOR.
Images of world art from all periods, including paintings, drawings, prints, historic photographs, architecture and design.

Find articles and book reviews in architecture, urban design, historic preservation, and urban planning in journals from many countries. Coverage begins in the 1930s, but some journals are indexed back to the the 1860s. Many citations include abstracts.

Comprehensive encyclopedia of the visual arts of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific with links to tens of thousands of images.

Art & Architecture Source is a full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.

A large collection of basic information on many subjects drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press.

Over 40 databases of journal articles, books, and other documents in many subject areas. Menu allows searching multiple databases at the same time