Jewish Studies Research Guide

The Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception (EBR) is a comprehensive reference work devoted to the Bible and its reception. With 38 editors and nearly 4,000 authors working in over 55 countries, EBR is truly an international enterprise. Since the publication of its first two volumes in 2009, EBR has continued to break new ground and is an indispensable reference work not only for theology and religious studies, but also for the humanities, the arts, cultural studies, and the social sciences. As its foundation, the encyclopedia contains the most up-to-date information on the origins and development of the Bible in the canons of Judaism and Christianity. It then documents the history of biblical interpretation and reception, not only in Christianity and Judaism, but also in Islam and other non-Western religious traditions and movements.

A selective bibliography of scholarly articles in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages in all fields of Jewish studies and the study of Israel.

Lists articles on all aspects of religious studies from journals in many disciplines. Includes citations to book chapters and to book reviews. ATLASerials adds the full text of many journals.

The Online Responsa Project encompasses the best of the Jewish sources representing a period of over three thousand years of heritage and tradition. The database includes the Bible and its principal commentaries, the Talmud Bavli and Talmud Yerushalmi with commentaries, Midrash, Zohar, Halachic Law (Rambam, Shulchan Aruch with commentaries), a large Responsa collection of questions and answers ('Shut' in Hebrew), the Talmudic Encyclopedia, etc. The overall volume of the online project, is reaching to 200 million words. The ‘Shut’ includes 100,000 Halachic laws over a period of thousand years, from all over the world. Extensive biographical data on the authors of Responsa texts have been added as well. Our access is limited to 5 concurrent users. Please click "Browse" to search the database.

Provides digital access to major Jewish religious texts. Its digital programing allows for unique visualizations and interfaces that demonstrate, among other things, the interconnections between texts.

Provided by Jewish Virtual Library.

Click to view a short video about Hebrew manuscripts and their preservation by the National Library of Israel.

Free registration is required. This site preserves images of all the Genizah fragments accompanied by extensive information: Identifications, catalog records, bibliographic data, transcriptions, translations etc.

The vision of the International Collection of Digitized Hebrew Manuscripts is to allow readers across the globe to access the complete corpus of existing Hebrew manuscripts. Using state-of-the-art technology, the International Collection will preserve the digital images of the manuscripts for the future, and will enable readers and scholars to use the most innovative research and discovery tools.