Skip to main content

French Studies

Provides annotated links to scholarly resources of particular interest to students & faculty researching at U.Va.

       Information about Literary Theory, Terms, Criticism, Style & Quotations

Print format

Web resources

1. Plots Databases:
 
2. Literary Theory Databases
 
  • Johns Hopkins guide to literary theory & criticism
    A full-text searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats related persons and fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography
  • Lexique des termes littéraires
    Le lexique des termes littéraires regroupe des définitions de notions utiles dans le cadre des études littéraires et du français. Toutes les définitions sont reliées entre elles par des liens hypertextes. Des corrélats renvoient également d-une notion à l-utre. Dans cette version: 540 définitions, 1500 renvois hypertexte et 1000 corrélats environ sont proposés. Une double entrée, alphabétique et thématique permet d-accéder aux définitions
 
  • Dictionnaire International des Termes Littéraires
    The objets of the DITL are to: 1) Survey the terms actually used in international criticism --through a lexicographical watch; the constitution of a thesaurus. There are about 13 000 lemmata in the thesaurus corresponding to almost 9 500 correlated terms; about 3 500 articles are completed or in progress (stats. in June, 2009); 2) Clarify such terms --through venues, committees, seminars, publications; 3) Define such terms--in a reference dictionary, specific publications
 
3. Associations, Directories & Prizes
 
  • Prix Litteraires.net
    Ce site a pour objectif de constituer une base de données des principaux prix littéraires afin de permettre un accès rapide aux oeuvres récompensées. L-autre ambition est de présenter d-autres prix littéraires moins connus mais grâce auxquels il est souvent possible de découvrir des oeuvres de qualité mais qui n-ont pas eu la chance de bénéficier d-une grande couverture médiatique
 

       Literary Theory, Terms, Criticism, Style & Quotations: Print format

1. Literary Terms, Criticism & Style:

 
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
 
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    

2. Literary Theory:

    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    

3. Quotations:

    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
Search Virgo for more material using the subject: