It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
This Guide is in support of the research and teaching needs of the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at U.Va.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) can borrow materials from libraries worldwide for UVA faculty, students and staff. Materials you may request include articles, books, dissertations, government documents, technical reports, patents and newspapers on microform. In some cases videos and sound recordings are also available.
First-time users, please visit our sign in page to set up an account. After setting up your account, you will be able to request and track the process of all your Interlibrary Services requests.
Logon to your ILS account and choose the appropriate Request Type from the menu on the left side of the page. Fill in as much information as you have available to ensure we borrow the correct item.
Requests are usually filled in 3-10 working days.
Alternatively, if you believe an item should be purchased for our collection, you can make a purchase request and it will be reviewed by appropriate staff.
This database combines full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more. It fully incorporates ProQuest Natural Science Collection and ProQuest Technology Collection.
Includes Science Citation Index (1970-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present). Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information. Citations include number of times the article has been cited. Classic Web of ScienceWhile the New Web of Science (linked above) offers features which improve searches, you may prefer the Classic Web of Science if you are missing some functionality on the new platform.
Use the Journal Citation Reports (JCR) to find impact factors for journals in science, social sciences, and technology.
Search Meeting Papers and Conference Proceedings (General Sources)
News and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
Company and business information from Dow Jones; articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries; use "Search" to find older articles. Access, provided through VIVA Consortium, is limited to 70 concurrent users.
Full text of major American newspapers and some foreigh newspapers plus selected atories from other US regional newspapers. Also includes full-text of transcripts for television and radio network news broadcasts.
Information from thousands of foreign media sources: speeches, radio, television, newspapers, periodicals, and books. Includes unclassified military, political, environmental, sociological, scientific and technical data. All translated into English.