Subject Guide
Virginia History
- American Women from the Library of CongressA guide to research resources at the Library of Congress with helpful essays listing bibliographies and other finding aids that may also be found at UVA Library.
- Primary Sources about WomenGuide for finding primary sources at UVA Libraries. Includes: diaries and letters; history; archives; periodicals; digital collections; microfilm.
- Women's History Sources in the Archives at the Library of VirginiaInformation on researching primary sources at the Library of Virginia relating to women and the World Wars, women and the census, women and church records, women and the law, personal papers and more.
American History
- Black Women’s Suffrage This link opens in a new windowExplores linkages between women’s suffrage and other social causes of the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries (anti-slavery, anti-lynching, education reform, and civil rights) as well as racism within the Suffrage Movement.
- Discovering American Women's History OnlineAccess to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. Collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
- Everyday Life and Women in America, c1800-1920 This link opens in a new windowEveryday Life & Women in America c.1800-1920 showcases unique primary source material for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new windowFull text database of American and Canadian women's letters and diaries from the Colonial period through 1950.
- Women and Social Movements This link opens in a new windowOrganized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Includes 108 document projects, archives with almost 4,300 documents and 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents.