Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in the areas of anthropology, Asian studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. A
Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, which can be searched together or separately. Allows users to limit search result to reviews.
Use the Journal Citation Reports (JCR) to find impact factors for journals in science, social sciences, and technology.
Features book reviews among its citations of books, journal articles, critical editions, essays, and dissertations published worldwide (1920+). Online searches may be limited to reviews only.Also available in print: Z2011 .M69 (Ald Ref)
Citations for book reviews available from this American Theological Association database indexing 650 journals on Biblical studies, world religious history, church history, and related topics (1949+). (UVa Only)
Search then click on the Reviews tab. Primarily literature in English, but also much on world literatature.
Book Review Resources in Print
General Book Review Resources
Book Review Index.Z1219 .B788 (Ald RefIndx/Clem Ref) Citations for book reviews from 400 general-interest and scholarlyjournals (1965+).Excellent standard resource, good for reviews of titles primarily in the fields of general fiction, nonfiction, humanities, social sciences, and juvenile literature.
Readers Guide to Periodical Literature. AI3 .R48 (Ald RefIndx/Clem IndxTbl) Book reviews available from this print source under author reviewed (1900-1904 only); later volumes (1905-1990) list reviews in a separate section following the main index.Journals indexed in this source include a broad spectrum of popular, non-technical, and general-interest titles. (See citation for online version above.)
London] Times Index. [1914+] AI21 .T46 (Ald Micforms) Detailed alphabetical index referring to date, page, and column, including book reviews, which are listed both under author and "book reviews."
Annual Index to the [London] Times. [1906-1913]AI21 .T44 (Ald Stacks)
Internationale Bibliographie der Rezensionen Wissenschaftlicher Literatur/ International Bibliography of Book Reviews of Scholarly Literature/ Bibliographie Internationale des Recensions de la Litt�rature Savante (IBR) .AI9 .I5 (Ald Ref Classroom) International source for book reviews in more than 10,000 journals covering a very broad range of topics.Annually published in two half-year parts. Each part contains five sections: subject, keyword, reviewed works, reviewers, and periodicals cited. Coverage from 1971. A search in this source (print version) involves the use of at least three indexes to locate all publication data for a specific review. Very inclusive scope of this resource, however, and its international coverage in many foreign languages, make it useful. Also available electronically (1985-1998): Stand-alone CD-ROM(Ald Ref Desk)
Humanities Book Reviews
Arts & Humanities Citation Index.Z5931 .A78 (Ald Ref/Ald Stacks) Book reviews for materials in arts and humanities, indexed by author/title of book reviewed as cited reference.Coverage from 1976-1979 in Ald Ref, with volumes for 1980-1992 in Ald Stacks.(See citation for online version above.)
Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals, 1802-1974.Z6265 .C651982 (Ald RefIndx) Index to reviews in 150 journals covering philosophy, classics, folklore, linguistics, music, and literature, mostly in English.Coverage for virtually the entire 19th century to 1974.
Humanities Index.AI3 .H8 (Ald RefIndx/Clem IndxTbl) Reviews for books in the fields of archaeology, classics, area studies, folklore, history, language and literature, performing arts, philosophy, and religion, with coverage from 1974-1990.Book reviews are found at the end of each volume, in a separate section.Entries are under author of the book reviewed.
An Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities. Z1035 .A1I63 (Ald RefIndx) Index to reviews in over 400 scholarly journals devoted primarily to literature, as well as to philosophy, the arts, travel, and biography.Coverage from 1961-1990.
Social Science Book Reviews
Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886-1974.Z1035 .A1C6 (Ald RefIndx) About one million reviews from 459 journals in history, political science, and sociology.Nearly 90 years of coverage to 1974.
Social Sciences Index. AI3 .S6 (Ald RefIndx/Clem IndxTbl) Reviews for books in the fields of anthropology, area studies, medicine, economics, geography, international relations, law, minority studies, public administration, political science, psychiatry and psychology, public welfare, sociology, and urban studies.Coverage from 1974-1990.Book reviews are found at the end of each volume, in a separate section.Entries are under author of the book reviewed.
Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
Find articles, reports, and other materials on social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.
Combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard's Tozzer Library and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute.