Biographies

A large collection of basic information on many subjects drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press.

A database and bibliography of 14,000 short biographies of historical women printed in 1270 English-language books, primarily 1830-1940. Explore trends in versions of women's lives and the social networks formed by biographical collections.

Explore the Scholars' Lab Collective Biographies of Women 

Long essays on almost 20,000 figures from US history. DAB is included in History Resource Center.

Lives of British persons from the earliest times to the end of the 20th century.

Comprehensive encyclopedia of the visual arts of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific with links to tens of thousands of images.

Biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations; and a collection of documents including education related legislation, international treaties and testing methods. Coverage is international.

The Third Edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam is an entirely new and still unfinished work. It aims to provide short, up-to-date and accessible articles on many topics which are either not covered in EI2, or for which the EI2 articles are outdated. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world. EI3 does not replace EI2, which is more detailed and still authoritative; rather, the two should be used together.

Comprehensive encyclopedia with over 21,000 entries on all aspects of Jewish life, culture, history, and religion.

Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

Comprehensive music encyclopedia, with coverage of music history, theory and practice, musical terminology, and biographies. Includes works lists, musical examples, and link to online recordings.