Library homepage is http://www.lib.virginia.edu/
Keyword = missionary and diar$ [$ is the truncation symbol that will search variations of a word in your search]
There are also some Subject searches that will be helpful [Click 'Begins with' and the 'Subject' button]:
British foreign countries history
Great Britain colonies [note the various subdivisions]:
Great Britain colonies emigration and immigration
Great Britain colonies history 19th century
Great Britain colonies race relations
India history British occupation
Travelers Great Britain
A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ . Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/off-grounds-access/
Historical Abstracts Find articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada. For these see America: History & Life.
Search: "British immigration" AND India
Limit search to a specific time period- Search: India AND "British rule"
Historical Period from 1850 CE to 1930 CE
[filter results by clicking on imperialism or colonies]
Academic Search Complete Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers on many topics. Also covers some speeches and interviews. The interface is almost identical to Historical Abstracts, above.
Search: India AND "British raj" AND medicine [filter results by clicking on imperialism or colonies]
JSTOR Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
Advanced Search: "British Guiana" AND Britain AND law
Type = Article Disciplines = History; Law
A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ . Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/off-grounds-access/
Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985 Search the full text of The Times (London) including articles, advertisements, and picture captions. See an image of either just the article or the full page.
Search: (missionary or missionaries) and Africa By date = 1880-1920
Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers Searchable full text and page images of 48 national and regional British newspapers from the 19th century.
Advanced Search: Keyword = Guiana Publication date = Between 1850 and 1900 By publication section: Art & Sport, News, People
Periodicals Archive Online Search the full text of nearly 400 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to 2000.
Article Search: keywords = "the west" article title keyword = China years of publication = 1870 to 1920
Periodicals Index Online Search for articles and book reviews in over 4000 international humanities and social sciences journals.
Article Search: keywords = "British India" and medicine
A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ . Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/off-grounds-access/
Diary Research: A Guide to Selected Library and Web Resources A guide to finding our Library's numerous print and online diary sources. Click on the tab "Selected and Full-Text Print & Microform" and note Foreign Diaries at the bottom of the page. Click on the tab "Finding Aids-Online & Print" and see the bibliography listed under General Works, as well as Foreign Diaries and Women's Diaries at the bottom of the page.
British Parliamentary Papers This guide is meant for those beginning research in British Parliamentary Papers. It focuses on Shannon Library's 19th and 20th century holdings and lists indexes and finding aids for Sessional papers, Journals, and Debates.
Bibliography of British History, 1789-1851. Lucy Brown and Ian Christie, eds. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1977 Shannon Reference Z 2019 .B76
Bibliography of British History, 1851-1914. H.J. Hanham, ed. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1976
Shannon Reference Z 2019 .H35