Subject Guide
Off-Grounds Access
Most databases are available only when you're connected to the UVa network. For off Grounds use you'll need a connection through the proxy server or UVaAnywhere. More information.
RefWorks
With RefWorks you can collect citations to books and articles, organize them, and use them in your research and writing.
Searching Virgo
Library homepage is http://www.lib.virginia.edu/
Keyword = "Planned Parenthood" "birth control"
- Virgo does not use Boolean connectors, such as and, or between terms.
- Put a phrase within quotation marks
- Automatically does stemming of search terms (view, viewer, viewers, viewing)
- You
can further refine search results by using the limiters on the left of
the search results screen. For example, clicking on "Special
Collections" under "Library" will narrow your results to materials held
in Special Collections.
- Be sure you click on "Start Over" to perform a new search
- When
looking at results for a journal search, to determine which print
volumes we own click on the title in the results list, then on "Access
in Virgo Classic."
Finding Journal Articles
A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ . Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/off-grounds-access/
Academic Search Complete A general database of articles from a variety of scholarly journals, popular magazines, and some newspapers. Includes some speeches and interviews. Years of coverage varies according to title, but some publications are covered back to the late 19th century.
Search: "Clinton administration" AND "health care reform"
For a speech: Search Obama = AU AND "public option" Document Type = speech
Note that the following four databases look and work the same as Academic Search Complete:
America History & Life Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
Search: "health care" AND "African Americans"
Historical period from 1910 to 1930
Health Source: Consumer Edition Magazines, pamphlets and reference books covering a wide range of health topics. Also see Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, which covers scholarly journals and some reference books covering nursing and allied health professions.
Search : "working class" AND "health insurance"
Medline (EBSCO) All aspects of biomedicine and allied health fields plus other biological, physical and social sciences as they relate to health and medicine.
Search: "state licensing" AND physicians
Women's Studies International Find journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, theses & dissertations, documents and other materials on all aspects of women's studies.
Search: nursing AND "career choice"
****************************************************
JSTOR Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present, does not include current volumes. Advanced Search gives you more control over your results. Select Type = Article and select the most relevant groups of journals by discipline to be searched.
Advanced Search: "health care" AND "income level"
Type = Article Discipline = Health Policy; Public Policy & Administration
PAIS International, 1915-present Useful for finding journal articles, book citations, government publications, and reports issued by public and private organizations in the areas of political science and public policy.
Search: "pharmaceutical industry" and Medicare
Web of Knowledge/Web of Science Includes Science Citation Index (1970-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-). Daily updates makes it a good source for recent articles. Citations include how many times a specific article has been cited by others.
Search Social Sciences Citation Index: Topic = Massachusetts AND Topic = "health care reform"
PubMed Citations from MedLine and other biomedical articles from the 1950s on.
Search: physicians and "Medicare reimbursement"
PsycINFO Covers journal articles and books about psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education.
Search: autism AND "treatment research"
Primary Source Publications: Newspapers and Contemporary Journals
LexisNexis Academic offers access to a variety of news sources, including newspapers, magazines, television and radio broadcast transcripts, etc. Years of coverage varies by title, usually with nothing prior to the early 1980's.
Search the News: "insurance companies" AND "single payer option"
Source Type = Newspapers
Ethnic NewsWatch gives access to articles in the American ethnic newspaper and magazine press, with coverage beginning in the late 1970's to early 1980's. You can focus your search on the press of a particular ethnic group.
Search "health care" AND "inner cities"
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Searchable full text backfiles of the New York Times (1851-2006), Wall Street Journal (1889-1991), Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986) and Washington Post (1877-1992).
Search Washington Post: Medicare AND AMA Dates= 1964 to 1965
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1991 Searchable
full text collection of U.S. newspapers. Can limit by place of
publication. Most titles are from the colonial through early 20th
century, but recently we have added 20th century coverage for the
Cleveland Plain Dealer, Portland Oregonian, and New Orleans Times-Picayune;content for these papers is still being added and not yet complete.
Search: battlefield and medicine Date range = 1863 -1865
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers Searchable
full text of several hundred U.S. newspapers from the 19th century. If
you wish, you can focus your search on newspapers from a particular
state or city.
Periodicals Archive Online provides access to full text articles from a mixture of scholarly and popular journals and magazines from throughout the world, covering from the 1700's to the 1990's. Periodicals Index Online mostly provides citations from over 4000 international journals and magazines.
Keywords = eugenics and race Years of Publication = 1900-1930
Search Options = Articles
American Periodicals Series, 1740-1900 Full text of over 1000 magazines and journals published in America between 1740 and 1900.
Search = "birth control" Date Range = 1900-1930
Other Sources
A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ . Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/off-grounds-access/
U.S. History in Context An
excellent starting point to get an overview of a topic. Consists of
historical encyclopedia articles, journal articles, and some primary
source materials.
Search: Social Security Act of 1935
American Civil War: Letters & Diaries Letters, diaries and memoirs from the American Civil War. Searchable by such terms as "Personal Events: wounded" or "Place where written: Hospitals".
UVA History File is a collection of newspaper clippings, pamphlets, etc. filed alphabetically by topic in folders in Alderman Reference. Covers all aspects of UVA history and life. Primary dates of coverage are 1940 through 1990. In-library use only. List of topics covered provided at above link.
ProQuest Congressional provides mostly full-text publications from the U.S. Congress, including testimony from Congressional hearings, legislative histories of laws, reports to Congress, etc.
Search: Medicare Date is between 1964 and 1968
iPOLL contains nearly a half-million questions and responses from public opinion surveys conducted since 1935 by academic, commercial, and media survey organizations, including CNN, Gallup, AP, the Wall Street Journal, and many others.
Search "health insurance" Date From 1945 to 1946
Some of our U.S. history microfilm collections may be relevant to topics in this class, including Oral Histories of the Johnson Administration; Papers of the American Association for Labor Legislation; Harry S. Truman Oral Histories Collection; and War on Poverty, 1964-1968.