Research Librarian for the Humanities
Finding Dissertations and Theses
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowFull text (PDF) of most US dissertations from 1997 on, many earlier works and some from outside the US plus some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on from US universities and some works from Europe and Asia from 1637 on. Abstracts included after July, 1980.
See also Finding Dissertations
- Libra: UVa's Online RepositoryAll UVA dissertations are uploaded to Libra, the University of Virginia’s online institutional repository, as of May 2014. Prior to that, UVA dissertations were put into Dissertations & Thesis Global database by PROQUEST .
- Center for Research LibrariesThe approximately five million newspapers, journals, books, pamphlets, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other resources held by CRL support research and teaching. CRL acquisitions include materials from all world regions: Sub-Saharan Africa, Eastern Europe, Latin America, the Middle East, South Asia, Southeast Asia, North America, and Europe. UVA is a member!
- DART-Europe This link opens in a new windowSearch for dissertations from over 300 European universities. Most are available for immediate download.
- GoogleGoogle indexes dissertations it finds on the web. Many will be full text. If you don't find what you need, consider using other resources such as those on this web page.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)he Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs).
- OCLC WorldCatOCLC WorldCat lists most dissertations for most colleges and universities in the United States and Canada and a great many from around the world. If you know the author's name or dissertation title, this is a solid resource.
- Open ThesisOpenThesis.org is a searchable thesis & dissertation database, which helps increase the availability and utility of these important documents.
- Open Access Theses and DissertationsOATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 800 colleges, universities, and research institutions.
- Theses (Dissertations) CanadaTheses Canada was launched in 1965 at the request of is a collaborative program between Library and Archives Canada (LAC) and nearly 70 universities accredited by Universities Canada.
- TROVE Australian Theses/DissertationsTrove is a free repository of Australian material, including almost a million Australian theses.
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) can borrow materials from libraries worldwide for UVA faculty, students and staff. Materials you may request include articles, books, dissertations, government documents, technical reports, patents and newspapers on microform. In some cases videos and sound recordings are also available.
- First-time users, please visit our sign in page to set up an account. After setting up your account, you will be able to request and track the process of all your Interlibrary Services requests.
- Logon to your ILS account and choose the appropriate Request Type from the menu on the left side of the page. Fill in as much information as you have available to ensure we borrow the correct item.
- Requests are usually filled in 3-10 working days.
Alternatively, if you believe an item should be purchased for our collection, you can make a purchase request and it will be reviewed by appropriate staff.