LibGuides: 01. Francophone Studies: 4.1 French Postcolonial Studies

Resources to challenge the status quo and expand the limits of concept

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ Definitions

Postcolonial Cultural Studies: 1. Origins to the 1980s [dictionary entry]
By Georg M. Gugelberger in The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism edited by Michael Groden, Martin Kreiswirth, and Imre Szeman. Johns Hopkins University Press, 2005-2012.
Postcolonial Cultural Studies: 2. 1990 and After. [dictionary entry]
By Diana Brydon in The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism edited by Michael Groden, Martin Kreiswirth, and Imre Szeman. Johns Hopkins University Press, 2005-2012.
Postcolonial Studies [dictionary entry]
By Laura Chrisman in New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 5, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pages. 1857-1859. [Gale eBooks]
Postcolonial Theory and Literature. [dictionary entry]
By Spivak, Gayatri Chakravorty in New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 5, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1859-1867. [Gale eBooks]

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ Quality Web Sources

Schools of Thought Reading Guides
Bibliographic Resources by Special Collections & Archives, University of California-Irvine
"As academic disciplines become more and more interdisciplinary, many embrace critical theories into their methodologies. Therefore is is not uncommon to find critical thinking within such varied fields as medicine, education, literary studies, philosophy, management, communication/media studies, international relations, political science, geography, language studies, sociology, and psychology."
Global South Studies
Digital scholarship project born in 2014 at the Universiy of Virginia. It aims to advance the emergent field of Global South Studies by providing a platform and forum for a conceptual mapping of key concepts/thinkers/moments/issues within the field
Postcolonial Studies @ Emory
Available since 1996, the current version of this site (Postcolonial Studies @ Emory 3.0) combines early features of digital scholarship with its newest ones. In its original incarnation, this web site aimed to furnish information, a distinctive attribute of digital humanities 1.0. In successive revisions, the site began to incorporate facets of Web 2.0: user production of limited content, commentary, and tagging. Postcolonial Studies @ Emory 3.0 now aims to include crowd-sourced content for its section on “Book Reviews” and “The Digital Bookshelf.”

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Key Tools

The Postcolonial Studies Dictionary [Dictionary]
Pramod K. Nayar. Hoboken : Wiley, 2015. xii, 189 pages
more...less...
This new Dictionary features a thoughtfully collated collection of over 150 jargon-free definitions of key terms and concepts in postcolonial theory. Features a brief introduction to postcolonial theory and a list of suggested further reading that includes the texts in which many of these terms originated Each entry includes the origins of the term, where traceab≤ a detailed explanation of its perceived meaning; and examples of the term's use in literary-cultural texts Incorporates terms and concepts from multiple disciplines, including anthropology, literary studies, science, economics, globalization studies, politics, and philosophy
A
aboriginal
abrogation
Adivasi
Afro-Europe
agency
alterity
ambivalence
anthropology (colonial)
apartheid
appropriation
archive (colonial)
arithmetic (colonial)
assimilado
B
barbarian/barbaric
Black Atlantic
black consciousness
C
cannibal
captivity narratives
Carib
cartography
catachresis
citizenship (cultural)
citizenship (ecological)
census
centre and margin
chutneyfication
colony/colonialism
colonial discourse
Commonwealth Literature
comprador colonialism
conquistador
contrapuntal reading.
Cosmopolitanismcosmopolitanism (vernacular)
Creole/creolization
cultural imperialism
D
Dalit
Dark Continent
decolonization
dependency complex
diaspora
discovery
dislocation/displacement
double consciousness
E
e-Empire
ecological ethnicity
ecological imperialism
education (colonial)
effeminacy
Empire -- new figurations of
Enlightenment (European)
environmentalism
epidermalization
epistemic violence
eroticization
essentialism
ethnicity
ethnocide
ethnography (colonial)
ethnopsychiatry (colonial)
Eurocentrism
evangelicalism (colonial)
exile
exoticism.
Exploitation colonyexploration (colonial)
F
feminism (Islamic)
fetish/phobia
filiation/affiliation
First World
Fourth World
G
geographical morality
geography
globe
globalization
H
hegemony
homonationalism
humanism (European)
humanitarianism
hybridity
I
imaginative geography
imperialism
indentured labour
infantilization
K
kala pani ('Black Water')
L
lactification
liminality
Lusotropicalism
M
magical realism
Manichean allegory
masculinity (imperial)
mestizo/a
mimicry
miscegenation
multiculturalism
N
national allegory
nationalism (as discourse)
native.
Native Informantnativism
Negritude
neocolonialism
New World
O
Occidentalism
orality
Orientalism
Ornamentalism
P
picturesque (as colonial-imperial aesthetic)
postcolonialism
postcoloniality
postcolony
postnational
primitivism
provincializing
R
race
refugee
re-orientalism
representation (colonial)
Requerimiento
reverse colonization
S
secularism/post-secularism
settler colonialism
situated knowledge
slavery
stereotyping
strategic essentialism
subaltern
subjectivity (of Europeans, colonial period)
subjectivity (of natives, colonial period).
Sublime (as colonial aesthetic)syncretism
T
terra incognita
terra nullius
testimonio
text/textuality (colonial)
Third World
torrid zones
transculturation
transnationalism
tricontinentalism
tropicality
U
universalism
V
vernacular
W
whiteness/white studies
World Literature
worlding
Postcolonial Studies: The Key Concepts (Third edition) [Dictionary]
Bill Ashcroft, Gareth Griffiths and Helen Tiffin. London : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group 2013. Third edition.
more...less...
Aboriginal/indigenous peoples
Abrogation
Affect
African American and postcolonial studies
Agency
Allegory
Alterity
Ambivalence
Anthropocentrism
Anti-colonialism
Apartheid
Appropriation
Atavism
Authentic/authenticity
Bandung Conference
Binarism
Biocolonialism/biopiracy
Black Atlantic
Black Studies/black consciousness
Bollywood
Borderlands
Cannibal
Caribbean/West Indian
Cartography
Catachresis
Catalysis
Centre/margin (periphery)
Chromatism
Clash of civilizations
Class and postcolonialism
Colonial desire
Colonial discourse
Colonial patronage
Colonialism
Commonwealth
Commonwealth Literature
Comprador
Contact zone
Contrapuntal reading
Cosmopolitanism
Counter-discourse
Creole
Creolization
Cultural diversity/cultural difference
Cultural tourism
Decolonization
Dependency theory
Deracinate
Development/Development Studies
Diaspora
Discourse
Dislocation
Displacement
Double colonization
Ecofeminism
Ecological imperialism
Empire
Environmentalism
Essentialism/strategic essentialism
Ethnicity
Ethnography
Ethno-psychiatry/ethno-psychology
Eurocentrism
Exile
Exotic/exoticism
Exploration and travel
Fanonism
Feminism and postcolonialism
Filiation/affiliation
First Nations
Frontier
Fundamentalism
Globalization
Glocalization
‘Going native’
Green postcolonialism
Hegemony
Hybridity
Imperialism
Indentured labour
Independence
Interpellation
Liminality
Local
Magic realism
Manicheanism
Marginality
Mestizo/mestizaje/métisse
Metonymic gap
Metropolis/metropolitan
Middle Passage
Mimicry
Miscegenation
Missions and colonialism
Modernism and postcolonialism
Modernity
Mulatto
Multiculturalism
Multitude
Nation language
Nation/nationalism
National allegory
National Liberation Movements
Native
Nativism
Négritude
Neo-colonialism/neo-imperialism
Neo-liberalism
New Literatures
Orality
Orientalism
Other
Othering
Palimpsest
Partition
Pastoralism
Pidgins/creoles
Place
Postcolonial body
Postcolonialism/post-colonialism
Postcolonial reading
Postcolonial state
Postcolony
Post-nationalism
Primitivism
Race
Rastafarianism
Religion and the postcolonial
Resistance
Rhizome
Sacred/sacral
Savage/civilized
Settler
Settler colony
Slave/slavery
Social Darwinism
Speciesism
Subaltern
Subject/subjectivity
Surveillance
Sustainability
Syncretism
Synergy
Terra nullius
Testimonio
Third World (First, Second, Fourth)
Trafficking
Transculturation
Translation
Transnational literatures
Trauma
Universalism/universality
Washington Consensus
Whiteness
World Bank
World Englishes
World Literature
World system theory
Worlding
Zoocriticism

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
The basics

Francophone postcolonial studies : a critical introduction [Print]
edited by Charles Forsdick and David Murphy. London : Arnold ; New York : Distributed in the United States of America by Oxford University Press, 2003. xii, 305 pages.
more...less...
• Introduction: The case for Francophone postcolonial studies / Charles Forsdick and David Murphy.
• Seeds of postcolonialism: black slavery and cultural difference to 1800 / Roger Little.
• In search of the Haitian Revolution / Laurent Dubois.
• 'Of whatever color': (dis)locating a place for the creole in nineteenth-century French literature / Chris Bongie.
• Revisiting exoticism: from colonialism to postcolonialism / Charles Forsdick.
• Empire on film: from exoticism to 'cinema colonial' / Elizabeth Ezra.
• The Camus-Sartre debate and the colonial question in Algeria / Azzedine Haddour.
• Resistance, submission and oppositionality: national identity in French Canada / Marilyn Randall.
• 'Francophonie' and 'universalité': evolution of two notions conjoined / Gabrielle Parker.
• 'Séparisianisme', or internal colonialism / Heather Williams.
• 'This Creole culture, miraculously forged': the contradictions of 'créolité' / Maeve McCusker.
• Reading 'orality' in French-language novels from sub-Saharan Africa / Eileen Julien.
• Tactical Universalism and new multiculturalist claims in postcolonial France / Mireille Rosello.
• The contribution of North and sub-Saharan African immigrant minorities to the redefinition of contemporary French culture / Alec G. Hargreaves.
• Immigration, tourism and postcolonial reinventions of travel / Aedín Ní Loingsigh.
• Frantz Fanon, Atlantic theorist; or decolonization and nation state in postcolonial theory / Andy Stafford.
• 'Faire peau neuve'
• Césaire, Fanon, Memmi, Sartre and Senghor / Patrick Williams.
• Contesting contexts: Francophone thought and Anglophone postcolonialism / John McLeod.
• Francophone women writers and postcolonial theory / Anne Donadey.
• Postcolonial thought and culture in Francophone North Africa / Winifred Woodhull.
• Beyond tradition versus modernity: postcolonial thought and culture in Francophone sub-Saharan Africa / David Murphy.
• Postcolonial thought and the Francophone Caribbean / J. Michael Dash.
• Resisting colonialism? Gabrielle Roy and the cultural formation of Francophones in Manitoba / Rosemary Chapman.
• Colonial undercurrents: the motif of the Mekong in Marguerite Dura's 'Indochinese' texts / Julia Waters.
Francophone postcolonial studies in the twenty-first century - Vol.17, #2 (2017)[Electronic]
Edited by Charlotte Anne Baker and Catherine Gilbert. Special Issue of Journal of Romance Studies, Volume 17, Issue 2 (July 2017)
French Studies in and for the 21st Century [eBook and Print]
edited by Philippe Lane and Michael Worton. Liverpool : Liverpool University Press, 2011. xxii, 310 pages.
Specially: Part VII: Area Studies, Postcolonial Studies and War and Culture Studies pages 195-230
more...less...
Print edition

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Teaching and Learning

Diversity and Decolonization in French Studies: New Approaches to Teaching [eBook]
Siham Bouamer, Loïc Bourdeau, editors. Cham: Palgrave Macmillan, 2022. xxi, 267 pages. ISBN: 9783030953577
more...less...
This edited volume presents new and original approaches to teaching the French foreign-language curriculum, reconceptualizing the French classroom through a more inclusive lens. The volume engages with a broad range of scholars to facilitate an understanding of the process of French (de)colonization as well as its reverberations into the postcolonial era, and a deeper engagement with the global interconnectedness of these processes. Chapters in Part I revist the concept of the "francophonie," decenter the field from "metropolitan" or "hexagonal" and white France and underline how current teaching materials reproduce epistemic and colonial violence. Part II adopts an intersectional approach to address topics of gender inclusivity, trans-affirming teaching, queer materials, and ableism. Finally, Part III presents new ways to transform the discipline by affirming our commitment to social justice and making sure that our classrooms are representative of our students enriching diversity. Siham Bouamer is Assistant Professor of French at Sam Houston State University, USA. Her research focuses on transnational movements from and to the Maghreb in twentieth and twenty-first-century film and literature and pedagogy in textbooks. Loic Bourdeau is Associate Professor of French and Francophone Studies at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, USA. His research lies in twentieth and twenty-first-century French and Quebec literature and cinema, with special theoretical interests in feminist and queer studies.

Contents:

Introduction: toward diversity and decolonization by Siham Bouamer and Loïc Bourdeau
Multilingual texts and contexts: inclusive pedagogies in the French foreign language classroom by Cecilia Benaglia and Maya Angela Smith
Unlearning Francophonie: legacies of colonialism in French grammar textbooks by Madeline Bedecarré
Racism, colonialism, and the limits of diversity: the racialized "other" in the French foreign language textbooks by Julia D. Spiegelman
Making the colonial present audible to our students by Kristen Stern
Blackness and social justice in the French classroom by Marda Messay
Honoring Native American voices in the Francophone studies classroom: restoring oral testimonies to their rightful place in the story of the early modern Americas by Charlotte Daniels and Katherine Dauge-Roth
Halte au capacitisme! A toolkit for creating accessible French language classrooms for neurodiverse students and student with disabilities by Thea Fronsman-Cecil
Language policy and change in the classroom: teaching the feminization of professional titles in intermediate French by Alisha Reaves
Teaching French feminisms from an intersectional perspective by Blase A. Provitola
Teaching trans knowledges: situating expansive possibilities in an intermediate French course by Kris Aric Knisely
Queering the French language classroom: a social justice approach to discussing gender, privilege, and oppression by Hasheem Hakeem
Decanonizing contemporary culture course: teaching culture with Twitter by Daniel N. Maroun
Approaching plurality and contributing to diversity through podcast pedagogy by Thomas Muzart
Beyond the book: multimodal texts and assignments as anti-racist pedagogy by Bethany Schiffman
Decolonial and feminist course design and assessment in the first-year French curriculum by Kelly Biers.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
The angle

Les Études postcoloniales, un carnaval académique [Print]
Jean-François Bayart. Paris: Karthala, 2010 126 p pages.
more...less...
Review: Philippe Gervais-Lambony, « Les études postcoloniales. Un carnaval académique », EchoGéo [En ligne], 15 | 2011,

Francophone Postcolonial Studies |ISSN: 1741-8283| (2010- to date) [Electronic Annual Series]
Annual publication by the Society for Francophone Postcolonial Studies and the Liverpool University Press since 2010.
Volumes published so far:
more...less...

Vol 1 (2010) Transnational French Studies: Postcolonialism and Littérature-Monde, edited by Alec G. Hargreaves, Charles Forsdick & David Murphy. -- [ Another electronic access from Proquest]

Vol 2 (2011) Postcolonial Poetics: Genre and Form, edited by Patrick Crowley & Jane Hiddleston. -- Also in Print Format ]

Vol 3 (2012) American Creoles: The Francophone Caribbean and the American South, edited by Martin Munro & Celia Britton. -- [ Another electronic access from Proquest] | [ [Also in Print Format]

Vol 4 (2013) Intimate Enemies: Translating Francophone Texts, edited by Kathryn Batchelor & Claire Bisdorff. -- [ Another electronic access from Proquest] | [ [Also in Print Format]

Vol 5 (2014) Francophone Afropean Literatures, edited by Nicki Hitchcott & Dominic Thomas. -- [ Another electronic access from Proquest] | [ [Also in Print Format]

Vol 6 (2015) At the Limits of Memory: Legacies of Slavery in the Francophone World, edited by Nicola Frith & Kate Hodgson. [ Another electronic access from Proquest]

Vol 7 (2016) The Haiti Exception: Anthropology and the Predicaments of Narrative, edited by Alessandra Benedicty, Jhon Picard Byron, Kaiama L. Glover & Mark Schuller. [ Another electronic access from Proquest]

Vol 8 (2017) Algeria Nation, Culture and Transnationalism: 1988-2015, edited by Patrick Crowley.

Vol 9 (2018) Post-Migratory Cultures in Postcolonial France, edited by Kathryn Kleppinger & Laura Reeck | [ [Also in Print Format]

Vol 10 (2019) Rwanda After 1994: Stories of Change, edited by Hannah Grayson & Nicki Hitchcott
Francophone Postcolonial Studies |ISSN: 0791-4938| (2003- 2009) [Electronic journals]
Semiannual publication by the Society for Francophone Postcolonial Studies. Vol. 1, no. 1 (spring/summer 2003)-v. 7, no. 2 (autumn/winter 2009)
Alternative Francophone |ISSN: 1916-8470| (2008 - to date) [Electronic journals]
Began with vol. 1, no. 1 (2008). Published by University of Alberta, Department of Modern Languages and Cultural Studies
Bulletin of Francophone Postcolonial Studies |ISSN: 2044-4109| (2010- to date) [Electronic journals]
Began with vol. 1, no. 1 (2010) - . Published by Society for Francophone Postcolonial Studies

Society for Francophone Postcolonial Studies
international organisation which promotes, facilitates and otherwise supports the work of all scholars and researchers working in colonial/postcolonial studies in the French-speaking world.

Vénus noire, (2010 film)
French drama film directed by Abdellatif Kechiche. It is based on the life of Sarah Baartman, a Khoikhoi woman who in the early 19th century was exhibited in Europe under the name "Hottentot Venus
more...less...
"Dans Vénus noire (2010), le réalisateur Abdellatif Kechiche opère différemment. Il adopte les conventions du film d’époque pour narrer, à travers un regard froid, glaçant, les cinq dernières années de la vie de Saartjie Baartman. Cette enveloppe fictionnelle retravaille divers éléments – faut-il parler d’archive ? – parmi lesquels le moulage du corps de Sara, « grévinisation » mortifère que le public parisien put contempler jusqu’en 1974, date où il fut retiré (avec les autres restes de la jeune femme) de la galerie d’anthropologie physique du Musée de l’Homme. Le parti pris d’A. Kechiche tend à naturaliser divers documents d’époque. Objet qui focalise les regards, celle que l’on appelait « la Vénus hottentote » est le produit d’un point de vue colonial qui l’animalise et lui refuse le statut de sujet. Dans le générique de fin cependant, le réalisateur rompt avec les conventions qu’il a adoptées tout au long du film. Il donne à voir des extraits des obsèques de Saartjie Baartman, célébrées le 9 août 2002 – après la restitution de son corps par la France à l’Afrique du Sud –, obsèques célébrées en présence du Président Thabo Mbeki, d’officiels et de représentants de la communauté khoi à laquelle elle appartenait. Dans l’ère post-apartheid, cet événement (organisé le jour de la journée des femmes en Afrique du Sud) fit de Sara un symbole national, contribuant à donner au site où elle fut inhumée et d’où elle aurait été originaire le statut de lieu de mémoire8. Avec la double perspective du film d’époque, d’une part, et du générique de fin contemporain, d’autre part, A. Kechiche – en scindant deux temps chronologiquement éloignés – couvre toute la destinée historique de Sara Baartman. Pour ce faire, il joue sur deux modalités narratives distinctes dans le traitement de l’archive : la modélisation biographique par le biais de la fiction filmique correspond au temps de l’exhibition et de l’exploitation de l’Africaine ; les insertions brutes d’extraits d’informations dans le générique montrent, quant à elles, son accès post mortem au statut de sujet."

Crystel Pinçonnat «De l’usage postcolonial de l’archive. Quelques pistes de reflexión»
Amnis - Revue de civilisation contemporaine Europes/amériques, 13 | 2014

«Digitization, History, and the Making of a Postcolonial Archive of Southern African Liberation Struggles: The Aluka Project» [Article]
Allen Isaacman, Premesh Lalu and Thomas Nygren. Africa Today Vol. 52, No. 2, (Winter, 2005), pp. 55-77 (23 pages)
«A Postcolonial Archive? On the Paradox of Practice in a Northwest Alaska Project» [Article]
Matthew Kurtz. Archivaria 61: Special Section on Archives, Space and Power (Spring 2006)
«Paradoxes of curating colonial memory» [Article]
Jeurgens, C., Karabinos, M. Archival Science volume 20, (2020) pages199–220
«De l’usage postcolonial de l’archive. Quelques pistes de reflexión» [Article]
Crystel Pinçonnat. Amnis - Revue de civilisation contemporaine Europes/amériques, 13 | 2014

01. Francophone Studies

Resources to challenge the status quo and expand the limits of concept

What is

French Perspective

Journals & Series

Organizations

Art& Visual

Postcolonial Archive

Contact Us

About the Library

Using the Library

Other Sites