LibGuides: Latin American & Iberian Studies: 2a.1 Databases, Gateways &amp; Portals

TO FIND ARTICLES ABOUT LATIN AMERICAN & IBERIAN SOCIAL SCIENCES & HUMANITIES

SciELO Scientific Electronic Library Online
La biblioteca científica - SciELO , es una biblioteca electrónica que incluye, una colección seleccionada de revistas científicas chilenas, en todas las áreas del conocimiento.
more...less...
El proyecto SciELO es una iniciativa de FAPESP (Fundación de Apoyo a la Investigación del Estado de São Paulo) y de BIREME (Centro Latinoamericano y del Caribe de Información en Ciencias de la Salud). Desde 2002, el Proyecto cuenta con el apoyo del CNPq - Consejo Nacional de Desarrollo Científico y Tecnológico.

El proyecto tiene por objetivo desarrollar una metodología común para la preparación, almacenamiento, diseminación y evaluación de la literatura científica en formato electrónico
REDALyC
Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal (Made in Mexico)
Dialnet
Dialnet es un portal de difusión de la producción científica hispana que inició su funcionamiento en el año 2001 especializado en ciencias humanas y sociales. Su base de datos, de acceso libre, fue creada por la Universidad de La Rioja (España) y constituye una hemeroteca virtual que contiene los índices de las revistas científicas y humanísticas de España, Portugal y Latinoamérica, incluyendo también libros (monografías), tesis doctorales, homenajes y otro tipo de documentos. El texto completo de muchos de los documentos está disponible en línea.
CLASE: Citas Latinoamericanas
Citas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades. Una base de datos y recursos electrónicos libres de la Dirección General de Bibliotecas, UNAM, México
InDICEs CSIC
Plataforma de acceso global a la información científica publicada en las revistas académicas españolas de calidad, sustituyendo a las bases de datos ICYT, IME e ISOC
more...less...
Full access restricted to susbcribers.

Recopila y difunde desde 1976 la producción científica del área de las Ciencias Humanas y Sociales publicada en revistas españolas. Esta base de datos multidisciplinar cubre las siguientes áreas temáticas: Antropología, Arqueología y Prehistoria, Arte, Biblioteconomía y Documentación, Ciencias Políticas, Derecho, Economía, Educación, Filosofía, Geografía, Historia, Lingüística y Literatura, Psicología, Sociología, Urbanismo y Estudios sobre América Latina. Consultar la Guía de uso
IRESIE
Base de datos sobre Educación Iberoamericana. Una base de datos de la Dirección General de Bibliotecas, UNAM, México
Biblat (Bibliografia Latinoamericana en revistas de ciencias sociales // Producto creado en Mexico)
Biblat es un portal especializado en revistas científicas y académicas publicadas en América Latina y el Caribe.
Creado por la UNAM de Mexico
more...less...
Ofrece los siguientes servicios:
Referencias bibliográficas de los artículos y documentos publicados en más de 3,000 títulos indizados en CLASE y PERIÓDICA, mediante opciones de búsqueda básica y avanzada.

Acceso al texto completo de los artículos publicados en revistas de acceso abierto. Biblat ofrece dos tipos de acceso al texto completo: mediante enlaces hipertextuales a los sitios web de las revistas (recursos externos) y a través de la colección del acervo digital de la Hemeroteca Virtual Latinoamericana de la Dirección General de Bibliotecas y Servicios Digitales de Información DGBSDI, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México UNAM.

Frecuencias e indicadores bibliométricos extraídos de las revistas indizadas en CLASE y PERIÓDICA, en las colecciones SciELO así como de otras fuentes de información.

En Postular una revista se describen los Criterios de selección de revistas para su indización en CLASE y PERIÓDICA, que son la fuente de información principal de Biblat. Los editores de revistas pueden someter a evaluación su revista dirigiéndose a: biblat@dgb.unam.mx.
Revistas Científicas Compluteneses
Journals from Universidad Complutense de Madrid (Spain)
HLAS Handbook of Latin American Studies
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI)
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) provides complete bibliographic citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since 1970. Our coverage includes everything from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities. HAPI currently indexes over 380 journals and includes the contents of over 675 journals dating back to our start in the 1970s
Fuente Académica
Fuente Académica offers more than 450 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. The database is updated weekly.
REDIB (Red Iberoamericana de Innovación y Conocimiento Científico)
A platform for the aggregation of open scientific and academic content in the electronic format produced in the Ibero-American context. Founded in 2018 has more than 3,500 journals and 2000 eBooks.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ Literature, Languages, Film & Culture Studies Databases

MLA International Bibliography
Classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
Search for journal articles on all aspects of the nature and use of language. Includes book reviews. Updated monthly.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ General Databases

Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. 5% of material in French language
ProQuest One Literature
ProQuest One Literature is for scholars who must engage with an exhaustive and diverse set of scholarly resources around a given literary topic for research and course planning.
It contains 3 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works – including rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings.
Wiley Library Online
Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers over 6 million articles from over 1,500 journals, over 18,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.
Web of Knowledge
Gives access to multiple databases that reference cross-disciplinary research, which allows for in-depth exploration of specialized sub-fields within an academic or scientific discipline. Around 20 % of the material in french language.
JSTOR
Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in the areas of anthropology, Asian studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics.
Project MUSE
Searchable full text of nearly 600 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, mostly from North American university presses. Older volumes are often available from JSTOR.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ History, Anthropology & Religion Databases

Historical Abstracts
Find articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada. For these see America: History & Life.
Anthropology Plus (1890-present)
As a compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases, Anthropology Plus is the world’s most comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database offers worldwide indexing of journals from the early 19th century to today, providing extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, and commentaries.
ATLA Religion
Lists articles on all aspects of religious studies from journals in many disciplines. Includes citations to book chapters and to book reviews. ATLASerials adds the full text of many journals.
International Medieval Bibliography
Lists articles from books and journals on any topic relating to the European Middle Ages (ca. 400-1500).
Philosopher's Index
Lists and abstracts books and articles in over 300 journals from philosophy and related disciplines. Our license only allows for 4 simultaneous users

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ Educuation / Politics

ERIC (Education)
You can search this database using different interfaces:
ERIC (Ebsco) or ERIC (U.S. Department of Education)
ERIC provides access to more than 1.4 million bibliographic records of journal articles, most of which are peer-reviewed, and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. If available, links to full text are included.
Political Science Complete
Political Science Complete provides nearly 340 full-text reference books and monographs and more than 44,000 full-text conference papers, which includes those from the International Political Science Association. The database also provides a subject-specific thesaurus with more than 23,500 terms to provide subject searching guidance to researchers.Subject coverage includes comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Includes working papers from research institutes, occasional papers series from NGO's, conference proceedings, current tables of contents and article abstracts from selected journals, and full-text of selected books.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ Psychology/Sociology Databases

APA PsycINFO
The APA PsycInfo® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
Consult for More information
APA PsycARTICLES
APA PsycArticles®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
Consult for More information

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ MegaSearches

EBSCOHost Databases
Over 40 databases of journal articles, books, and other documents in many subject areas. Menu allows searching multiple databases at the same time
Proquest
ProQuest offers UVa faculty, staff, and students access to 62 separate databases, covering numerous fields from the hard sciences to social sciences, as well as newspapers, government records, and statistical data.

LA Referencia
A service that supports national open access strategies in Latin America via a platform with interoperability standards. From national nodes, scientific articles, master and doctoral dissertations are harvested from repositories in universities and research institutions. This experience is based on technical and organizational agreements between public science and technology organizations (Ministries and ONCYTs ) with RedCLARA.
Repositorio Nacional (Mexico)
The National Repository is a digital platform that provides open access in full text to various resources of academic, scientific and technological information, that is to say, without subscription, registration or payment requirements. In the Repository can be consulted, among other materials: articles of scientific journals, theses elaborated in institutions of higher education, research protocols, memoirs of congresses and patents, as well as other academic documents that are produced in Mexico with public funds.
Google Scholar (Google Académico)
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. Released in beta in November 2004, the Google Scholar index includes most peer-reviewed online academic journals and books, conference papers, theses and dissertations, preprints, abstracts, technical reports, and other scholarly literature, including court opinions and patents.
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
more...less...
9,187 Journals
6,372 searchable at Article level
130 Countries
2,272,721 Articles
ROAR
Registry of Open Access Repositories
more...less...
ROAR is hosted at the University of Southampton, UK and is made possible by funding from the JISC. ROAR is part of the EPrints.org network.
Recolecta [Spain]
RECOLECTA o Recolector de Ciencia Abierta es una plataforma que agrupa a todos los repositorios científicos nacionales y que provee de servicios a los gestores de repositorios, a los investigadores y a los agentes implicados en la elaboración de políticas (decisores públicos).
more...less...
RECOLECTA nace fruto de la colaboración, desde 2007, entre La Fundación Española para la Ciencia y la Tecnología (FECYT) y la Red de Bibliotecas Universitarias (REBIUN) de la CRUE con el objetivo de crear una infraestructura nacional de repositorios científicos de acceso abierto.
OpenAire
OpenAIRE aims to establish and operate an electronic infrastructure for handling peer-reviewed articles as well as other forms of publications. This is achieved through a portal that is the gateway to all user-level services offered by the e-Infrastructure of 27 countries, including access (search and browse) to scientific publications and other value-added functionality.
more...less...
OpenAIRE - Open Access Infrastructure for Research in Europe. In august 2008 the European Union launched the Open Access pilot in FP7 (Seventh Research Framework Programme), in which open access to articles resulting from research funded in areas participating in the pilot (Energy, Environment, Health, Information and Communication Technologuies, e-Infrastructure, Socio-economic and Humanistic Sciences, Science and Society) should be provided
Base
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 90 million documents from more than 4,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
more...less...
In comparison to commercial search engines, BASE is charcterised by the following features:

Intellectually selected resources
Only document servers that comply with the specific requirements of academic quality and relevance are included
A data resources inventory provides transparency in the searches
Discloses web resources of the "Deep Web", which are ignored by commercial search engines or get lost in the vast quantity of hits
Correction, normalization and enrichment of metadata by means of automated methods
The display of search results includes precise bibliographic data
Display of access and terms of re-use for a document
Several options for sorting the result list
"Refine your search result" options (by author, subject, DDC, year of publication, content provider, language, document type, access and terms of re-use)
Browsing by DDC (Dewey Decimal Classification), document type, access and terms of re-use / licence.

Latin American & Iberian Studies

TO FIND ARTICLES ABOUT LATIN AMERICAN & IBERIAN SOCIAL SCIENCES & HUMANITIES

Databases

Specific Subjects covering also Latin American and/or Spain

Open Access Repositories

Contact Us

About the Library

Using the Library

Other Sites