Latin American Resources about Women, Gender and Sexuality in General
Click on Article Finder to find the most important databases
- Women's Studies InternationalFind journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, theses & dissertations, documents and other materials on all aspects of women's studies.
- LGBTQ+ SourcePreviously known as LGBT Life with Full Text. LGBT Life with Full Text is the definitive database for LGBT studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBT publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBT thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
- Sociological AbstractsSociology and related fields. All languages. 2600 scholarly journals. Includes book, book chapter, and conference paper abstracts and book reviews. Updated quarterly.
- Academic Search CompleteLarge general database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers on many topics. Also includes reference books (World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary), biographies, speeches, images, and other primary source documents.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteCommunication & Mass Media Complete provides coverage of journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. It provides indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals.
- Project Muse: Women's Studies, Gender & SexualityFull-text Books and Journals. Once you perform a search, you can limit the results to "Women's Studies, Gender & Sexuality" under the Research Area box on the left.
- ACRL Women and Gender Studies SectionFrom the Association of College and Research Libraries. Links to hundreds of resources. Education, health, history, business, politics, science, culture, art, music, film, international resources and more are covered.
- LGBT Magazine ArchiveArchival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles – The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts. Some publications may contain explicit content.
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940presents important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis.
- Gender: Identity and Social ChangeEssential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.
- Sex and SexualityThis collection explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors from the nineteenth to the twenty-first centuries. Investigating the breadth and complexity of human sexual understanding through the work of leading sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and personal accounts.
- Women and Social Movements: International, 1840-to presentThrough the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
- Women's Magazine ArchiveAn archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Issues are scanned in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.
- Women's Studies Archive: Issues and IdentitiesMuch of history is one-sided, focusing mainly on the male perspective and leaving women's voices unheard. Bringing women’s stories to light, the Women’s Studies Archive connects archival collections concerning women’s history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources.
- Women's Studies Archive: Voice and VisionContaining diverse records that explore the history of gender and women’s studies, the material in the digital archive enables scholars to examine a wide range of topics, including activist movements, women’s suffrage, and the liberation movement, and the publication of female-authored works.
- Women in The National ArchivesThis collection consists of two distinct elements: A finding aid to women's studies resources in The National Archives and Original documents on the suffrage question in Britain, the Empire, and colonial territories
- Everyday Life and Women in America, c1800-1920Everyday Life & Women in America c.1800-1920 showcases unique primary source material for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
- Gentlemen's quarterly; GQ magazine [GQ Archive]The backfile of GQ magazine, from its launch in 1931 (as Apparel Arts) to the present. One of the longest-running, most influential men's magazines, GQ expanded its initial focus on fashion to cover general men’s-interest subjects.
- Archivos históricos del Feminismo en MéxicoEl proyecto: Digitalización de los archivos históricos del Feminismo en México. El caso de las revistas feministas: Fem, La Revuelta, La Correa feminista, CIHUAT y La Boletina, es un proyecto que se llevó a cabo de septiembre de 2015 a agosto de 2017. Este proyecto tiene como propósito dar visibilidad a los archivos históricos del feminismo en México y, de manera particular, a las revistas que aquí mencionamos. La colección de archivos de las publicaciones y su disposición al público está dirigida al movimiento feminista, así como a investigadoras y personas interesadas de México y el mundo en el movimiento feminista mexicano.t.
- Debate Feminista -[Mexico 1990 -- to date]You can also consult the web page of this journal.
We recommend to research this journal in our library catalog library catalog : Virgo . Researching this magazine in our catalog can be more beneficial, since you can make searches and even receive more up-to-date information. - Revista Estudos Feministas -[Brazil, 1992 -- to date]You can also consult the web page of this journal.
We recommend to research this journal in our library catalog library catalog : Virgo . Researching this magazine in our catalog can be more beneficial, since you can make searches and even receive more up-to-date information. - Pikara Magazine -[Spain 2010-- to date]Revista que ofrece periodismo y opinión con un enfoque crítico, feminista, transgresor y disfrutón.
- Zero Grados -[Spain 2014-- to date]es una revista online de periodismo narrativo, que entiende la cultura en el más amplio sentido de la palabra. No es feminsta per se. Es una revista realizada por mujeres en su mayoria que resalta a la mujer sobre todo pero que no excluye ningun tema.
- Mujeres en Red -[Spain 1996 -- to date]An informative site with a discussion group, latest world news and many links both from Spain and worldwide. The site also contains a list of resources and important addresses for women's issues in Spain.
- Caribbean Association for Feminist Research and Action CAFRACelebrate and promote the collective power of women for individual and societal transformation, thus creating a climate in which social justice is realized; understand the relationship between the oppression of women and other forms of oppression in society and work actively for change; serve as facilitator of the regional women's movement.
- Cátedra Regional UNESCO Mujer, ciencia y tecnología en América LatinaCátedra es un centro de formación, creación y difusión de conocimientos sobre la participación, contribuciones, usos y demandas de las mujeres en los ámbitos científicos y tecnológicos. Realiza programas y proyectos a nivel nacional, regional e internacional que articulan la perspectiva de género con la educación en ciencias, tecnología, innovación, salud y comunicación. Propicia la creación de redes y comunidades virtuales de aprendizaje y práctica.
Resources about GLBTTI (gay, lesbianas, travestis, transexuales & intersexuales) in Latin America
- Biblioteca FragmentadaBiblioteca Fragmentada es una biblioteca virtual feminista y lesbiana creada en enero del año 2010, en Santiago de Chile. Nuestra intención es articular una red de intercambio de lecturas y miradas críticas en torno a los procesos de construcción de las normas que ordenan géneros, las identidades sexuales y las relaciones de poder que surgen desde ellos.
- Federacion argentina LGTBLa Federación Argentina LGBT se formó el 28 de junio de 2005, Día Internacional del Orgullo LGBT, como una organización federal, con el compromiso de trabajar para lograr los mismos derechos con los mismos nombres. Nacimos para aunar el esfuerzo desde todas las organizaciones que a lo largo a lo ancho del país conforman la institución para aumentar la capacidad de incidencia social y política del movimiento LGBT
- Comunicación, Periodismo y Género. Una mirada desde IberoaméricaOller Alonso, Martín; Tornay Márquez, Mª Cruz. 2016.
- Revistas impresas argentinas GLTTIBQDíaz-Jatuf, Julio Revistas impresas argentinas GLTTIBQ (gay, lésbica, transexual, travesti, intersexual, bisexual, queer): un acercamiento a la memoria olvidada ., 2017 . In III Congreso Internacional: Nuevos Horizontes de Iberoamérica, Mendoza, Argentina, 8-11 de noviembre 2017. (In Press) [Conference paper]
España
Oh My God!. Nueva revista LGBT.
Cáscara amarga: periodismo y diversidad.
Publicaciones de la Fundación Triángulo. Incluye los títulos Orientaciones, Mundo joven LGBT, Lsbi y Cooperación Internacional.
Moxow. Revista digital mensual dirigida al público gay. 
Inforgay. Información del colectivo LGBT.
Shangay. Revista de distribución gratuita dirigida a la comunidad LGBT española.
Hegoak: Revista de la comunidad LGBT en Euskadi.
Candy: En el año 2004, Luis Venegas (Vitoria-Gasteiz, 1979) observaba como la industria de la moda se inspiraba de forma sistemática en el mundo queer, el transformismo o la estética Drag Queen pero el sector era incapaz de reivindicar esas influencias. Luis recordó la frase de Kennedy: “No preguntes lo que tu país puede hacer por ti, pregunta lo que tú puedes hacer por tu país’, cambió ‘país’ por ‘LGTBIQ+’ y fundó la revista Candy. El objetivo era celebrar el travestismo, la transexualidad y la androginia. Vía telefónica insiste en la palabra "celebrar". "En realidad, cuando visibilizas a una comunidad degradada ya es una declaración de intenciones. No es necesario ser explícitamente reivindicativo”.
Dos Manzanas. Portal de noticias LGBT.
Lambda. Revista decana de la comunidad LGBT en el estado español. Publicada en catalán.
Revista Zero. "En este repaso por el mundo de las revistas gay no podíamos olvidarnos de nuestro propio país y de un clásico como fuera la revista Zero. Se editó en España entre los años 1998 y 2009, con 120 números y mucha repercusión gracias a portadas de famosos gays saliendo del armario y políticos como José Luis Rodríguez Zapatero, Gaspar Llamazares o Alberto Ruiz-Gallardón. Empezó como revista gratuita, luego se hizo de pago y por desgracia terminó desapareciendo. Que no te engañen ahora con la web de una tal Revista Zero, con la que no tiene nada que ver y que se dedica a copiarnos artículos literalmente a nosotros y muchas otras webs." Citado en Cromosoma X
Revista Info gai. Revista gay de distribución gratuita publicada por el Colectiu gai de Barcelona.
Revista GB. (Gay Barcelona)
ALGTB Benidorm y Marina Baixa.
América Latina
Argentina
Gayba. Guía gay de Buenos Aires.
Revista Ommo. Portal LGBT de Córdoba (Argentina).
G-Maps. Mapa e información turística LGBT de Buenos Aires y Mar de Plata.
Bolivia
Chile
Rompiendo el silencio. Revista de temática lesbiana editada en Chile.
Colombia
Guía gay de Colombia. Guía gay de Colombia
Costa Rica
Cuba
Revista Sexología y sociedad. Revista cuatrimestral especializada del Centro Nacional de Educación Sexual (CENESEX).
Ecuador
El Salvador
México
Paraguay
Paragay. Joja Ha Joayhu = Unión e igualdad.
Perú
Venezuela
Otros
Radio GLBT. Emisora de radio on-line de temática LGBT.
Ambiente Magazine. Revista on-line de la comunidad latina en Estados Unidos