Charlottesville and Albemarle History and Research

The Library holds many records for local and regional organizations, including houses of worship, civic organizations, social and recreational clubs, and cultural and arts organizations. Some have been digitized and are available to read in Virgo. Others are indexed by name, record type, or locality.

Search Tips

Consider these tips when conducting your research on area organizations, houses of worship, and clubs.

• Many organizations may have variations in their name. Include associated names when searching for sources.
  • "Delevan Baptist Church " AND "First Baptist Church"
  • Many houses of worship hold their own archives and historical records, including financial documents, membership lists, and special anniversary publications. When possible, you may wish to reach out to them directly. 
• Check with national, conference, or denominational archives. 

Clubs

• Papers of the Charlottesville Garden Club, 1949-2004
• Albemarle Garden Club Papers, 1938-2007

Social Organizations

• Virginia Federation of Business and Professional Women's Clubs, Charlottesville Chapter 1921-1992
• Focus Women's Resource Center, 1989-2004, in Susan Oberman Papers
• Rivanna Trails Foundation, 1998-2010

Library of Virginia

• Digital Collections Discovery Church Records--a selection of digitized records
• Organization Records--from the LoV archives; includes records for many civic clubs and associations, organizations, churches, businesses, and militaria. 
• Virginia Organization Web Archive--includes links to the online presence of many Virginia-based social, civic, cultural, and service groups

The Albemarle Charlottesville Historical Society

• Vertical Files includes clippings, researchers' notes, and miscellaneous information. Check their index for materials on area houses of worship. Contact the Historical Society to see these files in their Research Library.
• Many church-related materials in the Manuscript and Pamphlet Collection have been digitized and are accessible online.  
• Ballenger Creek Church Records, 1835-1865: Two church books contain contains membership lists of white, enslaved, and free Black members, rules for church government, and meeting minutes.