Subject Guide
Sources for literary research
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowThe Dictionary of Literary Biography, available online through the Literature Resource Center database, is an excellent source for detailed biographies of major literary figures across all periods, genres, and nationalities. Search for an author name and click the Biographies tab to see the results.
- Landmarks of American Nature WritingThe online version of a Special Collections exhibit from 1997, featuring examples of nature literature focusing on Western Virginia from the 17th-20th centuries.
Sources for historical research
- America: History & Life (1964-present) This link opens in a new windowThis is the main database for finding scholarly articles about the history of the U.S. and Canada, across all time periods.
- US History in Context This link opens in a new windowPrimary documents, secondary reference sources (Scribner's Dictionary of American History and the Dictionary of American Biography, etc.), and journal articles covering all areas of U.S. history from pre-colonial times to the present day.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowLarge general database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers on many topics. Also includes reference books (World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary), biographies, speeches, images, and other primary source documents.
Sources for newspaper content
The library has vast collections of newspapers, historical and current, in print, on microfilm, and online. Consult the newspapers guide for more information, and see especially the page on Virginia newspaper resources.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowA searchable archive of mainstream US newspapers, including the NY Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Chicago Tribune, the Washington Post, and the LA Times, as well as prominent black newspapers including the Chicago Defender, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Pittsburgh Courier, Baltimore Afro-American, and NY Amsterdam News.
- America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1991) This link opens in a new windowSearchable full text collection of US newspapers. For additional titles see 19th Century U.S. Newspapers.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowThe best source for current newspaper content, from anywhere in the world.
Sources for finding maps
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map CollectionA general collection of more than 250,000 maps covering all areas of the world, held at the University of Texas. More than 5,000 map images from the collection are available online. This includes the general use maps such as those produced by the CIA as well as some historic city plans that are included from travel guides and bluebooks.
- Library of Congress Digital Map CollectionsThis online collection includes thousands of historical and current maps from all over the world. Browse for maps of cities and towns, railroads and other transportation maps, conservation and environment, maps of national parks, and so on.
Shannon also has a large physical map collection, located on the 3rd floor. These include detailed topographic maps for all 50 states from the US Geological Survey. For a full listing of all map resources, consult the maps guide.