Research Librarian for History and Religious Studies
Finding Books
- Google BooksSearches the full text of thousands of books. If used in conjunction with Amazon.com full text search of a book, can get most of the text of a book.
Finding Scholarly Articles
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowFind articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada. For these see America: History & Life.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. The Archive Journal Collection is included.
- MLA International Bibliography (Ebsco) This link opens in a new windowLists books plus articles and essays from journals and books on literature, linguistics, and folklore. Before 1956 covered only scholarship published in North America.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowFind journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, theses & dissertations, documents and other materials on all aspects of women's studies.
Finding Primary Sources
- Times Digital Archive: 1785-2014 This link opens in a new windowThe full text of the Times of London from 1785-2014.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowNew York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Pittsburgh Courier, NY Amsterdam News, Baltimore Afro-American, Washington Post, and The Guardian & The Observer.
- 19th Century British Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearchable full text and page images of 48 national and regional British newspapers.
- 19th Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowA global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long 19th century. Content consists of monographs, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, etc. in both Western and non-Western languages.
- 19th Century UK Periodicals, Parts I and II This link opens in a new windowDiscover the events, lives, values, and themes that shaped the British Empire and the nineteenth-century world.
- British Periodicals This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture
British Documents on Foreign Affairs--Reports and Papers from the Foreign Office Confidential Print. Diplomatic dispatches and other papers that, went to the king, were sent to important embassies abroad, or were circulated to other major departments of government. As its name indicates, the Confidential Print was not available to the public because it included sensitive information. Series B, parts II and II, cover the Near and Middle East; series G, parts I and II, covers Africa, including Egypt. Held in Shannon Library.
Series A: Russian, 1859-1914. 6 vols. (ALD-STKS JX 632 .B74 1983).
Series B: Near and Middle East, 1856-1914. 6 vols. Archive Editions, 1995. (ALD-STKS JX 632 .B745 1984).
Series F: Europe, 1848-1914. 20vols. (View Full Text from Hathi Trust).
Series G: Africa, 1848-1914. 25 vols. (ALD-STKS JX 632 .B769 1995).
- GallicaDigitized collections of the Bibliotheque Nationale de France.