Historical Abstracts Find articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 historical journals from many countries. Includes book reviews.
Search: Algeria counterinsurgency
JSTOR Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present. Advanced Search gives you more control over your search results.
Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers Searchable full text and page images of 48 national and regional British newspapers from the collections of the British Library. For "The Times" see "The Times: Digital Archive."
Search: Gordon Khartoum Dates Between = Jan 1, 1885 - June 30, 1885
The Times: Digital Archive, 1785-1985 Search the full text of The Times (London), including articles, advertisements, and picture captions.
Search: Amritsar Publication Date Between = April 13, 1919 - Dec 31, 1919
Periodicals Archive Online Search the full text of nearly 400 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990's.
Advanced Search: "Boer War" Publication Date Between = Oct 1, 1899 - Dec 31, 1905
Document Type = Article
Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2006 Weekly reporting, commentary and analysis of global developments in politics, business, science, technology and culture from 1843 to 2006.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Lives of British persons from the earliest times to the end of the 20th century. IMPORTANT: our access is limited; please click the LOGOUT link when done.
Hansard 1803-2005 (Hansard Millbanks) Searchable site of debates in Parliament, produced from digitised editions of Commons and Lords Hansard, the Official Report of parliamentary activities. This is part of a project led by the Commons and Lords libraries.
Search = aeroplanes Iraq
British Parliamentary Papers in Alderman Library This guide is meant for those beginning research in British Parliamentary Papers. It focuses on Alderman Library's 19th and 20th century holdings and lists indexes and finding aids for Sessional papers (Bill, Reports and Command Papers), Journals, and Debates.
Digital International Historical Newspaper Archives Mostly free access. Well organized, user-friendly. Links to general websites as well as to scores of archives by country, in Europe, Asia, Africa, Latin America and North American and the Caribbean, Australia. From Providence College.
Historical International Newspapers on Microfilm at UVA Arranged by country and years covered. Most microfilm and microfilm readers are located on Alderman Library's 3rd floor.
WorldCat Online listing of books, videos, manuscripts, and other materials held by thousands of libraries worldwide. Libraries that own each item are listed. Searchable by title, author, or keyword.