This guide was created to help you prepare for your final research paper for ENGL 2599 and as a general guide to resources related Jane Austen, her works, and her influence and legacy in popular culture.
In preparation for your research assignment, you should think some about possible questions/topics of interest to start your research. You will also want to spend some time thinking about how you will conduct your research.
Need help? Ask a librarian.
Databases for Researching Literature (See an A-Z list of all databases)
MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB) indexes the broadest range of resources about literature in all languages, as well as film, television, and popular culture, including over 4,000 journals as well as books and dissertations. For articles not available full-text in MLA, click on “Find article @ UVa Libraries,” or look up the journal title in Virgo, the library catalog.
ProQuest One Literature is for scholars who want to engage with an exhaustive and diverse set of scholarly resources around a given literary topic for research. It contains 3 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works – including rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theater performances, and author readings.
JSTOR includes older issues of scholarly journals in many disciplines including literature, from the start to 3-5 years ago.
Project Muse offers searchable full text of nearly 600 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, mostly from North American university presses. Older volumes are often available from JSTOR.
Databases for searching a wide range of multidisciplinary topics related to Austen and popular culture
Academic Search Complete is a large general database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers on many topics. Updated daily, it can be the best source for resources about very current topics.
Virgo, the UVA Library’s primary search tool, contains catalog records for books, print journals, DVDs, maps, and digitized materials, as well as links to online articles from our rich array of subscription journals. You can search catalog materials and articles together, or view those results separately, using the facets provided to limit your results by author, format, publication period, and more. To find online content, use Filter Results By (on the left) and choose Online.
Example subject terms of possible interest:
Many versions and adaptations of the novels you are reading in class can be found by searching VIRGO, the UVA Library catalog. Below, you will find a few examples of different adaptations of Austen's novels.