Library Session Google Sheet
- Potential Sources Google SheetLink to the library class activity.
Undergraduate Student Success Librarian
Research Librarian for English
Reference Source
Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media by Call Number: E-book: Use link in Virgo record to accessISBN: 0761926887Publication Date: 2010-10-28This one-volume encyclopedia features around 250 essays on the varied experiences of social movement media over the planet in the 20th and 21st centuries. Thematic essays address selected issues such as human rights media, indigenous peoples' media, and environmentalist media, and on key concepts widely used in the field such as alternative media, citizens' media, and community media. The Encyclopedia engages with all communication media: broadcasting, print, cinema, the Internet, popular song, street theatre, graffiti and dance.
Streaming Media of Possible Interest
- Art: 21: Art in the 21st CenturyThree seasons of Art:21 are available streaming through the library (individual episodes can be found in Virgo). Find out more about the series and watch some of the episodes at their website: https://art21.org/
Sites of Possible Interest
- Artsy.netArtsy features the world’s leading galleries, museum collections, foundations, artist estates, art fairs, and benefit auctions, all in one place. Our growing database of 1,000,000 works of art, architecture, and design by 100,000 artists spans historical, modern, and contemporary works, and includes the largest online database of contemporary art. Artsy is used by art lovers, museum-goers, patrons, collectors, students, and educators to discover, learn about, and collect art.
- MoMA LearningMoMA Learning is your destination for engaging with modern and contemporary art. It reflects the profound shift toward digital learning since the Museum launched its first curriculum website in 2006—a transition not only from print to digital, but towards customizable, interactive, self-guided, anytime-anywhere learning. MoMA Learning aggregates a wealth of content produced by the Museum and links to exemplary content from other sites, encouraging a thematic exploration of art and offering downloadable and customizable slideshows, worksheets, and many other resources for use in the classroom or for independent study.
- My Modern Met - What is Contemporary Art?One of many blog posts that talk about art movements and artists from the Met.
Helpful URLs
- Ask a LibrarianQuestions? Ask us! Chat, call, text, or email anytime.
- Purchase RecommendationsIs there an ebook you think the UVA Library should own but doesn't? Make a purchase recommendation.
- Using Databases Off GroundsHave questions about accessing databases from off-grounds? Find more information here.
For Fun
- Google Arts and CultureGoogle Arts & Culture is a non-profit initiative. We work with cultural institutions and artists around the world. Together, our mission is to preserve and bring the world’s art and culture online so it’s accessible to anyone, anywhere.
Preparing for Research
This guide was created to help you prepare for your annotated bibliography research project for ENWR 1510 and as a general guide to resources related to art.
In preparation for your annotated bibliography assignment, in addition to think about what kind of information you are seeking, you will also want to spend some time thinking about how you will conduct your research.
- Fine-tune your searches.
Think broadly when brainstorming search terms. What synonyms or related terms could stand in for your key search terms?
You can combine search terms using AND (Aguilar AND painting AND photographs) and OR (activism OR advocacy OR championing). Place terms you want to be searched as a phrase in quotation marks " ".
In many databases, the asterisk (*) is a truncation or "wildcard" symbol that will match all possible endings for a word stem. For example, sex* will match sexism, sexual, sexuality, sexualize, sexless, etc.
Most databases have filters or facets that allow you to narrow your results by subject, date range, etc. Limit your searches to help you find the sources you need.
- Think about where you might find the type of information you are seeking.
Will you find the research you need in an e-book? An article? A newspaper? A documentary? An interview? For this assignment, you will likely be looking for journal articles and/or essays/chapters from books. In general, though, when conducting research cast a wide net when looking for the types of resources that could help answer your research question or support an argument you are making.
- Know the difference between academic and non-academic sources, and when it's appropriate to use them.
Most databases allow you to limit results to academic/scholarly/peer-reviewed sources. Be mindful of your assignment and what you're being asked to provide. Need a refresher? Watch the short video Peer Review in 3 Minutes.
- When you find a good source, use it to find other good sources.
Use the subject terms and keywords associated with an item to find other items on similar topics. Scholarly books and articles will have works cited, bibliographies, or footnotes you can mine for additional resources.
Need help? Ask a librarian.
Finding articles
Databases for Researching Art (See an A-Z list of all databases)
Art Full Text includes articles and art reproductions in all arts media from selected periodicals. Covers 1984-present. Abstracts are included from 1994 on; full-text of articles from some journals from 1997 on.
Art Index Retro includes articles and art reproductions in all arts media from selected periodicals. Covers 1929-1984. Abstracts are included from 1994 on; full-text of articles from some journals from 1997 on.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) includes abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art published since the late 1960s.
Oxford Art Online is a comprehensive encyclopedia of the visual arts of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific with links to tens of thousands of images.
Database for searching a wide range of multidisciplinary topics
Academic Search Complete is a large general database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers on many topics. Updated daily, it can be the best source for resources about very current topics.
Databases for searching for newspaper articles
Newspaper Source Plus provides the full text of major American newspapers and some foreign newspapers plus selected stories from other US regional newspapers. Also includes full-text of transcripts for television and radio network news broadcasts.
NexisUni includes news and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
Finding books & articles using Virgo
Virgo, the UVA Library’s primary search tool, contains catalog records for books, print journals, DVDs, maps, and digitized materials, as well as links to online articles from our rich array of subscription journals. You can search catalog materials and articles together - a regular search will provide tabs for books, articles, and other materials. You can also use the Filter tools on the left to limit your results by author, format, publication date, and more. To find online, set the Availability filter to Online to limit your catalog search results.
Example subject terms related to art & artists:
- African American artists -- 21st century
- Art and social action
- Art and society -- United States
- Art - Economic Aspects
- Art, Modern - 21st century
- Art - Political Aspects
- Ecology in Art
- Feminism and art
- Identity (Psychology) in art
- Installations (Art)
- Interactive Art
- Memorialization -- United States
- Mural painting and decoration, American
- Pop art
- Portrait drawing, American
- Still-life painting
- Time in art
Example Print Books & E-Books of Interest
Art As Enterprise: Social and Economic Entanglement in Contemporary Art by Call Number: Fine Arts N8600 .M43 2016ISBN: 9781784534103Publication Date: 2016Art is produced, circulated, consumed and disseminated within an economic system - it depends on money for its creation, for the livelihood of its makers, and for its distribution. In this sense, art can be understood as an enterprising activity. However, profit-making is rarely the primary goal of artists, and indeed the entanglement of art with enterprise generates significant aesthetic, conceptual, philosophical and ethical challenges for contemporary art practice. Social enterprise has emerged from this complex terrain with the promise of an alternative model of economic organisation in the arts. Grace McQuilten and Anthony White argue that artists can, and have, engaged critically in the commercial market, by way of this model. Art as Enterprise brings a fresh perspective to the debate about the roles of contemporary art in consumer capitalist society.
The Art of American Still Life: Audubon to Warhol by Call Number: Fine Arts Oversize ND1392 .M57 2015ISBN: 9780300204117Publication Date: 2015An engaging survey of American still-life painting that reinterprets beloved works and introduces lesser-known ones, providing a compelling new synthesis of the subject The Art of American Still Life reconsiders the development and cultural significance of still-life painting in America, exploring renowned treasures alongside recently discovered works--some previously unpublished--in unexpected ways. Taking an innovative approach to the genre, this captivating survey newly divides American still life into four discrete eras, each characterized by a predominant form of vision: describing, indulging, discerning, and animating. Works are grouped in "conversations" and explored in accompanying texts to reveal wider cultural meaning. Introductory essays investigate the many interactions between still life and American culture, examining the close connections between still-life painting and other visual discourses, including natural history, illustration, and commercial photography; the roles objects have played in American literature and art; the Philadelphia region's defining and lasting impact on the genre; and the reception of still life in American art and art history. The first major study of American still life in a generation,The Art of American Still Life is destined to become a standard reference on the subject.
A Companion to Feminist Art by Call Number: Ebook - Access online using link in VirgoISBN: 9781118929155Publication Date: 2019Original essays offering fresh ideas and global perspectives on contemporary feminist art The term 'feminist art' is often misused when viewed as a codification within the discipline of Art History--a codification that includes restrictive definitions of geography, chronology, style, materials, influence, and other definitions inherent to Art Historical and museological classifications. Employing a different approach, A Companion to Feminist Art defines 'art' as a dynamic set of material and theoretical practices in the realm of culture, and 'feminism' as an equally dynamic set of activist and theoretical practices in the realm of politics. Feminist art, therefore, is not a simple classification of a type of art, but rather the space where feminist politics and the domain of art-making intersect. The Companion provides readers with an overview of the developments, concepts, trends, influences, and activities within the space of contemporary feminist art--in different locations, ways of making, and ways of thinking. Newly-commissioned essays focus on the recent history of and current discussions within feminist art.
Cultures of Violence: Visual Arts and Political Violence by Call Number: Ebook - Access online using link in VirgoISBN: 9780429460357Publication Date: 2020Investigating art practitioners' responses to violence, this book considers how artists have used art practices to rethink concepts of violence and non-violence. It explores the strategies that artists have deployed to expose physical and symbolic violence through representational, performative and interventional means. It examines how intellectual and material contexts have affected art interventions and how visual arts can open up critical spaces to explore violence without reinforcement or recuperation. Its premises are that art is not only able to contest prevailing norms about violence but that contemporary artists are consciously engaging with publics through their practice in order to do so. Contributors respond to three questions: how can political violence be understood or interpreted through art? How are publics understood or identified? How are art interventions designed to shift, challenge or respond to public perceptions of political violence and how are they constrained by them? They discuss violence in the everyday and at state level: the Watts' Rebellion and Occupy, repression in Russia, domination in Hong Kong, the violence of migration and the unfolding art activist logic of the sigma portfolio. Asking how public debates can be shaped through the visual and performing arts and setting taboos about violence to one side, the volume provides an innovative approach to a perennial issue of interest to scholars of international politics, art and cultural studies.
Cut in Stone: Confederate Monuments and Theological Disruption by Call Number: E-book: Use link in Virgo record to accessISBN: 9781481312189Publication Date: 2020Confederate monuments figure prominently as epicenters of social conflict. These stone and metal constructs resonate with the tensions of modern America, giving concrete definition to the ideologies that divide us. Confederate monuments alone did not generate these feelings of aggravation, but they are far from innocent. Rather than serving as neutral objects of public remembrance, Confederate monuments articulate a narration of the past that forms the basis for a normative vision of the future. The story, told through the character of a religious mythos, carries implicit sacred convictions; thus, these spires and statues are inherently theological. In Cut in Stone, Ryan Andrew Newson contends that we cannot fully understand or disrupt these statues without attending to the convictions that give them their power. With a careful overview of the historical contexts in which most Confederate monuments were constructed, Newson demonstrates that these "memorials" were part of a revisionary project intended to resist the social changes brought on by Reconstruction while maintaining a romanticized Southern identity. Confederate monuments thus reinforce a theology concerning the nature of sacrifice and the ultimacy of whiteness. Moreover, this underlying theology serves to conceal inherited collective wounds in the present. If Confederate monuments are theologically weighted in their allure, then it stands to reason that they must also be contested at this level--precisely as sacred symbols. Newson responds to these inherently theological objects with suggestions for action that are sensitive to the varying contexts within which monuments reside, showing that while all Confederate monuments must come under scrutiny, some monuments should remain standing, but in redefined contexts. Cut in Stone represents the first detailed theological investigation of Confederate monuments, a resource for the larger collective task of determining how to memorialize problematic pasts and how to shape public space amidst contested memory.
Cutting a Figure: Fashioning Black Portraiture by Call Number: Fine Arts NX652 .A37 P69 2008ISBN: 9780226677279Publication Date: 2008Examining portraits of black people over the past two centuries, Cutting a Figure argues that these images should be viewed as a distinct category of portraiture that differs significantly from depictions of people with other racial and ethnic backgrounds. The difference, Richard Powell contends, lies in the social capital that stems directly from the black subject’s power to subvert dominant racist representations by evincing such traits as self-composure, self-adornment, and self-imagining. Powell forcefully supports this argument with evidence drawn from a survey of nineteenth-century portraits, in-depth case studies of the postwar fashion model Donyale Luna and the contemporary portraitist Barkley L. Hendricks, and insightful analyses of images created since the late 1970s. Along the way, he discusses major artists such as Frédéric Bazille, John Singer Sargent, James Van Der Zee, and David Hammons alongside such overlooked producers of black visual culture as the Tonka and Nike corporations. Combining previously unpublished images with scrupulous archival research, Cutting a Figure illuminates the ideological nature of the genre and the centrality of race and cultural identity in understanding modern and contemporary portraiture.
Ecological Crisis and Cultural Representation in Latin America: Ecocritical Perspectives on Art, Film, and Literature by Call Number: Clemons PQ7081 .A1 E35 2016ISBN: 9781498530958Publication Date: 2016Worldwide environmental crisis has become increasingly visible over the last few decades as the full scope of anthropogenic climate change manifests itself and large-scale natural resource extraction has expanded into formerly remote areas that seemed beyond the reach of industrialization. Scientists and popular culture alike have turned to the term "Anthropocene" to capture the global scale of environmental and even geological transformations that humans have carried out over the last two centuries. The chapters in Ecological Crisis and Cultural Representation in Latin America examine the dynamics and interplay between local cultures and the expansion of global capitalism in Latin America, emphasizing the role of art in bearing witness to and generating awareness of environmental and social crises, but also its possibilities for formulating solutions.
Gravity in Art: Essays on Weight and Weightlessness in Painting, Sculpture and Photography by Call Number: Fine Arts N8217 .G747 G73 2012ISBN: 9780786465743Publication Date: 2012The gravitational pull of the earth and the challenge to resist it have long inspired artists. Like the Greek vases depicting Sisyphus's endless quest to push his boulder up a hill and the Whirlwind Lovers in Dante's Inferno, images that portray the defiance of gravity or submission to it permeate the artistic world. This collection examines the ways artists from antiquity to today use gravity and levity symbolically, metaphorically, and expressively. The 26 essays examine these opposing forces through analysis of such dualities as ascent and descent, weight and weightlessness, hope and despair, or life and death, and draw distinct lines between the works of art and texts of such writers and thinkers as Homer, Aristotle, Newton, Marx and Einstein. Together, they demonstrate that as our ideas about this essential force or space-time concept change, so too, do artists create new ways to represent visually the phenomenon of gravity.
Illness As Many Narratives: Arts, Medicine and Culture by Call Number: E-book: Use link in Virgo record to accessISBN: 9781474402422Publication Date: 2016"Illness narratives have become a cultural phenomenon in the Western world. In what ways can they be seen to have aesthetic, ethical and political value? What do they reveal about experiences of illness, the relationship between the body and identity and the role of the arts in bearing witness to illness for people who are ill and those connected to them? How can they influence medicine, the arts and shape public understandings of health and illness? These questions and more are explored in Illness as Many Narratives, which contains readings of a rich array of representations of illness from the 1980s to the present. A wide range of arts and media are considered such as life writing, photography, performance, film, theatre, artists' books and animation. The individual chapters deploy multidisciplinary critical frameworks and discuss physical and mental illness. Through reading this book you will gain an understanding of the complex contribution illness narratives make to contemporary culture and the emergent field of Critical Medical Humanities."
Infinite Instances: Studies and Images of Time by Call Number: Fine Arts NX650 .T5 I55x 2011ISBN: 9781935613213Publication Date: 2011The notion of time has always mystified and attracted the speculation of societies and civilizations. Each major stage of our lives is delineated by a construct of time: birth, death, marriage, retirement. Deadlines rule our working days and, increasingly, our leisure activities. Artist and designer Olga Ast, thanks to the contributions of approximately sixty international artists, writers, scientists, architects and filmmakers, has compiled in "Infinite Instances" an astounding compendium of studies of time.
Installation Art: A Critical History by Call Number: Ebook - Access online using link in Virgo (sign in to HathiTrust to access)ISBN: 9780415974127Publication Date: 2005Installation is one of the most popular and widespread forms of contemporary art. Installation Art provides the first clear account of the rise of installation as a form while revisiting and, in some cases, reassessing many well-known names of post-1960 art. This lavishly produced volume also introduces the reader to a wider spectrum of younger artists yet to receive serious critical attention.
Interactive Art and Embodiment: The Implicit Body as Performance by Call Number: Fine Arts N6494 .I57 S74 2013ISBN: 9781780240091Publication Date: 2013What is interactive art? Is this a genre? A medium? An art movement? Must a work be physically active to be classified as such, or do we interact when we sense and make sense? Is a switch-throw or link-click enough - I do this, and that happens - or must subjects and objects be confused over time? Is interaction multiple in its engagements (relational), or a one-to-one reaction (programmed)? Are interactive designs somehow more democratic and individualized than others, or is that merely a commercial strategy to sell products and ideas?
Memory Passages: Holocaust Memorials in the United States and Germany by Call Number: Clemons D804.17 .G65 2020ISBN: 9781439914236Publication Date: 2020For decades, artists and architects have struggled to relate to the Holocaust in visual form, resulting in memorials that feature a diversity of aesthetic strategies. In Memory Passages, Natasha Goldman analyzes both previously-overlooked and internationally-recognized Holocaust memorials in the United States and Germany from the postwar period to the present, drawing on many historical documents for the first time. From the perspectives of visual culture and art history, the book examines changing attitudes toward the Holocaust and the artistic choices that respond to it.The book introduces lesser-known sculptures, such as Nathan Rapoport's Monument to the Six Million Jewish Martyrs in Philadelphia, as well as internationally-acclaimed works, such as Peter Eisenman's Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe in Berlin. Other artists examined include Will Lammert, Richard Serra, Joel Shapiro, Gerson Fehrenbach, Margit Kahl, and Andy Goldsworthy.Archival documents and interviews with commissioners, survivors, and artists reveal the conversations and decisions that have shaped Holocaust memorials.Memory Passages suggests that memorial designers challenge visitors to navigate and activate spaces to engage with history and memory by virtue of walking or meandering. This book will be valuable for anyone teaching--or seeking to better understand--the Holocaust.
Pop Art by Call Number: Fine Arts N6494 .P6 F75 2018ISBN: 9780500293584Publication Date: 2018With its bold colours, flashy imagery and ironic spirit, Pop Art trespasses the traditional boundaries separating high from low culture. Flavia Frigeri introduces us to a movement that focuses on everyday objects, from its beginnings in the post-war consumerism of America and Britain to its fascinating rise on a global scale in the 1960s. The work of well-known artists, such as Andy Warhol, Roy Lichtenstein, Richard Hamilton and Peter Blake, is set in dialogue with that of Japanese Ushio Shinohara, Venezuelan Marisol and Argentinian Marta Minujín, among others. Organized around key themes common to all Pop Art, including advertising, politics, the domestic realm, consumer goods, art history, celebrity culture, war and the space race, this is an essential introduction to the movement that transformed the 'popular' into art. A reference section includes a useful timeline, glossary of Pop terms and suggestions for further reading.
Portrayal and the Search for Identity by Call Number: Fine Arts N7575 .P568 2013ISBN: 9781780230412Publication Date: 2012We are surrounded with portraits: from the cipher-like portrait of a president on a bank note to security pass photos; from images of politicians in the media to Facebook; from galleries exhibiting Titian or Leonardo to contemporary art deploying the self-image, as with Jeff Koons or Cindy Sherman. In antiquity portraiture was of major importance in the exercise of power. Today it remains not only a part of everyday life, but also a crucial way for artists to define themselves in relation to their environment and their contemporaries. In Portrayal and the Search for Identity, Marcia Pointon investigates how we view and understand portraiture as a genre and how portraits function as artworks within social and political networks. Likeness is never a straightforward matter, as we rarely have the subject of a portrait as a point of comparison. Featuring familiar canonical works and little-known portraits, Portrayal seeks to unsettle notions of portraiture as an art of convention, a reassuring reflection of social realities. Pointon invites readers to consider how identity is produced pictorially and where likeness is registered apart from in a face. In exploring these issues, she addresses wide-ranging problems such as the construction of masculinity in dress, representations of slaves, and self-portraiture in relation to mortality.
Walls of Heritage, Walls of Pride: African American Murals by Call Number: Fine Arts ND2639.3 .A35 D86 2000ISBN: 9780764913396Publication Date: 2000Two hundred African American murals representing the breadth of the country's urban landscape--from New York to Los Angeles, Milwaukee to Atlanta--are gathered for the first time in this striking collection. Recounting a tradition of thirty years of mural art, from the creation in 1967 of Chicago's landmark "Wall of Respect " to the hip-hop renderings of the nineties, the book also introduces many new works--some published for the first time.
Walls of Heritage showcases the work of such renowned artists as Charles White, Aaron Douglas, Jacob Lawrence, Hale Woodruff, and John Biggers, as well as the work of extraordinary muralists such as William Walker, Calvin Jones, Mitchell Caton, and Dewey Crumpler. The book also brings the voices of the muralists to the fore, including descriptive narratives by the artists themselves. The book includes artist biographies, an extensive state-by-state listing of the murals in the United States, and informative essays by art historians Floyd Coleman, Ph.D. and Michael Harris, Ph.D.
