Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENWR 1510: Writing Power - Language Politics in Communities and Controversies

Research guide for students in Tarushi Sonthalia's Fall 2020 ENWR 1510 class.

Researching Textual History

The resources in this guide are meant to help students in Tarushi Sonthalia's ENWR 1510 research the circulation networks and reception of your chosen works. 

Finding books & articles using Virgo

Virgo, the UVA Library’s primary search tool, contains catalog records for books, print journals, DVDs, maps, and digitized materials, as well as links to online articles from our rich array of subscription journals. You can search catalog materials and articles together, or view those results separately, using the facets provided to limit your results by author, format, publication period, and more.  To find online content, use Filter Results By (on the left) and choose Online.

The UVA Library has a huge collection of films, both in the physical collection (DVDs) and streaming. You can search for films in Virgo (see above), or check out the various databases of streaming videos we have at this link.

Finding secondary scholarship about your work

For Novels or Books

The MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB) indexes the broadest range of resources about literature in all languages.  If a literary study of your novel exists, you should find it here. It is not a full-text resource, meaning that you can only search the description of an article, rather than the text of the article. To get the full text of an article, click on “Find article @ UVa Libraries”, or look up the journal title in VIRGO.

ProQuest One Literature contains similar content to the MLA International Bibliography. It also includes primary sources like rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings.
 

For Music 

Music Periodicals Database includes articles from international music journal. Also indexes feature music articles, book reviews, and obituaries appearing in the New York Times and the Washington Post.

Rock's Backpages is an online library of popular music journalism spanning 50 years and including many noted writers.
 

For Business (Advertising Campaigns) and Sports

Business Source Complete covers topics such as marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Find articles plus financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, market, industry, and country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.

SPORT Discus sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, coaching, recreation, and more, including Sports Illustrated articles.


For Communication, Media, Film, and Television

Communication & Mass Media Complete provides coverage of journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. 

Film & Television Literature Index searches reviews of films and articles on theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, and technical aspects of both film and television in the US and internationally.

 

For History and Religion

America: History & Life covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present. 

Historical Abstracts searches articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present.

ATLA Religion Databases searches articles on all aspects of religious studies from journals in many disciplines. Includes citations to book chapters and to book reviews. 

Bible in English, 1530-1976 contains twenty-one versions of the Bible. In addition to the thirteen complete Bibles, there are five New Testaments, two versions of the Gospels, and William Tyndale's New Testament, Pentateuch and Jonah.

Race Relations Abstracts - With a singular focus on relationship between and among races, this resource includes abstracting for the top academic journals, books, periodicals and newspapers in the field.

 

General and Multi-disciplinary

Academic Search Complete is a large general database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers on many topics. Also includes reference books (World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary), biographies, speeches, images, and other primary source documents.

Humanities International Complete searches journals, books, and other publications. Topics covered include archaeology, art, dance, drama, ethnic and women's studies, history, literature, music, philosophy, poetry, religion.

JSTOR includes older issues of scholarly journals, from their beginnings to 3-5 years ago. Articles in JSTOR should be full-text, if we subscribe to the journal. 

Researching the reception of a work

Literature Resource Center (LRC) includes reviews and news related to literary works. Some texts also include multimedia results like interviews or radio discussions of a work. 

Historic periodical and newspaper databases are great sources for finding contemporary reviews of works. Below are a few databases you might consider searching. 

American Periodicals Series (1740-1940) includes full text of over 1000 magazines and journals published in the US between 1740 and 1940.

Life Magazine Archive consists of cover to cover processing dating back to issue number one in 1936 of the American variety magazine Life, published by Time Inc.

Time Magazine Archive consists of cover to cover processing dating back to issue number one in 1923 of the American popular magazine Time, published by Time Inc.

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive contains primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers lets you search 11 databases at once, covering historic newspapers including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, the Washington Post, and more.

19th Century U.S. Newspapers includes searchable full text and page images of U.S. Newspapers from the 19th century.

20th Century American Newspapers, Series I, part of the America's Historical Newspapers collection, this section includes issues published between 1921 and 1967.

Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

For newspapers and periodicals like the New York Times Book Review and the New York Review of Books, search on the web in their archives for your literary works. If you cannot get free access to relevant articles online, we have access to these titles through the library - search in Virgo or contact Cecelia for help.