Librarian Info
Erich Purpur
Contact:
Clark Hall
Brown Science & Engineering Library
Office - I046
ep9k@virginia.edu
Brown Science & Engineering Library
Office - I046
ep9k@virginia.edu
434 924 1557
Library Covid Response
Library Changes because of COVID-19 Response:
https://www.library.virginia.edu/news/covid-19
We will also post about major changes when they happen. Sign up to get those in your email:
http://news.library.virginia.edu/
Core Databases for Engineering Systems & Environment (Combined Guide for Civil & Environmental Engineering + Systems Engineering)
- ASCE Research Library (1995-present) This link opens in a new windowSearch journals published by the society. Topics include engineering and architecture, coasts, energy, environment, materials, transportation, and water resources. Our subscription only allows access to journals, not to conference proceedings.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowCombines the databases Compendex, Inspec, Inspec Archive, and NTIS with one search interface.
- Compendex (Ei Compendex*Plus) This link opens in a new windowA large interdisciplinary engineering database listing journal articles, technical reports and conferences. Includes book reviews.
- Civil Engineering Abstracts1966-present
Search for publications on civil engineering and related fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, and theoretical mechanics and dynamics.
- Environmental Engineering Abstracts This link opens in a new windowPart of Engineering Index. This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on all technological and engineering aspects of air, water and soil quality, environmental safety, sustainability and energy production.
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management This link opens in a new windowPart of Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection. Multidisciplinary database of environmental sciences information from over 4000 journals as well as conference proceedings and books.
- TRID - The TRIS and ITRD DatabaseTRID is a newly integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide.
- Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes Science Citation Index (1970-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present). Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information. Citations include number of times the article has been cited.
- ASTM Science and Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new windowThe ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
VTRC/VDOT Library
- Virginia Transportation Research Council LibraryLocated on Grounds, materials are available for UVa researchers. Some materials can only be accessed in person at the VTRC Library, but many are available on line.
Subscribe to their blog for occasional updates as new resources are added, or existing ones are highlighted.
http://library.virginiadot.org/blog
More Databases
To see a complete list of available Civil & Environmental Engineering databases, click on the Find Articles/Databases menu item to the left.
To search for books about Civil & Environmental Engineering, click on the Find Books menu item to the left.
You can access additonal kinds of information relating to Civil & Environmental Engineering using the other menu items on the left.
Libra
Libra makes UVA scholarship available to the world and provides safe and secure storage for the scholarly output of the UVA community. Libra is an Open Access repository, meaning that anyone can search, view, and download content. For questions or feedback, contact us: libra@virginia.edu
More Information
- Ask a LibrarianFor Instructors wishing to place items on reserve for a course.
- Interlibrary LoanOrder books and articles not found at UVa through this free service.
- Off-Grounds Access to Databases, Journals, etc.REMEMBER: if you want to use library databases from home or while you are traveling, you'll need to set up off-grounds access!
- Place Items on ReserveFor instructors wishing to place items on reserve for a course.
- Purchase RequestsUse this link to submit a request to ask the Library to purchase a book for the UVA Library.