Expanded temporary access to JSTOR's collection of over 35,000 ebooks, in addition to all JSTOR Archive and Primary Source collections, is now available through December 31, 2020.
Among the publishers currently opting to make content free on Project MUSE are Johns Hopkins University Press (all books and journals), Ohio State University Press (all books and journals), University of Nebraska Press (all books and journals), University of North Carolina Press (all books), Temple University Press (all books), and Vanderbilt University Press (selected books). Additional participants will continually be added and update in the list of publishers offering free access to content.
Content that is freely available on the Project MUSE platform during the COVID-19 crisis will display a distinctive "Free" icon, different from the "OA" icon used for fully open access content on MUSE, or the familiar green checkmark that users associate with content held by their library. MUSE search results, by default, include any content to which a user has access, so will offer the researcher any relevant free, OA, or entitled articles and books. There are over 2000 open access books and a small number of fully OA journals on the MUSE platform.
For the duration of this crisis, all Ohio State University Press monographs, and the linguistics textbook language files, will be open and free to use through the Ohio State University Libraries’ Institutional Repository, The Knowledge Bank.
HathiTrust has temporarily opened up copyrighted material in their digital library to member institutions with copies of those items in their physical collections. HathiTrust’s online collection contains more than half of the UVA Library’s book collection. To take advantage of this resource, follow these instruction. Note that you are not able to download the book in any way; you may only read it online in an active session while using HathiTrust. This is to protect the author’s rights. You will have 60 minutes of access to the book during any session. If you remain active in the book during any session, access time will be extended.
American Society for Microbiology (ASM)- research articles published over the last year in ASM’s 16 scholarly journals
JSTORE - Free access to new Public Health journals through December 31, 2020.
Library Journal - temporary full-access pass for all readers to all premium content, usually available only to premium subscribers. Please enter with the following credentials: Login: firstname.lastname@example.org; Password: LJfullaccess1. During the COVID crisis, also providing free access to the digitized editions of the magazine archive, including the latest issue. To access, go to the LJ homepage and click on "Access Digitized Edition" in the upper left-hand corner. For return visits, click on "Bookshelf" in the upper right-hand corner of the Bookshelf-MSI landing page.
Publisher's Weekly - Digital magazine available through the duration of the COVID crisis.
SIAM (Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics) - Epidemiology Collection is open to the public with no expiration set.
Research the Current Pandemic with Authoritative Government Sources
The following publishers agreed to make to make their content accessible in machine-readable formats and license it in ways which allow researchers to use text and data-mining and machine-learning technologies on all of the content (including data) made available. You can see an expanded list of signatories in this press release by the Wellcome Trust.
AIP Publishing - COVID-19 Collection
Atypon - Novel Coronavirus Outbreak Special Edition (aggregator of over 30,000 authoritative sources across the web)
American Society for Microbiology - Novel Coronavirus Resources
BioOne - Peer-reviewed articles on COVID-19
Cambridge University Press - Coronavirus Free Access Collection
Clarivate Analytics - Research published on the Coronavirus (COVID-19) from the Web of Science
CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure, 中国知网) - Free Access to Featured Collections on COVID-19
Cochrane - Coronavirus (COVID-19): evidence relevant to critical care. Also available in Simplified Chinese, German, Farsi, French, Japanese, Bahasa Malaysia, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish.
EBSCO - COVID-19 Updates and Information
Emerald Publishing - Free content related to Coronavirus and the management of epidemics.
JAMA Network - Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)
Lancet - Coronavirus Resource Centre
Mary Ann Liebert Publishers - Freely-available science-backed research on coronavirus
New England Journal of Medicine - Coronavirus (Covid-19)
Ovid (Wolters Kluwer) - COVID-19 Tools & Resources for Clinicians
Oxford University Press - Free Access to OUP Resources on Coronavirus and Related Topics
In PMC, you can find full-text journal articles relating toCOVID-19 (all) | Open Access | Author Manuscripts | Coronaviruses broadly (historical and current literature) (all) | Open Access | Author Manuscripts
Sage Publishing - COVID-19 Articles
SIAM (Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics) - Epidemiology Collection
Springer Nature - Free research, articles, ebooks, and additional commentary on COVID-19
SSRN (Elsevier) - Coronavirus and Infectious Disease Research
Taylor & Francis - COVID-19: Novel Coronavirus Content Free to Access
The Royal Society - Research data and findings relevant to the novel coronavirus (nCoV) outbreak
University of Chicago Press - Coronavirus Research
UpToDate (Wolters Kluwer) - Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19)
Information is Beautiful - COVID-19 #Coronavirus Infographic DataPack
Euromonitor - Coronavirus Impact on Global Supply Chains
Goldman Sachs - Research and Insights Relating to COVID-19
IMF (International Monetary Fund) - Policy Responses to COVID-19 From Governments Around the World (April 2020)
JP Morgan - Coronavirus Research
McKinsey - Coronavirus Insights
National Academies of Science Engineering Medicine - Rapid Expert Consultation on Social Distancing for the COVID-19 Pandemic (March 19, 2020) | Rapid Expert Consultation on Severe Illness in Young Adults for the COVID-19 Pandemic (March 14, 2020)
NPD Group - Weekly U.S. Consumption Trends During COVID-19
OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) - Coronavirus: the world economy at risk, Economic Outlook Report (March 2020) | Evaluating the Initial Impact of COVID-19 (April 2020) | Country Policy Tracker | Cities Policy Responses
WTO (World Trade Organization) - Trade in Medical Goods in the Context of Tackling COVID-19
World Tourism Organization - Impact Assessment of the COVID-19 Outbreak on International Tourism (16 pgs.)
RAND Health Care - Critical Care Surge Response Strategies for the 2020 COVID-19 Outbreak in the United States (49 pgs.) | Critical Care Capacity Spreadsheet (.zip)
COMCAST - COVID-19 Network Update
Reporters Without Borders (RSF) - COVID-19’s Impact on Press Freedom
TrendForce - Comprehensive Analysis of COVID-19 Outbreak’s Impact on Global High-Tech Industry (February 2020)
Apple Mobility Reports - Mobility trends in countries/regions and cities. Reports are published daily and reflect requests for directions in Apple Maps. Complete data sets available for download, feature daily changes in requests for directions by transportation type for all available countries/regions and cities.
Business Insider - COVID-19 Tracker From Microsoft/Bing
Coronavirus Dashboard - or https://ncov2019.live/data, a site created by Avi Schiffman, a 17 year old high school student, started the site in late December, when coronavirus had not yet been detected outside of China. Updated every minute or so with information from the World Health Organization and the Centers for Disease Control, among others.
ESRI - US COVID-19 Community Gallery (data sites and dashboards from around the USA) | Exploring COVID-19 Impact on Vulnerable Populations Using Infographics
International Association of Privacy Professionals (IAPP) - DPA guidance on data processing and COVID-19
Johns Hopkins University - COVID-19 United States Cases by County
Medum - Links to Notable maps visualizing COVID-19 and surrounding impacts
New York Times - Coronavirus Map: Tracking the Global Outbreak
Pan American Health Organization - Coronavirus COVID-2019 Geographic Spread in the Americas
Stanford's Big Local News Platform (Google-Funded) - COVID-19 Case Mapper
UC Davis - COVID-19 Tracking Application
United Nations - UN COVID-19 Data Hub
Virginia Department of Health - COVID-19 in Virginia, is updated daily before 10 AM. Numbers are preliminary and close out at 5 PM the day before posting. Case counts reflect what has been reported to VDH by healthcare providers and laboratories. See "Locality" tab for counts by VA locality, then scroll down to Thomas Jefferson Health District for Albemarle's figures. Select the locality on bar chart menu or on the table to see historical data for an individual health district.
Wilhelmsen - Shipping COVID-19 Global Port Restrictions Map
CDC (Centers for Disease Control) -Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Charlottesville's Daily Progress (paywall removed) - Coverage on local coronavirus-related stories
Charlottesville Business Innovation Council - Tracking local business committing to #FlattenTheCurveCville to slow the spread of COVID-19
Charlottesville Tomorrow - Special: Ongoing COVID-19 Coverage reports daily on local conditions at the Thomas Jefferson Health District, Virginia Department of Health, and more.
Cvillepedia - COVID-19 Emergency Page
LexisNexus (paywall removed) - Breaking news, in-depth features and expert analysis on all things relating to COVID-19 and the law.
IBIS - Freely available to the public through the links provided:
International Air Transport Association (IATA) - COVID-19 Latest Developments
International Civil Aeronautics Organization (ICAO) - Situation Reports and Primary Documents (Updated Daily)
National Association of Regional Councils - Resources for local governments at Coronavirus Disease 2019
NewsGuard - List of websites known for publishing misinformation on COVID-19
NIH (National Institutes of Health) - Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Washington Post (paywall removed) - Corona Virus Simulation | Coronavirus in the U.S.: Latest Map and Case Count
BioRxiv and MedRxiv- COVID-19 SARS-CoV-2 preprints from medRxiv and bioRxiv
Duke University Press - Navigating the threat of Pandemic Syllabus
Johns Hopkins University - Fighting COVID-19 with Epidemiology: A Johns Hopkins Teach-Out (Coursera), for anyone who has been curious about how we identify and measure outbreaks like the COVID-19 epidemic and wants to understand the epidemiology of these infections.
JSTOR Daily - Teaching Pandemics Syllabus
LitCovid - curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information from NLM. Provides a central access to over 1,200 relevant articles in PubMed. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations.
Translators Without Borders - COVID-19 glossary in 11 languages
World Scientific - Information on the Coronavirus (ebooks)
We will be monitoring these lists and selectively including relevant links to other tabs on this guide.
Berkeley Library's FMRT Lists: VideoLib, Videonews & VRT-List - Special Streaming Offers during Covid19 Cheat Sheet
Brown University (Regina Longo's) List - Streaming Resources MCM Remote Teaching and Learning
Library Journal's infoDOCKET - COVID-19: Special Offers and Updates From Vendors, Publishers, and Online Services
Information Services Providers - Public View
International Coalition of Library Consortia List - ICOLC COVID-19 Expanded Access Specifics WEB
James-Madison Regional Library - COVID-19 Response & Available Online Resources
University of Florida List - Publisher/Vendor Support for Access to E-Resources in Response to COVID-19
Wheaton College - COVID-19 Offers and Resources
CCCOER and Open Education Global - Open Educational Resources for Teaching and Learning in the COVID-19 Era
Directory of mutual aid pandemic disaster care (Cindy Milstein) - Collective Care Is Our Best Weapon against COVID-19
Library Journal's infoDOCKET - 2019 Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) Resources