Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIUS 4501-04 Religion and U.S. Foreign Relations in the Twentieth Century

Searching Virgo

                                                                            Virgo Search Screen

                                           Keyword = "foreign policy" "Woodrow Wilson" religion 


 

  • Virgo does not use Boolean connectors, such as and, or between terms.
  • Put a phrase within quotation marks
  • Automatically does stemming of search terms (view, viewer, viewers, viewing)
  • You can further refine search results by using the limiters on the left of the search results screen. For example, clicking on "Special Collections" under "Library" will narrow your results to materials held in Special Collections.
  • Be sure you click on "Start Over" to perform a new search

Primary Sources

A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ . 

Declassified Documents Reference System provides access to collections of declassified documents from the CIA, FBI, presidential libraries, and other agencies, from the 1940's through the 1980's. Put a phrase in single quotes.

                          Advanced Search:  Jew* = keyword/subject        1930-1945 = Issue date



Digital National Security Archive contains declassified documents used by the U.S. government in conducting foreign policy. The materials are obtained through the Freedom of Information Act.

           Search Documents:   keywords = counter-resistance      Collection = U.S. Intelligence Community After 9/11



Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) , 1932-present. Presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and diplomacy.  Contains documents from the departments of State and Defense, the National Security Council, CIA, presidential libraries, etc.  This searchable online version from the Department of State includes many volumes from the Truman through the Ford administrations. The print volumes are in the Government Information Resources stacks, Alderman 3rd floor, call number 1.1.

      Choose Administration: pre-Kennedy  (See number 238, "1945 British Commonwealth, the Far East"  Search= Shinto )
      Or search all volumes from 1861-1960.

 

Presidential libraries of most Chief Executives since Harry Truman provide some online documents on their web sites.  This National Archives site points to various presidential library web sites.

 

ProQuest Congressional  provides mostly full-text publications from the U.S. Congress, including testimony from Congressional hearings, legislative histories of laws, reports to Congress, etc.

                            Search = "Godless communism"    Date Range = Jan 1, 1953 - Dec 31, 1954


Social Movements Collection
  Housed in Special Collections. Contains publications, pamphlets, and ephemera from a wide array of radical political organizations and social movement groups, including a number of religious interest groups, active between 1953 and 1980.  


Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975 primary source documents (many previously classified) from the CIA, the State Department, the National Security Council, and varioius presidential files, from the Kennedy, Johnson and Nixon administrations.  Emphasis is on the Vietnam War, but it also includes material about U.S. policy in other regions of the world as well.
                                            Search = buddhists protests

Historical Magazines & Newspapers

 A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ .


America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 Full text collection of local and regional newspapers from throughout the United States. Most coverage ends in the early 1920's but later 20th century coverage is being added for the Cleveland Plain Dealer, Portland Oregonian, and New Orleans Times-Picayune.

                    Search = Philippines policy protestant   Date Range = 1899-1902
                                  
Article Type = News/opinion; Letters
                    

                         

ProQuest Historical Newspapers  Searchable full text backfiles of the New York Times (1851-2009), Wall Street Journal (1889-1995), Chicago Tribune (1849-1989), Los Angeles Times (1881-1989), Washington Post (1877-1996), and Chicago Defender (1910-1975).

                       Search NY Times:   Jews and Germany and persecution     Date Range = 1933-1941



American Periodicals Series Full text of over 1,000 magazines and journals published in the U.S. between 1740 and the early 1900's.
                          Search = "Woodrow Wilson" and Christian*   Date Range = 1918-1920



Periodicals Archive Online Search the full text of nearly 400 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990s.
                           Article Search:  keyword = atrocity "Vietnam War"   Year of Publication = 1964-1975
                                                 
keyword = "occupation of Japan" Shinto

Finding Scholarly Articles

A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ . 

 

America History & Life  Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.

                                  Search = Philippines and Protestant and Catholic
                                 
Search = Jews and immigration and "World War II"

JSTOR  Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present. Does not include current articles.  Advanced Search gives more control over your results: choose Type = Article and select the most relevant groups of journals by discipline to search.
                  

PAIS, 1915-present Useful for finding journal articles, book citations, government publications, and reports issued by public and private organizations in the areas of political science and public policy.

                                  Search = "immigration policy" and religion                                                

Additional Sources

A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ . 

Academic Search Complete Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers on many topics. Includes speeches and interviews.

                           Search = "John F. Kennedy" and Catholic* and "foreign policy"

          
Searching for a Speech:    Kennedy, John F. = Author  AND  "foreign policy"   Document Type = speech

 

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online provides working papers from research institutes, occasional papers from NGO's, foiundation-funded research reports, proceedings from conferences, books, journal articles, and policy briefs.

                                           Search = Muslim stereotype

LexisNexis Academic News and business information from sources around the world, including many newspapers. Covers publications from the 1980's to present.

                                           Search = "refugee resettlement" churches

 

U.S History in Context Collection of articles from over 200 journals and several hundred historical encyclopedias covering the social and political history of the U.S. Some primary source material also included. An excellent resource for getting an overview of a topic or issue. Relevant searches for this class include religion "foreign policy" ; Wilson "missionary diplomacy" ; Philippine-American War. 

Bibliographies & Microforms

American Foreign Relations Since 1600: A Guide to the Literature, ed. by Robert L. Beisner (Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2003).  Two volumes.  Alderman Reference Z6465 .U5 G84 2003   Arranged chronologically and then by region.  See the Index by Subjects in volume 2: Religion; Religious Groups. Also look at the brief table of contents at the beginning of each chapter.


The Library has a number of significant microform collections pertaining to International Relations  (CIA Research Reports: Africa, 1946-1976; Soviet Union, 1946-1976; Foreign Nations Special Studies Series: Africa, 1962-1980 and Soviet Union, 1970-1982; etc.) and United States History (John F. Kennedy Presidential Oral History Collection; Lyndon B. Johnson National Security Files: USSR and Eastern Europe, 1963-1969; etc.) Microforms are located on Alderman Library 3rd floor and staff in the Government Information Resources department can assist you.