It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
STS Class Guides
Resource lists to support classes in the Engineering and Society department
Focusing on areas involving the convergence of media and technology, the Digital Media Lab in the Robertson Media Center has a team of knowledgeable media professionals available for consultation and project planning. These areas include digital imaging, audiovisual production and post-production, physical interactivity, 2D/3D animation, mobile technologies, as well as visualization and delivery of media content.
At Research Data Services, researchers across disciplines benefit from expert consultation and training in acquiring, collecting, wrangling, analyzing, visualizing, sharing, and preserving research data. Our data professionals, in collaboration with our research librarians, work to advance data science, using data to answer scientific questions, making analysis reproducible, and promoting open data to enable long-term discovery and knowledge.
At the University of Virginia Library Scholars’ Lab, advanced students and researchers across the disciplines partner on digital projects and benefit from expert consultation and teaching. Our highly-trained faculty and staff focus on the digital humanities, geospatial information, and scholarly making and building at the intersection of the digital and physical worlds.
Visualization techniques and methodologies; visualization systems and software; volume visualization; flow visualization; multivariate visualization; modeling and surfaces; rendering; animation; user interfaces; visual progranuning; applications.
Information Visualization, an international, peer-reviewed journal, is essential reading for researchers and practitioners of information visualization and is of interest to computer scientists and data analysts working on related specialisms. The journal acts as a dedicated forum for the theories, methodologies, techniques and evaluations of information visualization and its applications.
This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE)
With the advent of very powerful PCs and high-end graphics cards, there has been an incredible development in Virtual Worlds, real-time computer animation and simulation, games. But at the same time, new and cheaper Virtual Reality devices have appeared allowing an interaction with these real-time Virtual Worlds and even with real worlds through Augmented Reality. Three-dimensional characters, especially Virtual Humans are now of an exceptional quality, which allows to use them in the movie industry. But this is only a beginning, as with the development of Artificial Intelligence and Agent technology, these characters will become more and more autonomous and even intelligent. They will inhabit the Virtual Worlds in a Virtual Life together with animals and plants.
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is an online journal publishing visualized (video-based) biological research studies. This publication aims to solve some of the most difficult problems in the contemporary life science research: low transparency and reproducibility of biological experiments, time-consuming learning of experimental techniques ... Video-based visualization of biological techniques and procedures provide an effective solution to the problem described
"The aim of Visualization in Engineering is to disseminate original and high quality research results on the visualization paradigms, models, technologies, and applications that have significant contributions to the advancement of all aspects of design and engineering. The journal is devoted to scholarly research on improving all aspects of design and engineering (including civil, mechanical, manufacturing, industrial, aerospace, etc.) through the applications of visualization technologies."
*Available in Print in the Law Library*
General articles can be viewed through http://foreignpolicy.com/
If there is anything you'd like access to, it can be requested through InterLibrary Loan at: http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/ils/
Over the next 25 years global economic growth will come overwhelmingly from previously poor countries like China, India, and Brazil. In rich countries this "rise of the rest" scenario strikes fear into the many observers who see as its primary consequence a dangerous combination ofunrestrained consumerism, unsustainable resource depletion, and an undoing of U.S. economic dominance. In The Coming Prosperity, Philip Auerswald acknowledges the gravity of these issues but argues that the inclusion of the majority of the world's population in the global economy is, first and foremost, a source of unprecedented opportunity. Auerswald asserts that entrepreneurship is the key tomaking the most of the epochal transition in the global economy that will take place in the next quarter century. Inventors, innovators, and the creators of new ventures are introducing new technologies and expanding the range of global knowledge networks at a remarkable pace. The ensuingopportunities are abundant - not only for residents of previously poor countries, but also for people in the United States and other advanced, industrialized nations. The book's rigorous analysis of economic and historical trends is enlivened by the stories of entrepreneurs making an outsize difference: people like Karim Khoja, who led the creation of the first mobile phone company in Afghanistan; Leila Janah, who is bringing "outsourced" computer work to refugeecamps; and Victoria Hale, whose non-profit pharmaceutical company turned an orphan drug into a cure for kala-azar (black fever), one of South Asia's most deadly diseases. Engagingly written and bracingly realistic about the positive prospects of our historical moment, The Coming Prosperity sees beyond the doomsday scenarios to find a multitude of new opportunities in the expanding global economy.
The present report was prepared by ITU experts Lishan Adam and Michael Minges, under the direction
of the Least Developed Countries, Small Island Developing States & Emergency Telecommunication (LSE)
Division of the ITU Telecommunication Development Bureau (BDT), in cooperation with the UN Office of
the High Representative for the Least Developed Countries, Landlocked Developing Countries and Small
Island Developing States (UN-OHRLLS)
There are a few resources that the UVA Library doesn't have but the local public library, Jefferson Madison Regional, does!
All you need to do to get a JMRL library card is take your student ID and drop by one of the public libraries. The closest one to Grounds is on Gordon Ave (https://www.jmrl.org/br-gordon.htm).
Having a public library card will not only let you check out physical items but you can use their online materials! That includes access to Overdrive for e-books and to their databases for newspapers and magazines. They have five databases dedicated to newspapers and magazine (https://www.jmrl.org/on-databases.htm). The subscription tends to be a little more popular than academic so you'll find things for class and some pleasure reading.
- The Atlantic
- Planning Magazine (1988-2010 but you preview the rest. Anything after 2010 that you want, you can ILL through the UVA Library)
- BBC Monitoring Media
- Popular Science
- Anderson Cooper 360
- Transcripts of NPR radio shows like "Science Friday," "Fresh Air," News and Notes" and "All Things Considered."
- And many, many other things!
List includes a variety of media resources available through the library. Current and archives news media includes PBS Selection, American History in Video, C-Span, Vanderbilt Television News Archives, and more.
Kanopy Streaming offers a variety of documentaries.